Enlightened by Kombucha

7 Apr

I recently became obsessed with something. No, it’s not chocolate mint ice cream (okay, it is a bit) or lemon scents, but it’s a drink. I always drink water. I drink either water, water, or more water. I have milk in the morning then for the rest of the day I drink water. What is the drink that I have become fanatical about you may ask? Well, it is GT’s Enlightened Kombucha.

I see this drink constantly on blogs of runners and yoga fanatics. I became interested and searched it out in my grocery store. Three bucks for an ‘enlightened’ drink? Count me out. I could buy a magazine and some protein bars for that amount of money. I was outraged so I never tried the drink.

In the last few weeks, I have seen this drink on four blogs. All of them claimed how amazing Kombucha is. I normally don’t give into peer pressure and no one was pressuring me to try it, but I felt like I had to experience Kombucha.

During my lunch break at school a day ago, I bought the Synergy: Trilogy Kombucha Tea.

I loved it. I loved it so much I took a classy picture of myself with it in the bathroom. I loved it so much that I bought again today.

Fortunately, it is worth every penny and I guarantee that it lives up to its hype.

Not only does it taste delicious, it has many health benefits.

According to GT’s website, Kombucha…

  • Increases energy level
  • Improves digestion
  • Is beneficial for healthy skin and hair
  • Has anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties
  • Good source of  Folic Acid, Vitamin B1,Vitamin B2, Vitamin B3,Vitamin B6,Vitamin B12

Try it! It’s great.

Moving on…

Thank you for all the comments on my ‘guilt’ post. I have not had a blog for that long and already I feel so welcomed in this blog world. I really appreciate it. Thanks again.

I really tried to not focus on calories today and just listen to my body. I was starving all day it felt like. However, I failed. I went to Subway and told myself I didn’t need a 6 inch sandwich so I got the mini to reduce what I ate. The result? I was hungry afterwards since it only had veggies on it. I am ridiculous.

So, I really want to do a FAQ post soon so you guys can get to know me more personally instead of just knowing me by my eats and workouts. If you have any questions for me about anything, feel free to leave some below.

Honorable eats:

Vegan curried tofu

Oatmeal and hazelnut butter

Any big plans for the weekend?

Have you tried Kombucha Tea? What do you think of it?

20 Responses to “Enlightened by Kombucha”

  1. Tara April 7, 2011 at 7:29 PM #

    I want to try kombucha, but I have no idea what flavor or brand to try. It’s intimidating! Plus getting addicted to such expensive stuff will do a number on my wallet. I’m still gonna try it.
    I’m working on eating more intuitively. Today I did pretty well, though it’s weird having no idea how much I ate. I actually really like it. Let’s hope I can keep this up!

    • lifttorun April 7, 2011 at 7:40 PM #

      So far, I like the flavors I tried. I bet they’re all good.

      • hannah April 9, 2011 at 4:50 PM #

        i love Gingerade. i think he has 17 flavors! maybe try them all, but not at once… lol

  2. AlisonM April 7, 2011 at 11:51 PM #

    I don’t think we have this Kombucha stuff in the UK. Which is probably a good thing, as at $3 a pop it could get to be a pricey habit!

    Intuitive eating, hmm… I think on paper it’s a great idea, but in practice a lot of people can come unstuck with it. Our hunger signals can become disrupted by all kinds of things (tough training, stress, lack of sleep, etc), and then there are the psychological issues that come with being injured, going through emotional problems, etc. I’d say at least you can acknowledge that you’re not eating enough. Where to go from there though I don’t know… Remember though that if you want your injury to heal, then you need to provide your body with the material to do it.

    Have a good weekend. I’m visiting my sister in Scotland, so am excited for that!

    • hannah April 9, 2011 at 4:49 PM #

      i think there’s one brand in the UK called Gaia, but I’ve never tried it.

      by the way, Kombucha in the store may be $3 but it’s only about .10-.15 cents a glass if you make it at home. it’s super easy and you can make flavors or whatever you want. 😉
      Here’s a recipe to make it yourself….
      http://www.kombuchakamp.com/kombucha-recipe

  3. movesnmunchies April 8, 2011 at 4:27 AM #

    oo ive never tried kombucha! i cnt find it in the UK!… omg love your eats.. esp that melty nut butter on those oats!! have a great day gal!

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 8, 2011 at 4:42 AM #

    I have a big education test sadly. So I won’t be doing too much. I’ve never tried kombucha and hadn’t even heard of it until a couple days ago.

  5. janetha April 8, 2011 at 9:41 AM #

    Kombucha is my jam! Love it!

  6. AntosDoesLife April 8, 2011 at 6:42 PM #

    Ahhh! Just read that Runner’s World. Love it. It’s like Christmas when it comes.

    I’m attempting running Sunday after a week off. My IT band is feeling better but I’m just gonna stick it out with 5 miles at the most to see how it goes!

    Hope you have a lovely weekend!:)

  7. Olivia April 9, 2011 at 6:13 AM #

    I feel the EXACT same way! I’ve wanted to try Kombucha for evvvver but its 3.50(not even 3!) where I live and that’s just CRAZY expensive for a drink! But literally everrryone is trying them for the first time now so I might just have to break the bank;) The synergy one is totally the one I’d get too (love the colors!) And you dress just like me; legging, sweatshirt and hippie purse, yes yes!

  8. TheCreamFilling April 9, 2011 at 7:43 AM #

    With exam MONTH coming up my social life is non-existent. I will be spending my weekend studying 😦

    I’ve never tried Kombucha but I kind of want to.

    I see Runner’s World! I just bought that three days ago 🙂 I looove Kara Goucher!

  9. kbwood April 9, 2011 at 11:49 AM #

    mmmm LOVEEEEEE kombucha! it had to grow on me first tho!

  10. allieksmith April 9, 2011 at 12:54 PM #

    You are SO welcomed in the blog world and I can already tell you are one awesome chick. I hope everything is going well! Happy weekend!!!

  11. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate April 9, 2011 at 4:32 PM #

    YES! Feel the life force!

    You know I am diggin’ this 😉

  12. Sweet Cheeks April 9, 2011 at 4:58 PM #

    Ahhh yay, so glad you jumped on the Kombucha bandwagon! I had the Trilogy flavor today and it tasted sooo amazing. I would rather Kombucha over pop any day!

    • lifttorun April 9, 2011 at 7:37 PM #

      I haven’t had soda pop is years.

  13. thequirkykitchen April 10, 2011 at 6:59 AM #

    Hey! I just tried kombucha for the first time this week too! I thought it tasted like cider! I felt good after drinking it though so it can’t be all bad!

  14. Michelle April 10, 2011 at 9:26 AM #

    My husband and I love kombucha!

    Love the Runner’s World magazine in the last picture! I got mine the other day and was reading it before bed last night!

    • lifttorun April 10, 2011 at 12:23 PM #

      My favorite article in it is the Boston Marathon one. It makes me want to run it so badly.

  15. julie April 10, 2011 at 4:05 PM #

    i go on kombucha kicks all the time! and then i look at my bank account and see how i’ve been raped of 5 bucks hahaaha

    i’ve been dyyyying to find the mango one though!

Leave a Reply

