Show n Tell

24 Apr

Happy Easter, everyone! I hope you’re celebrating with lots of chocolate.

I started my Easter day with a workout. Of course. Who am I to take a rest day? However, I ran. I ran for 45 minutes in these…

and twenty-two minutes in these…

No, your eyes do no deceit you. These are Vibrams and they felt amazing on my feet! They felt better than the other new pair I got, which are pretty sweet regardless.

I finished my run on the dreadmill with 30 minutes on the elliptical. I love the fact that I can run again. I just feel so slow. I range from 7 – 7:30 minute miles. Before my injury, I was around just 7-minute miles and less. I also feel like I lost my running endurance. Maybe it’s all in my head, but I leave the gym covered in sweat. Maybe it’s because I’m exercising inside and not outside in 40 degree weather. I don’t know why I’m insane either. I covered seven plus miles though. I’m getting back on track again.

Obviously, I’m off balanced because I was worried about going out to brunch today. I never eat breakfast or lunch out. I always have my weekend meals planned so if I go off the plan it freaks me out. I barely ate breakfast. I had a banana. Then after I worked out, I had a peach Chobani yogurt and a pear. Despite my worry, brunch was incredible. My mom, brother, and I went to a little cafe where I got a dungeness crab omelette. I was starving that I ate the toast, hashbrowns, and sauce that came with it. I’m sure I’ll be starving later despite all that I ate. I don’t know why I worry about it so much.

Anyway, you guys should give me a pat on the back for getting dressed this week. I dressed like a lazy bum 4/7 days. It’s a start, right?

Oh, yes. How could I forget? NO BRACES ANYMORE!

Enough photos of me. I don’t want to make you guys jealous. Rightttt…

I bought Tina Fey’s new book and it is hilarious.

Go check it out if you’re a fan of her or 30 Rock. 30 Rock, by the way, is my favorite show. I don’t want it to end.

Even though today was gloomy and rainy, Friday and Saturday were gorgeous. It got to 69 degrees yesterday.

Well, I hope you guys enjoy your Easter. Go crazy and take a two-hour nap if you ever feel so inclined. Hold on. Let’s not forget my honorable eats…

Crab cakes + broccoli + mushrooms

Banana cake from New Seasons (I went back for seconds)

Coffee cakeย 

Cat fish + corn + rice +ย Brusselsย 

How are you enjoying your Easter?

What shoes do you run in?

Any suggestions on how to survive the treadmill?

24 Responses to “Show n Tell”

  1. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate April 24, 2011 at 4:28 PM #

    Green Silence and Vibrams are the only shoes I run in! YOU ARE BALLER.

  2. moveovercelery April 24, 2011 at 4:34 PM #

    Awh pretty teeth! How exciting! It was a HUGE deal when my sister got her’s off.

    I’m enjoying Easter by being staying chill and watching a movie with the fam. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • moveovercelery April 24, 2011 at 4:34 PM #

      that banana cake looks amazing!

  3. allieksmith April 24, 2011 at 6:11 PM #

    I would like to try Vibrams but idk if I will like em! I ran in nike free’s before and it killed my foot. So I usually wear New Balance.
    Don’t stress about going out to eat, just try to enjoy the new foods and flavors and think about how you can re-make em at home!!!
    Hope you had an awesome Easter, I basically chilled all day ๐Ÿ™‚

    • lifttorun April 24, 2011 at 6:44 PM #

      I have a pair of Nike Free’s too and they’re just a terrible shoe I think.

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 24, 2011 at 6:15 PM #

    I love that you feel slow at a 7 minute pace. Girl you can run your slow pace for me.

    I only run on the treadmill when there is trashy tv or attractive men to stare at. That does not count disgusting meat heads.

    I spent my Easter traveling 12 hours…oh so joyful.

  5. Jess April 24, 2011 at 6:16 PM #

    Wow what a workout! Of course you left drenched in sweat ๐Ÿ˜‰ That omelet sounds fantastic!!

  6. Jenny April 24, 2011 at 6:49 PM #

    Congrats on getting your braces off!! I remember how epic that was for me ๐Ÿ™‚ Omg I want that mini egg cake!! How yummy, now that’s how you celebrate Easter ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Brittany April 24, 2011 at 8:11 PM #

    Ahh yayaya you have the Bikilas!!! And totally creepy of me…but your teeth look AWESOME! I am a huge teeth person (I guess that’s why I am going to school to be a dental hygienist). Happy running with those ballin Bikilas!

  8. Ma Ma Megan April 24, 2011 at 8:43 PM #

    Congrats on your run!
    I really need new shoes. I’m buying some new ones probably this week or next. Any recommendations?

    • lifttorun April 25, 2011 at 12:27 PM #

      Avoid Nike’s. It really depends on what type of shoe you want too, but the best thing to do is maybe go to a running store that offers a free feet testing thing. They make you run on a treadmill then they determine what type of arches you have and so forth.

  9. Katherine: Unemployed April 25, 2011 at 3:26 AM #

    I’m loving your photo camera angles! (plus mildly tempted to envy your shoes)

  10. logginnbloggin April 25, 2011 at 5:29 AM #

    Hahah I LOVE TINA FEY!!! I bet that books hilarious!! We have the same shoeeees ๐Ÿ™‚ Ps u look SO happy that you can run I’m wicked pumped for you!!

    • lifttorun April 25, 2011 at 12:26 PM #

      Thanks. I am extremely happy!

  11. crzydjm April 25, 2011 at 6:12 AM #

    Awesome vibrams! They look like the Bikilas, which is what my 2nd pair is

    • lifttorun April 25, 2011 at 12:25 PM #

      They are. What’s your first pair?

  12. movesnmunchies April 25, 2011 at 7:20 AM #

    wow on your vibrams! thats awesome!!! im intrigued to try them!

  13. Tara April 25, 2011 at 9:38 AM #

    So many things:
    1. You look even more gorgeous without braces! Your smile is so pretty!
    2. 7 minute pace is not slow. Especially in vibrams. I want to try them, hopefully I’m getting them for my birthday.
    3. That banana cake is making me drool.
    4. Tina fey is my idol. I can’t wait to get my hands on that book!

    • lifttorun April 25, 2011 at 12:26 PM #

      I worked my way to a 7 minute pace though. I don’t know. Like I said, I’m crazy.

      And get Tina Fey’s book. It is laugh out loud funny.

  14. keepnthefaith April 25, 2011 at 7:41 PM #

    Your so cute! Love the pics girl ๐Ÿ™‚ And that banana cake. Oh my jeeze! It looks amazing!!

    P.s. 6 dogs? Good for you girl!! Im ALL about the pound. My hubby and I go there a lot just to talk to them and show them some love, even if we cant take them home!

  15. TheCreamFilling April 26, 2011 at 5:31 AM #

    Oh snap, Vibrams ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congrats on no more braces! It must feel so freeing haha

  16. julie April 26, 2011 at 5:45 PM #

    oh lorddddddd i can’t believe you got them!!!! so awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ glad you had such a wonderful easter lady! and i’m lovin those purple kicks you got goin on there

  17. hippierunner April 27, 2011 at 10:06 PM #

    I want that book! I love Tina Fey and 30 Rock. Your teeth look awesome! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

