Insane in the membrane

1 Jul

Yesterday was insane.

Of course I started my day off with a run.

I sure felt speedy. I slowed down obviously. In the end I was just running back and forth to get to an hour.

I went sleeveless even though it was cold out. Yes, cold in the summer!

Foot update: I have been waking up with less foot pain. Now I have a dull feeling/pain in my heel and the right side of my right foot feels iffy just by the small toe. I wish I could get it checked out, but that’s not going to happen. Whatever. For two days now I get home from the gym and dump my foot in a huge bucket of ice. That helps a lot. I wish there was something else I could do. Walking around barefoot in my house (or with socks) feels ehhhh compared to wearing shoes.

I got dressed yesterday in proper clothes. Insane!

Why am I wearing jeans even though it is summer time? Uh, because yesterday it was in the 60’s and cloudy. No sun whatsoever. Also, I haven’t shaved my legs since… Thursday? Maybe later than that. I was trying to wait until Sunday to shave since it’s tradition for me to wait the day before a race, but I am wearing shorts today. No more monkey hairy legs. You are welcome, America.

My dinner was insane!

That is a mountain of potatoes and a mountain of eggs covered with mushrooms, spinach, and yellow squash. I love eggs just not as much ice cream…

Yeah, I went there. I went to the all mighty Coldstone and got the ‘pie who loved me’. You know what’s insane? That was six bucks. So good.

Let the insane-ness continue…

Last night was traumatic. I normally don’t exaggerate so believe when I say that last night was really traumatic for me… and my two doggies.

I got home around nine PM. I have a German short hair pointer puppy that needs at least three walks a day otherwise, he gets crazy and tears up everything. Therefore, I went to walk him around the block with my dachshund Pete.  I already went down a few streets and I see this guy walking these two St. Bernard’s. I know these St. Bernard’s well. I see them often in the yard. Never have I seen them being walked though. Anyway, he could barely handle them. I just stood there, told Pete to stop barking, and waited for the guy to being walking again so I could continue. I walked some more, went up a big hill, and down a dirt alley and say the guy again. I stopped again because I saw he could not handle his dogs. His dogs came charging at my two little dogs and my dogs starting crying. His St. Bernard literally knocked my puppy to the ground and was ready to bite. My two dogs are crying and then they both come out of their collars. My dog Pete takes off running. I will remind you, Pete is a black dachshund and it’s dark out. He’s running down a busy street and you can barely see him. My other dog Dean takes off in the opposite direction. All this time, this guy with the two St. Bernard’s is doing NOTHING. I start running after Pete then stop because he is too far off and I have to worry about Dean. Luckily, two people come out of their house and help. They grab Dean for me. Did the guy with the St. Bernard’s say anything? No. He stood there. I thanked the people for grabbing Dean and I picked him up. He was shaking. I put his collar back on (my dogs were both on leashes) and apologized. Why did I apologize? I don’t know. I did not do anything wrong. I just took off running with Dean screaming for Pete because that’s when I saw two cars stopped. I thought, “Oh shit. He’s been hit. He’s hit.” I literally just start screaming and crying. I see another car speeding on a road that is 25 miles per hour and another car honking its horn. I just scream, “Slow down! Stop!” I thought for sure Pete was hit.

He wasn’t. This lady gets out of her car telling me to calm down and that my dog just kept running. I am bawling. I run down another street and just keep calling for Pete. Finally, I just think I should run home and tell my mom.

I get closer to home and my mom is yelling that Pete is there. Pete was fine. Dean was okay. They were just both shaken up. My mom asks me what happened and I can’t talk. I’m crying.  I was pissed too. I was pissed at the guy with the St. Bernard’s. If you can’t handle your dogs, walk one at a time or something. He never walks them anyway. Don’t get me wrong, I love St. Bernard’s. They are my favorite breed. I use to have one. It wasn’t the dogs’ fault. It was their owner.

Last night was just insane. What makes it even more insane is some guy at the store (before all of this went down) was in his car and kept trying to talk to me. Then he got out of his car and just watched me. I was so freaked out. He looked like a major creeper too. He had long hair that hasn’t been washed in weeks. Ugh.

Insane in the membrane.

Fortunately, today hasn’t been as insane.

It still included a run that I forgot to re-start my Garmin after 41 minutes. I bet it was around 8 miles though since I still went for an hour.

I’m going to hope that today isn’t as insane as yesterday. It’s gonna rock. How about that?

How about I not make that face again.

Have a great weekend and happy July!

Questions:
– Any insane stories you want to share?
– Best thing to get at Coldstone? 

15 Responses to “Insane in the membrane”

  1. Tara July 1, 2011 at 3:56 PM #

    I’m sorry about that situation! That sounds terrifying! I would have reacted the exact same way… that guy probably shouldn’t have those two dogs. I mean, cool, keep them in your yard, but don’t let them be a threat to others. Especially two little puppies like yours! I’m so glad everything turned out okay, but you deserve to be pissed.
    Oh yes and that coldstone is indeed insane. Coldstone is soooo good, but it makes me feel sick so I almost never go. I love the ice cream cakes though. Cake Batter owns my soul.

  2. Jess July 1, 2011 at 4:28 PM #

    Creepy man, stupid dog owners, huge-Behemoth dogs…you day was INSANE, i agree.

    i think you should stay indoors today. just to be safe.

  3. VanessaG July 1, 2011 at 4:56 PM #

    How awful!! I would have been unreal at that man!! I hate running and getting chased by Rotweilers(cant spell), or when I see dogs chasing other dogs. I had a weiner dog(thats what we call em,haha) and I LOVED him. She was outside and my mom was watering the flowers. A Chow dog from 1.5miles up the road came and killed our dog!!! Our dog was a girl and the chow was a boy. The girl wanted nothing to do with him, if you get what I mean. So, the Chow took her by the neck and slung her!!! That was a tramatic day. 😦

  4. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner July 1, 2011 at 5:41 PM #

    Oh my gosh…I hate it when people can’t control their dogs!! I’m so sorry about what happened. I could rant on and on about peole who let their dogs run out in the roads and growl at me and chase me. Ughh.

    • lifttorun July 1, 2011 at 6:32 PM #

      I may have seven dogs, but at least I can control them.

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 1, 2011 at 5:56 PM #

    Happy July! I hate scay dogs (story of my neighborhood for realz). The dogs around me are legit cray cray. Let’s be running partners and run together because we would be the bomb.com.

  6. Alexandra July 1, 2011 at 6:19 PM #

    Dude that is so flipping creepy! I would’ve wigged out about that crazy hound and man!
    Oh lordy I’d be killing for your 60s jeans weather though, I’m kinda getting sick of drought and 100+ degrees every day eww haha

  7. Sweet Cheeks July 1, 2011 at 6:41 PM #

    Glad everything was okay in the end. that IS insane!

    We are such twins with our un-shaved legs and no-real-clothes-wearing selves. I could live in sweats for the rest of my life and die happy. 🙂

    happy 4th!!!

  8. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 1, 2011 at 6:52 PM #

    Yikes! That’s crazy about the dogs. I hate it when people can’t control their dogs… Our neighbors have these two labs who get out of their yard all. the. freakin’. time. They’ve been in our yard before and tore up our garbage, which makes me scared to leave my pooch outside because I’m afraid they’ll gang up on her and attack her… and then I’d have to kick some serious Labrador booty. I’m glad to hear that your pups were okay though.

  9. sunshinevegan July 1, 2011 at 8:57 PM #

    Wow what a sketchy situation! That guy is a total jerk for not helping or apologizing. But on the bright side everyone was okay!
    Your runs and mile times are awesome! And I love your long hair 🙂

  10. Allie July 2, 2011 at 3:31 AM #

    The best thing I got a cold stone was French toast flavored ice cream 😀

    that is a crazy story! My dog jumped off of someones 10 foot porch the other week and I thought she died (but he didn’t) and I was crying so bad!

    • lifttorun July 2, 2011 at 8:12 AM #

      French toast?! I need that now.

  11. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 2, 2011 at 5:23 AM #

    Oh my that is a crazy story! What a jerk for not even apologizing, ugh I hate people like that!
    You know I am loving that ice cream concoction 🙂 And I love the cake batter!

  12. runningperspective July 2, 2011 at 6:10 AM #

    ewwww creepy men FREAK ME OUT….
    and that is so so crazy! i totally understand how you were freaking out i have 3 dogs and loveeee them so much and i go INSANE when they get loose and run away and i start freaking out…..ew i would be totally pissed at that freaking guy with his two dogs…and he just stood there? um really? what an ass…sorry but he isssssss
    and dude im allergic to dairy 😦 no icecream for me…it sucks. i knowww
    ps your runs = what i aspire to one day becomeeeee
    k thanks for being my inspirationnnnnnn hahah!

  13. moveovercelery July 2, 2011 at 2:01 PM #

    Goodness. I’m glad the pups are okay! I would of done the same thing, apologize. I can’t believe he just stood there! Sorry about the creep…long hair grosses me out!

    I got a double dip cone from Braums yesterday! Much needed in all this heat! Your ice cream concoction looks to die for. I love me some Coldstone!

Leave a Reply

