You Know You’re a Runner When…

22 Jun

you steal running surveys from other runners.

What is your favorite type of cross training?

I use the elliptical a lot. I also lift weights and bike, but lifting is my favorite. I find it relaxing.

What is your favorite song to run to?

I never run to music honestly. I’ll listen to some beforehand like Pink or something upbeat just to get me pumped up.

What brand of shoes do you wear?

Currently it’s Adidas. I still am thinking about getting New Balance shoes.

I have had my fair share of shoes though. This isn’t even all of them. I have three more that aren’t pictured. Well, four pairs actually.

Do you wear a hat when you run?

Only if it is raining, which happens when you live in Portland.

What temperature is your favorite for running?

In the 50’s or 60’s. Anything that isn’t too hot or too cold so I can just wear shorts and a tee.

Do you have any big races coming up?

I have a half marathon on July 4th! Holla.

What is your favorite distance?

I have done many distances like 400, 800, 1500, 3000, 20k, 15k, 12k, and a 10k. I like anything that is long so a 15k. I have run a half marathon, but not a half marathon race so we’ll see how that goes. I love long distances. Hey, I see a marathon in my future.

Are you a morning, noon, or evening runner?

Morning all the way! I hate noon running. I don’t know why. I do run in the evening if I have to. Besides, all my XC practices are in the evening.

Do you run solo or with a buddy?

Obviously during XC season I am with my team. I like to run solo so I can go at my own pace. For me, sometimes a buddy just slows you down. I know, that sounds really selfish. I do like running with friends though.

This picture may show otherwise. I’m the one obviously running in the opposite direction. What’s wrong with me? 

What is your favorite post run snack?

My yogurt bowl mess of nut butters, Greek yogurt, protein bar, and protein powder. I eat that with fruit.

What is your favorite race?

So far, I haven’t done many races outside of XC season. However, up to this point, my favorite race has been the Forest Park Trail Race 20k. I love me some trails.

As for XC meets, my favorite was at state when my team and I were seconds away from not making the start.

Though, having one of our meets in San Francisco was amazing!

Do you wear a Garmin? If not, how do you track your distance?

I definitely wear a Garmin. Period.

What is my least favorite race?

Regional’s in Idaho. I was just not into it. You know how you have those days were you’re off and you just know, “Oh, this run/race/workout isn’t going to be that great because I’m not into it.”? That’s how I felt.  I was into the warmup before the race. My team and I were listening to Blink 182 and singing while we ran, but other than that, I was not pumped up. I was just, like, super nervous about the start. Besides, it was f-ing cold.

Where is your favorite medal from?

XC season. It was my first year doing XC and I got a medal for being Rookie of the Year and Senior of the Year.

Who is your running idol?

I love Pam Reed. I wouldn’t say she is my running idol per say, but I really adore her. I love her book. She deals with anorexia. She’s like 100 pounds, but knocks out 20+ miles a day. Also, Pam Reed doesn’t let her weight slow her down despite what people think about her. She may look crazy in her pictures, but she’s so inspirational for women runners. Read her book. It’s fantastic.

I also worship Dean Karnazes. He’s just so badass. I think I like him a lot because his books were the first running books I picked up.

How long have you been a runner?

Basically since the middle/end of junior year of high school so maybe a little over a year and a half. I picked up running since I stopped doing boot camps and kickboxing. I didn’t join track until junior year then I loved running so much I joined cross-country senior year. That’s when I became a runner. I stopped focusing on running to be fit, but I focused on running to better myself and to compete. I love competition.

Do you run with your wedding/engagement ring on?
Well, since I am not married…. no.

What is your favorite workout? tempo? long run? fartlek? repeats?
I like long runs and fartleks. Tempos are okay if you’re with someone. Same with repeats. I need to be with someone to enjoy it.

What is your favorite place to run?
I have a favorite running route currently, but I do just love running in the woods.

Do you use Gu?
Nope. I never have. Old school! Actually, not really old school. I just never had the need for Gu.

What do you drink to keep hydrated?
Water. I drink so much that I pee like all the time. You know you’re a runner when you have considered peeing in public just behind a tree because that’s what you do when you’re on a run.

What do you take with you on a run? Does it vary by distance?
Just my Garmin and maybe my car keys. And my legs. I need those.

Question for you:

How did you know when you were a runner? (Funny or serious)
Or, if you don’t run, how did you know you were a cyclist/weight lifter/etc? 

You know you’re a runner when…

…you learn to blow snot from your nose while running. (I have mastered that.)
…you know where every public bathroom is on your run. (So true for me.)
…a good run has scars to prove it.

serving sizes don’t matter anymore.
…you enjoy running hills.
…you have some nasty veins in your feet and ankles.
…every road you drive on you think what a great hill workout this would be.
…you take pictures of yourself in the bathroom after a good run.


…a burrito the size of a small infant doesn’t fill you.

17 Responses to “You Know You’re a Runner When…”

  1. Jess June 22, 2011 at 1:08 PM #

    LOVED this!! I find lifting relaxing, too! & I LOVE my new balance shoes!!

  2. ihearteggs June 22, 2011 at 1:15 PM #

    Ummm… I knew I was a runner when I convinced myself I didnt need to train for a race, onlyl buy cute shorts and I would be fine! (… and I was! ahahah)

  3. Vicky June 22, 2011 at 1:27 PM #

    Ah… I love running! There’s nothing like the feeling after a hard run!

    • trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner June 22, 2011 at 2:50 PM #

      That survey was so much fun to fill out! I could definitely see you doing a marathon in your future! I really want to do one too…I just feel like that would be the distance I’m best at!

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 22, 2011 at 3:56 PM #

    Oh my god. Seriously-I know where every bathroom is within 10 minutes of my running route bahaha. I can so see you being like an elite marathoner. #justsaying.

  5. Alexandra June 22, 2011 at 5:37 PM #

    I loved reading this! “you learn to blow snot from your nose while running” bahaha so, so true. I too have mastered that rare art form lol 😀

  6. Michelle June 22, 2011 at 6:16 PM #

    All those pictures remind me of my high school and college days! Oh, how I miss them!!

  7. Olivia June 22, 2011 at 6:57 PM #

    Omg ahahaha this post cracked me up! I totally love this quiz and I might just have to steal it from you too:) I loved your quote, “You know you’re a runner when you have considered peeing in public just behind a tree because that’s what you do when you’re on a run.” Umm yeah, I will basically pee anytime anyplace because that’s what you gotta do when you drink 5 zillion lbs of water a day! gahh, I love runs:)

  8. Tara June 22, 2011 at 10:50 PM #

    I want your hair. I love it. It looks so sassy in all the running pictures. And that not running pictures too.
    I almost bought Pam Reed’s book yesterday!!! Now I wish I had. Oh well, it’s on my list.

    You know you’re a runner when forgetting your garmin is more upsetting than forgetting your cell phone.

    • lifttorun June 23, 2011 at 8:19 AM #

      So true and I almost always forget my cell.

  9. Allie June 23, 2011 at 3:49 AM #

    This was a cool survey! I don’t listen to music when I run either. I would say I realizes that I was a runner when I would drive places and say that is a good running route

  10. Tessa at Amazing Asset June 23, 2011 at 4:48 AM #

    This is such a great survey! I may or may not steal it from you and post it on my blog at some point soon 🙂
    I also am a morning runner and I actually hate having to practice later in the day with my XC team. I guess I just get used to it during the season though.
    I know I am a runner because I start to get antsy when I haven’t run for more than 2 days

  11. Alison June 23, 2011 at 6:16 AM #

    Haha, this was fun to read! I remember the first time I (successfully) blew snot out of my nose — bit moment!

  12. dana @ my little celebration June 23, 2011 at 12:59 PM #

    Ha! I’m not as intense a runner as you are but we definitely have SOME things in common running wise like running scars, snot blowing and public bathrooms. Ha, that list cracked me up.

    p.s. I love your hair! So beautiful!

Leave a Reply

