Envious Runner

26 Mar

To put it plain and simple, I’m an injured runner. I did something to my foot. It isn’t that serious like a stress fracture, but I know I tore something (can you tear a muscle in your foot?) or did something wrong that it hurts and now I can’t run or type non-run on sentences. So, now I am in those stages of injury. Like, I have gone through denial already. I ran 14+ miles every day for like a week on a foot that I could not walk on. I have gone through depression, grief, etc etc. What can I say? I love running too much. It’s about time for acceptance except I’m a stubborn runner. I tried to go a week without running. I couldn’t. I had a race on March 13th. I told myself to run the 15k so I wouldn’t injure myself anymore. I ran it in an hour and two minutes, coming first in my age group. Not to beep my own horn there, guys. So then, I told myself to not run for another week. Well, I ran Monday. The pain was like 5/10 and I can barely walk normal still. This time, I am not running until I feel at least 99.9% healed. That other 1% is questionable. I am envious of every runner now.

Since I can’t run, I began lifting weights. Better by some tickets to the gun show while they last. I’ve been lifting every other day and I love it almost more than cardio; just not running.

I took a spin class this morning and became a hot mess afterwards. Basically I was drenched in sweat. It was my second time doing a spin class since I just got a gym membership. Thanks, Mom, for buying your 18-year-old daughter a gym pass because she’s so depressed that she can’t run and all your money that usually goes towards running gear is not being used. The music this time at the spin class was mellow since we focused on strength. After that, I followed up with ten minutes on the rowing machine and 30 minutes on the elliptical, my new friend.

Lunch was my usual. Peanut butter + Oikos greek yogurt + grapes + apple + Luna bar = get in my belly.

I’m off to finish this Saturday. Give me time to get this blog all nice and pretty with the typical ‘about me’ and ‘my story’ business.

Any tips for a new blogger?

11 Responses to “Envious Runner”

  1. movesnmunchies March 26, 2011 at 2:12 PM #

    i injured my foot too! a tendon issue- it is SO ANNOYING! but DANG running that many miles everyday is dangerous!

    • lifttorun March 26, 2011 at 8:09 PM #

      True. It is dangerous. I pushed myself too far.

  2. Meagan March 26, 2011 at 3:05 PM #

    I’ve always wanted to take a spin class!

    I’m a huge peanut butter and Luna bar fan too!

  3. moveovercelery March 26, 2011 at 6:09 PM #

    Awh, it’s okay girl. Every runner once or twice in their lives experience some form of injury. Take it easy and you’ll come back stronger. I agree with Carrie, that’s a lot of mileage!

    I love spin class! : ) It’s a great form of cross training.

    • lifttorun March 26, 2011 at 8:10 PM #

      Thanks. I’m trying to remain optimistic about it.

  4. Jamie @StuckOutsideTheBox March 27, 2011 at 10:47 AM #

    I am so bad about denying an injury… I just keep going and going saying I might as well push it as far as it can go and it will either magically heal or I will be out for a few weeks. :/ Hope you can get back to running soon! I love spin class. It’s torture but afterwards im always glad I went.

    Looks like you’re doing very well for a brand new blog! I didn’t even have commenters on mine for like 2 months, but then again I hadn’t been reading blogs before so I didn’t have any to comment onand make friends with! 🙂

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) March 27, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    Do you have Achilles tendinitis? Or plantar? Does the bottom of your heel hurt? That is what happened to me too schmee. Feel free to email me at lolzthatswim@gmail.com I told myself I couldn’t run and then now I’m recently able to again. Thank goodness-I was dying.

    I would say tips for new bloggers, read lots of blogs and comment, it’s not that people don’t want to read what you have to say, they just don’t know. 😦

    • lifttorun March 27, 2011 at 12:27 PM #

      I haven’t had it checked out yet by a doctor, but from my research I think it’s plantar. It’s been getting better since I have been taking it easy. I’m hoping for the best.

  6. Sweet Cheeks March 27, 2011 at 11:54 AM #

    Thats awesome that you were able to get a gym membership. At least now you will be able to explore other exercise options and maybe you’ll find something else that you really enjoy doing! I have wanted to start doing some classes at my gym but never have. I will be soon though!

  7. Jenny March 29, 2011 at 4:45 PM #

    I’m not a runner but from what I’ve experienced in the blogging world it’s really really common. I hope you feel better girl. Btw that cinnamon raisin pb is my all time favorite! I love it 😀

  8. CrzyDJM March 29, 2011 at 9:05 PM #

    Get better soon, running injuries suck…I’ve been hit with plantar fasciitis and sciatica in the past.

Leave a Reply

