Stay Tuned

12 Apr

I am buried with piles of homework and scholarship applications. All I can say is stay tuned until tomorrow with a normal post.

Until then, I leave you with this:

“I run because if I didn’t, I’d be sluggish and glum and spend too much time on the couch. I run to breathe the fresh air. I run to explore. I run to escape the ordinary. I run… to savor the trip along the way. Life becomes a little more vibrant, a little more intense. I like that.”
— Dean Karnazes

Dean Karnazes is my biggest inspiration of all time. I have been going through so many mixed emotions since I have not been able to run so sometimes I just look up running quotes and realize it won’t be long until I can hit the roads again.

Who is your running inspiration?

What are your favorite running quotes?

12 Responses to “Stay Tuned”

  1. Tara April 12, 2011 at 7:47 PM #

    My running inspiration is Erin Donohue. She is from a nearby town and went to the olympics in Beijing and is training to go to London! She’s the coolest (I’ve met her!) and holds pretty much all the local distance records.
    My favorite running quote I actually found from my favorite book called “going long” which is a whole bunch of inspiring runners world articles compiled into one book. I can’t remember the exact quote, but I would recommend the book at least!

  2. moveovercelery April 13, 2011 at 4:34 AM #

    Steve Profontaine! The ending to his life is tragic but I admire the love he had for the sport and his fierce competition. He placed first in over half of all his races! Crazy. I love this quote!

    “A lot of people run a race to see who is fastest. I run to see who has the most guts, who can punish himself into exhausting pace, and then at the end, punish himself even more.” 🙂 Total b.a.

  3. allieksmith April 13, 2011 at 4:45 AM #

    Awesome quote! I feel for ya, you will be back on the road in NO time at all and you will appreciate running that much more, you know? I love Dean! I read his book about running 50 marathons in 50 states, in 50 days! Such a great book, I really recommend it 🙂 I really like Ryan Hall, Paula Radcliffe, and Kara Goucher !

  4. crzydjm April 13, 2011 at 6:10 AM #

    I’d have to say George Sheehan. I’ve liked that guy for years and have read a couple of his books, the most sobering being the last one he wrote before dying of cancer “Going the Distance: One Man’s Journey to the End of His Life”.

    • lifttorun April 13, 2011 at 9:14 PM #

      I totally think I saw his book. I pick it up all the time and never buy it. Maybe I should.

      • crzydjm April 15, 2011 at 7:05 AM #

        It’s an eerie read, seeing as he knows he’s about to die and his writing reflects the gravity of that realization.

  5. ihearteggs April 13, 2011 at 9:16 AM #

    Love that quote!

  6. Michelle April 13, 2011 at 1:15 PM #

    I am inspired by every runner out there! Any time I see someone else running, I say, “oh look, it’s a runner friend!”

  7. Jess April 13, 2011 at 4:03 PM #

    Just found your blog & LOVE it already! Looking forward to reading more 😀

  8. snackgirlgoeshealthy April 13, 2011 at 8:31 PM #

    I love the quote! Replace it with “I like speed walking” . For me 😉

  9. AlisonM April 14, 2011 at 2:15 AM #

    Good luck with the applications! I’ve found that focusing on other sports has actually been the best thing for me to get through not being able to run, but of course you also need to keep in mind where you’re ultimately going… Great quote for that 🙂

    • lifttorun April 14, 2011 at 7:43 AM #

      Exactly. I have been biking a lot and I love it so much. It makes me want to do a triathlon in the near future.

Leave a Reply

