Goals, Books, and Barefoot Running

3 Apr

This weekend has gone by fast. Too fast and I feel like I got nothing done. I haven’t even done my homework yet.

Friday night I went to a concert and was out until midnight, but I was up and at it at seven Saturday morning. I went to a spin class at nine then did the rowing machine for ten minutes and the elliptical for twenty minutes or so.

The rowing machine is a great for cross training. You work your arms, shoulders, back, core, legs, hips, and torso. Really, you are working every major muscle group. There are so many benefits for runners and cyclists who use the rowing machine.

Saturday I decided to go to the bookstore because I wanted to buy the book Natural Running since I want to get into barefoot running. I need to do more research before I go out and buy a pair of barefoot running shoes. Long story short, I bought Chicken Soup for the Soul: Runners and Born to Run.

Next week my gym is having a seminar on chi running and barefoot running. I’m super excited because I want more facts. I’ve been looking at barefoot running shoes.

So far, I am leaning towards Vibrams. I have been reading they actually help with foot injuries. Oh, and good news! My foot is starting to feel better. I’m still going to take another week off though. Just in case.

As well as hitting up the bookstore, I went to Whole Foods where I found Jimmy Fallon’s new ice cream and free samples galore. Can I just live in Whole Foods? I love that place. I spent an hour just walking around drooling over everything I wanted.

Today’s workout: one hour of a weights class, 45 minutes cycling, and 10 minutes on the elliptical.

I decided I want to create some goals for April. I believe it’s very important to set goals and that an individual should always be working towards something, whether it can be achieved in a month or a year.

1. Start swimming! I e-mailed the triathlon coach at my gym and he is willing to let me try out the master swim class for a few days to see my potential. I want to do a triathlon in the future so I need to improve my swimming skills.

2. Listen to my body. If you read ‘my story’, you know I struggle from a past eating disorder. I do not count calories for the most part, but they are unconsciously on my mind. I know I can eat 2000+ calories a day and I’m petite (5’3). I work out intensely so I need to let myself eat when I’m hungry and even when I’m not just to get in those calories. I have to fuel my body correctly and I shouldn’t worry about eating three bowls of cereal after dinner if I’m still hungry.

3. Take running up again slowly. I don’t know when I am going to begin running again because I want my injury to be fully healed before I go pounding the pavement. However, when I do run again, I will only allow myself to go so far. I cannot just knock out 14 miles and expect to be alright. This also goes with listening to my body. If my foot starts to hurt, I need to stop running and take a break.

4. Cycle more. I already do bike outdoors and in, but I want to bike more and drive less. I want to bike to the grocery store or the mall instead of driving. However, this is going to be tricky since my mother (yes, I’m 18) lets me ride my bike to certain places only if I haven’t exercised intensely already. It’s all due to the past and how I can sometimes over exercise.

Honorable eats:

Toffee bread pudding

Sweet & salty


What are your thoughts on barefoot running? Have you read Born to Run or Natural Running?

Do you have any goals for the month of April?

20 Responses to “Goals, Books, and Barefoot Running”

  1. movesnmunchies April 3, 2011 at 1:35 PM #

    those are great goals!! esp listening to your body- so important! oo i dont think i cud ever do barefoot running after I ran barefoot on a treadmill. blisters GALORE!

    • lifttorun April 3, 2011 at 1:51 PM #

      I tried barefoot running on a treadmill once. It takes a lot more work.

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 3, 2011 at 1:52 PM #

    I don’t think barefoot running is for me. I run already on my toes and I give mad props to whoever can get it done.

  3. TheCreamFilling April 3, 2011 at 3:03 PM #

    Nice goals! I am also planning on getting in more swims this month.

    Hmmm tell me how the barefoot running thing goes! I find it pretty interesting but am not sure if I will take it up anytime soon.

  4. Sweet Cheeks April 3, 2011 at 3:19 PM #

    I’m with ya on the weekend going by wayyy too fast. Why can’t the actually work week go by that fast?!

    I’ve heard great things about barefoot running/running with Vikrams. I think you’ll like it! Good luck with your goals, i’m sure you will do awesome. 😀

  5. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate April 3, 2011 at 4:30 PM #

    I am a totally barefoot running convert. Once you start, you won’t go back 😉

    • lifttorun April 3, 2011 at 6:00 PM #

      Do you run in barefoot shoes constantly?

  6. Tara April 3, 2011 at 4:35 PM #

    I want to try barefoot running! I’m asking for vibrams for my birthday. I’m going to take it slow getting into it. One of my friends does 10 mile trail runs in them. It’s crazy!
    Did you make that toffee bread pudding? It looks amazing!!

    • lifttorun April 3, 2011 at 6:02 PM #

      There are few people who are running in Vibrams for marathons and such. I also read Merrel make trail barefoot running shoes. I think it’s a great switch, but not for everyone.

      Hahah. No, I can’t bake. I bought it from New Seasons Market.

  7. CrzyDJM April 3, 2011 at 8:04 PM #

    I just ran the Rock n Roll Half Marathon in a pair of Vibrams back in January. Definitely recommend giving them a shot

    • lifttorun April 4, 2011 at 12:56 PM #

      Really? That’s awesome. Do you switch to ‘normal’ shoes or do you constantly run in your Vibrams?

      • CrzyDJM April 4, 2011 at 8:12 PM #

        For the last couple months, solely Vibrams 🙂

  8. kbwood April 4, 2011 at 9:47 AM #

    hey girl! how was that MM bar? and your stir fry- WOW looks so good! thank you so much for your sweet comments!

    • lifttorun April 4, 2011 at 12:57 PM #

      So good! I actually really like all of Muscle Milk’s products.

  9. julie April 4, 2011 at 4:54 PM #

    mm i love spin! but major props to you for getting there after a concert night! you’re a champ girly 🙂 enjoy the night and relaaax!

  10. Jenny April 4, 2011 at 8:25 PM #

    I love how you’ve set up your goals for April, I never do that and I probably should. Good luck with the barefoot running girl. How awesome to start swimming, it’s been a long time since I’ve swam 😦

    Loving the Ben and J ice cream ;D

    • lifttorun April 5, 2011 at 6:00 PM #

      I fail at swimming so far. Hahah. I need major practice.

  11. runyogarepeat April 5, 2011 at 2:22 PM #

    Awesome goal! I love how much you are listening to your body and adjusting based on that. Born to Run is such a great book, I couldn’t put it down! I don’t have Vibrams, but I have Saucony Kinvaras, which are a more minimal shoe, and they have helped my running form/foot strike so far. I didn’t want to commit to Vibrams yet because I was already training for a half marathon, and you need to build up slowly with Vibrams.

  12. Lauren @ WWoB April 5, 2011 at 4:22 PM #

    I think barefoot running is only right for some people! And if you do undertake it, definitely take is super slow. They say you start at 10 percent of your running in barefood shoes and slowly make your way up each month. Crazy!

  13. Jamie @StuckOutsideTheBox April 5, 2011 at 7:59 PM #

    I loooooove running barefoot! One of the best decisions I have ever made! I prefer bare over vibrams but they are great too. Just take it slow! (learned my lesson from that…)
    And god luck with the swimming more. 🙂 My mom coaches the masters swim group at our pool and we’re such a fun little group! 🙂

Leave a Reply

