I Just Wanna Race!

18 Apr

Maybe it is because of the hoopla over the Boston Marathon or just the fact that I haven’t run in almost a month, but I just want to race. I love racing! It feeds my competitive drive. There is nothing like lining up at the starting line and feeling that rush of nerves. Then the gun pops and you blast off.

My last race was the Shamrock Run 15k. It was my first long distant race outside of cross-country and not to beep my own horn or anything, but I did really well. I finished in an hour and won this…

I got this for being first in my age group.

I miss racing and training for something. I’m thinking I am going to sign up for a trail race too when I feel confident in my running again. That’s a lie. I am going to sign up for any race I want when I feel like I can run without any tenderness. Which reminds me, I ran yesterday and today.

Lululemon had a running expo last night and it started with a short run. My foot didn’t hurt, but I can feel it – whatever it is – in my big toe. At the running event, I won a Lululemon key holder and got some neat free stuff. I love that store despite the fact that I can’t afford it. On the short run I ran with two people who run ultras. The woman has done 26 ultras and she brought all her belt buckles. God. I was so jealous. I wish I could just be her friend and we could run all the time. I’m weird. It’s okay.

Anyway, I ran today for 45 minutes on the treadmill even though I told myself to run for twenty and to wait until the 21st to pick up running again. Again, my big toe doesn’t cause me pain, but I can feel a little twinge when I do run. Right now my foot feels alright since I iced it, but if it hurts tomorrow, I am definitely not running. If you know anything about foot injuries, feel free to offer me some guidance. I could use it.

But really now. How could I not run when I got new gear?

More like semi fast because I could only run 8 minute miles today

Also, how could I not run when three people keep ask me if I am runner because I look like one? I feel like a loser saying, “I run, but not now since I’m an idiot who is injured so…”

As for this weekend, I was productive. I cleaned my car, bought my mom an Easter gift, the whole house, walked the dogs, went to see Scream 4, grocery shopped, and obviously fitted in spin classes. I tried Indian food for the first time and was not impressed. Then I began looking into minimalist shoes a bit more. I talked my mom into getting me a pair, possibly even Vibrams. However, if I get a pair of barefoot running shoes, where should I start? What brand? Any recommendations?

To wrap this up, I am glad last week is over! I was extremely stressed and didn’t get dressed for, like, a week. By dressed I mean I didn’t wear jeans.

I did do my hair one day though. Like the Playboy bunnies on my phone? So classy.

Honorable eats:

Cinnamon raisin bread pudding

Asparagus frittata

Coconut cake

Do you like racing?

Do you like dressing like a lazy bum like me? (Thankfully I go to an all girl school.)

21 Responses to “I Just Wanna Race!”

  1. crzydjm April 18, 2011 at 8:04 PM #

    I love my Vibrams, but I’d recommend starting out SLOW…I wore them for almost a month before running in them, and my first run was only 1 1/2 miles

  2. Recipe Chefs April 18, 2011 at 9:54 PM #

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Delicious Cod Recipe

  3. Tara April 18, 2011 at 10:24 PM #

    Racing is my favorite thing ever. I would be racing tomorrow if I wasn’t away!
    As far as injuries go, mine just took a lot of ice, advil, and anti inflammatory cream. It still hurts a bit but it’s definitely improved. Thank goodness my injury wasn’t enough to completely sideline me! I hope your healing keeps going well!

    • lifttorun April 19, 2011 at 5:52 PM #

      I have been icing now since I picked up my running again. Also, after I ice I began soaking my foot in hot water.

  4. hippierunner April 19, 2011 at 12:27 AM #

    I love racing! In high school, races were like my drug lol. I am a very competitive person and racing definitely keeps that part of me happy. I’m annoyed that I’m having the hardest time finding a race nearby me… Congrats on the Shamrock Run and I hope your foot feels better very soon! Whenever I get an injury, I have to remind myself that I’d rather sit out a week or however long it needs than to keep going through the pain which could lead to more damage.

  5. movesnmunchies April 19, 2011 at 4:06 AM #

    um i LOVE DRESSING like a lazy bum!! aka everyday! ah we BOTH have foot injuries– can we please get an expert o’er HUR!

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 19, 2011 at 6:18 AM #

    Your food looks so nomtastic holy moly!

    About running injuries. For me-I only had to wait a month or so. For others it’s been longer, the way to re injure yourself (and I’ve done it a couple times) is to run the day after you don’t feel any pain. When you don’t feel pain that is when your foot is most sensitive and easiest to get another injury, so you should wait about a week after that. Trust me-I fractured my heels once, waited until the day I felt no pain and re-fractured them a week later. It was antiawesomesauce.

  7. Michelle April 19, 2011 at 11:30 AM #

    I love racing and it kills me that it is so limited in Alaska!

    I dress like a lazy bum every day because I am a p.e. teacher. I get tired of it.

  8. keepnthefaith April 19, 2011 at 1:42 PM #

    Yay for new gear!! I seriously am CRAVING new workout stuff. I am so obsessed with it. I would live in it if I could 🙂
    Eats look amazing!! Love that ice cream!!

  9. Victoria April 19, 2011 at 4:34 PM #

    Hey there!

    I run in Vibrams and would highly recommend them… I had knee pain before them and don’t anymore! They take a bit to get used to and you have to start out really slowly or else you can hurt yourself, but after you are adjusted they are the best! I have the bikila ones and love them! 😀

  10. Jess April 19, 2011 at 4:47 PM #

    I hope you get back to racing as soon as possible!!

  11. Rachel April 19, 2011 at 6:22 PM #

    Hi! I was browsing through some blogs i like to read lately and came across yours, and being a track/xc runner, I love it! I rarely ever post on anyone..actually ever, but there were two things here I wanted to comment on.
    1) foot injuries! be careful. reallyreallyreally careful. I am currently dealing with an achilles tendon that is enflamed (luckily not ruptured or anything bad) and rest days are the ONLY THING that makes it better, and it’s so easy to reinjure yourself by going back out too fast.
    2) Vibrams! I own a pair that i bought right before track season. I had been running well all winter after xc season in my regular shoes, and thought that switching to barefoot running would improve my running and times. I had never, ever, ever had even the slightest injury. START OUT SLOW! I think this was my mistake, because i now have constant pain and swelling in my achilles tendon, and have switched back to my regular trainers.

  12. allieksmith April 20, 2011 at 3:51 AM #

    Ahh, racing! I love your backpack that you got from the race, it is really nice! You are SUPER lucky you go to an all girls school… being a bum is the best! So comfy 🙂
    I love all of your eats girl!! You will be back to racing before you know it and you are going to rock all of your races.
    P.S. The play boy bunnies? So classy. LOL

  13. Amy @ countrystrong21 April 20, 2011 at 7:03 AM #

    I LOVE to dress like a lazy bum! But sometimes when I’m in my sweats and looking comfy at school and I see someone who isn’t quite all dressed up but definitely took more time to put there outfit together I wish I had took a bit more time on myself lol.

    I hope your foot heals up soon so you can get back to racing! I’ve never had an injury so I don’t have any advice for you. Don’t think I’m awesome for not having an injury, it’s because I don’t run on a regular basis lol.

  14. ihearteggs April 20, 2011 at 1:09 PM #

    Lazy bum is my middle name!!! ahahah

    I like racing, btu not a huge runner lol. I think I just like competing!

  15. Olivia April 20, 2011 at 4:17 PM #

    If I went to an all girls school I think I’d be in sweats and tshirts everyday! (although really, I have no one to impress at my school so it’s silly that I like to get dressed up) haha I love that backpack you got for getting first in your age group though; I would so use that all the time (and 1 hr for a 15k is awesome!!) Ooh ben and jerrys is also simply the best:)

  16. The Teenage Taste April 20, 2011 at 4:31 PM #

    Haha! No shame in dressing like a lazy bum. I dress like one all the time. When I was little I used to be so girly and wear skirts all the time. I don’t know what happened! 😉
    Love the way you wear your hair. So cute! 😀

  17. my little celebration April 20, 2011 at 4:38 PM #

    You are such a cutie!

    Yes, I do like racing, but haven’t done one since 2009. But that may change this year…

    I love dressing like a bum. Right now I’m in my workout pants and a sweatshirt. It’s so comfy!

Leave a Reply

