I’m Ready, I’m Ready

28 May

Tomorrow is the big 20k trail race! I have to say, mentally I am ready. Physically, I feel rather well. I did an easy 6 mile run this morning and 45 minutes of weights. Nothing too crazy.

I did discover what F-ed up my knee: my Green Silence shoes. I know, right? The first few times I wore them, they felt great and then one day I was running and my knee just went out. Lately, I have been wearing a pair of super old Nikes that have probably 300+ miles on them. That’s a rough estimate. When wearing them, my knee doesn’t act up. It pisses me off really, but I’m just  glad I figured it out; that it’s not entirely me that screwed up, it was my shoes. Great.

Anyway, about the Forest Park 20k Race.

I’ll be running the pink path.
It’s out and back for the 20k racers. I am so excited. My mom is like, “So, what time does it start so I know when you are going to ruin my day?”  Gee, thanks. She did this last time too. She acts like my running is the biggest inconvenience ever.

I was just looking at the racers who entered and I am pretty sure I am the second youngest. That’s intimidating actually. Then, there is some guy coming from Japan. I’m starting to feel butterflies. I just hope that it isn’t to grueling since I have not been able to train like I wanted to due to lamesauce injuries. Whateva, whateva.

By the way, NO MORE SCHOOL! I’M A FREE WOMAN

… after Tuesday when I have my final exam. I only have to take two exams and one is just a take home essay. I graduate officially on June 4th.

Shout to Hollie since she is running a 10k!

Anyway, if you have advice, wisdom, hopeful messages for my race, I’d love to hear them. I need some pick me ups and some killer music. Pump it!

Honorable eats:

Smoked tofu w/ veggies and humus 

Baby shrimp, cream cheese, avacado, green onion crepe from Pudding on the Rice 

French Lentil soup from Portland Soup Co. 
Hand Made Mozzerella Sandwich w/ dried Tomatoes, Arugula, Red Onions, Citrus Vinaigrette, + Virgin Rosemary Aioli from Portland Soup Co. 

Are you racing this weekend?

How was your weekend overall?

14 Responses to “I’m Ready, I’m Ready”

  1. allieksmith May 28, 2011 at 3:11 PM #

    I’ll be running a 5k tomorrow. Good luck with the 20k, I KNOW you are going to rock it, just sayin.

    Yay for graduating!

  2. teabagginit May 28, 2011 at 5:05 PM #

    i don’t know how helpful my advice is, but i ran cross country in high school & i’ve dealt with perfectionism/restrictive eating/plus all of the bullshit we over-achievers put ourselves through.

    my advice is this: life is a race & you’re the only one running in it that you can control (not your mom, not some japanese dude, not anybody). it’s not a race to the finish line, but you have to remember that there is a finish line. everybody’s race ends at some point. you don’t win the race by coming in first. you win the race by enjoying the run. look around. see the view. breathe the air. you’re alive. you’ve already won!

  3. Tessa @ Amazing Asset May 28, 2011 at 6:32 PM #

    Hi Christy I just stumbled upon your blog and am so glad I did!
    I want to wish you good luck in the race tomorrow and congrats on being done with school!
    I have my second half-marathon in the morning, so I am getting pumped for that 🙂
    I look forward to reading your recap!

  4. Tara May 28, 2011 at 6:47 PM #

    Ahhh good luck!! Trail running is so much fun. You’re going to do awesome!! I can’t wait to hear allll about it.
    I raced this afternoon and it was sooo hot out. I didn’t even care about my time, I just wanted to place so I would get another chance to run in a more competitive race next week.

  5. Rachel May 28, 2011 at 7:22 PM #

    Good luck! I love love love trail running.
    Plus your food makes me drool.
    ENJOY the race. If someone is coming from Japan, obviously it’s a worth while race.

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 28, 2011 at 7:35 PM #

    I only ran half as far as you because I’m half as cool.

    Actually-your comment made me smile really big and I did a post along time ago about how obsessed I am with eyebrows bahaha and how it is the greatest complement you can ever receive.

  7. Sweet Cheeks May 28, 2011 at 8:03 PM #

    you are going to rock that trail run! It sounds like fun. Congrats on being done with school!! It’s a great feeling, huh?!

  8. tickledtofu May 28, 2011 at 8:58 PM #

    Good luck with your race!!! And good luck with your exams as well!

  9. sarah May 29, 2011 at 5:43 AM #

    GOOD LUCK & enjoy the 20k!
    To put it bluntly I had an awful weekend, ha
    Xxx

  10. Jess May 29, 2011 at 7:36 AM #

    HOPE YOU’RE ROCKIN’ IT RIGHT NOWWWWW!!

  11. Courtney May 29, 2011 at 9:20 AM #

    By this time you’re probably done 🙂 hope you had FUN! 😀

  12. Jess May 29, 2011 at 3:13 PM #

    I got some of my ideas from New Rules of Weight Lifting for Women book, from various P90X DVD’s I’ve done, and the rest I’ve “made up” via what’s at my gym and such 🙂

  13. Ma Ma Megan May 29, 2011 at 4:23 PM #

    Good luck on your 20k. You’ll do awesome!
    Can’t wait to hear alll about it. Get pictures girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

