Just Keep Spinning

10 Apr

I love riding my bike and can ride for miles (my longest ride being 23 miles), especially when the weather is nice. Unfortunately, I live in Portland where the weather currently sucks. Plain and simple. Our weather is terrible right now. In the month of March, it rained every day except for one day. It’s like being in the shower 24/7. You get my point

So what can I do when I can’t ride my bike outside (or run due to my foot)? I spin.

I just joined the gym near my house and they have so many classes they offer. I have always wanted to take a spinning class and by far, it is one my favorite activity to do while at the gym. If you ever want a good workout, go to your local gym and see if they offer a spin class. You’ll be sure to sweat, which I have to admit, I love working up a good sweat. In addition, you may find a spin class that has the ‘bikes’ generate electricity.

Maybe you’re like me though and want to know the benefits of an hour-long spin class in terms of road biking. It’s like running on a treadmill instead of the actual road. You are not getting all the elements of the outside environment.

Personally, spin class has helped me ascend hills quicker, even without getting out of my saddle. I can handle high gears on my bike now that I couldn’t before. The cadence drills in spin class also taught me to keep my legs spinning when the difficulty increases. I can recover faster after sprints in spin class, which helps me after a tough hill when biking on the road. It’s encouraging, honestly.

I hope you try a spin class that maybe you have been avoiding at your gym because you see folks like me walking out with sweat covered shorts.

Nice crotch shot of my sweat covered shorts thanks to today’s spin class

Or take up outdoor biking instead. I know I will when the weather gets nice again.

In other news, last week it was so nice out!

Then this week the weather turned into total coldness and rainy, once again. I know, I live in Oregon so I should not complain. I just want some sun. It was so cold last night we started a fire.

For those of you who don’t know, I have five dogs and six cats.

Anyway, this weekend has been barely productive. Yesterday after I worked out, I didn’t shower until 1 PM then decided to go to the movies to see Your Highness at five. As much as I love Danny McBride, James  Franco,and Natalie Portman (major girl crush), the movie let me down. All and all, it wasn’t too funny.

In some good news though, my foot is still feeling better! Yet, I’m not going to run on it for another week or so. I don’t want to rush it.

I hope you guys all had a good weekend and did something productive. Also, keep asking me questions for my q&A post!

Honorable eats:

Raspberry poppy seed cake with cream cheese frosting

lasagna (I had this x5)

I had a major chocolate peanut butter craving so I went to three stores to get this

Eggs + hashbrowns + mushrooms + asparagus


Have you taken a spin class before?

Seen any good movies over the weekend?

19 Responses to “Just Keep Spinning”

  1. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate April 10, 2011 at 4:28 PM #

    I love spin classes! Did you buy clipless shoes? Totally worth it!

    • lifttorun April 10, 2011 at 4:37 PM #

      Not yet. I’m looking for a pair next week. I ask the instructor at my spin class and she said they make all the difference so I definitely want a pair now

  2. keepnthefaith April 10, 2011 at 5:36 PM #

    Thanks for the comment girl 🙂
    Ive never taken spin but I want to so so badly!! I just think it would be super fun! And that cake looks INCREDIBLE! Cake is one of my favorite things ever, but then again so is that peanut butter! I can seriously finish that jar in 3 days. SO delicious! And your puppers are so cute!! I cant wait to see the rest of them 🙂

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 10, 2011 at 5:46 PM #

    I watched due date this weekend which was hilarious!

    Oh and I used to teach a spin class a couple of years ago but I gave it up when they offered me step aerobics instead. I loved spinning but it hurts my hips so much.

    • lifttorun April 10, 2011 at 7:18 PM #

      I still want to see Due Date! I love Zach Galifianakis.

      You taught spinning? No fair.

  4. moveovercelery April 10, 2011 at 6:27 PM #

    I love spinning even though I actually hate it during the actual workout. Love the feeling afterward.

    Anything with cream cheese frosting- I will eat it. 😀

  5. Tara April 10, 2011 at 6:36 PM #

    I’ve never tried spin class before, though I’ve always wanted to. I don’t have access to a gym that has them, which is super disappointing. I’m so unmotivated when I’m on the stationary bike by myself!

    • lifttorun April 10, 2011 at 7:17 PM #

      I was super unmotivated to do the stationary bike, but I made workouts for them so now I don’t mind.

  6. allieksmith April 11, 2011 at 4:46 AM #

    Spinning is the bomb! I love how hard it works.. or kills me basically haha. Awesome pictures-you are super super good at photography!

  7. CrzyDJM April 11, 2011 at 5:02 AM #

    The raspberry poppyseed cake has me drooling on my phone’s keyboard. Looks dee-lish-us.

    • lifttorun April 11, 2011 at 6:02 PM #

      It totally is. I crave it constantly.

  8. Amy @ countrystrong21 April 11, 2011 at 7:50 AM #

    I’ve never been to a spin class, or any type of group fitness class, but our family does have a few bikes. They don’t see as much use as they did when my brother and I were younger but maybe I should change that. Thanks for sparking my interest in it again!

    So seeing that picture of your Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter made me want some, and then on top of it an assignment for one of my classes dealt with peanut butter so I was googling peanut butter. I was going to order a jar of that Dark Chocolate Dreams and Smooth Operator buuut the shipping is more than the peanut butter! So I said no thanks because I wasn’t going to order $50 worth of pb that I’ve never tried just to get free shipping. I’m not lucky enough to have it sold in stores around here in Wisconsin either 😦

    Sorry for the long comment!

  9. janetha @ meals & moves April 11, 2011 at 11:04 AM #

    I wish I had five dogs and six cats!! And that poppyseed cake looks AMAZING.

  10. movesnmunchies April 11, 2011 at 1:25 PM #

    i so wnt to take spin!! once i am in college -ill take full advantage of the classes!!! NICE EATS GAL!

  11. Olivia April 11, 2011 at 6:14 PM #

    I’ve never taken a spin class but I absolutely LOVE a good sweat…so your shorts picis seriously making me considering going to sign up! Love that raspberry poppy cake too btw, it looks BOMBB!

  12. Jenny April 11, 2011 at 6:54 PM #

    I have never spinned before but my sister in law has and she loves it 🙂 I don’t just because I keep thinking it’s gonna hurt my crotch too much lol Omg that Raspberry poppy seed cake looks delicious!!! I want ittt 😀

  13. kbwood April 11, 2011 at 8:20 PM #

    yummmm delish EATS!! that poppy seed cake looks aweeesome!
    LOVE spin class- always sucha good workout for me!

  14. Michelle April 11, 2011 at 9:14 PM #

    I am taking my first spin class tomorrow morning–can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

