Pump It Up

2 Jul

My Saturday has so far looked like this:

  • Wake up at seven and lay in bed while the alarm goes off for a few minutes
  • Eat breakfast/ice foot
  • Clean the downstairs of my house
  • Go to the gym for spin class and elliptical (my foot was feeling not so peachy keen)
  • Come home, eat lunch
  • Leave to get nails done – painted blue for my 4th of July race
  • Get eyebrows waxed
  • Tan
  • Shower at 2:30 ish
  • Eat some more
I haven’t had my nails done in months. It felt so nice. I got my feet done too and I was ready to fall asleep. I couldn’t forget my eyebrows though. It’s like tradition for me to get my eyebrows done before a race. That extra hair will slow me down, folks.

That reminds me…

My half marathon is in two days! Oh my goodness. It’s going to be my first half marathon that I’m racing.

I already picked up my bib number

and t-shirt.

I got skills. 

While I was at Fit Right NW getting my racing gear, I got a half marathon tee.

I’m not that pale. It’s called my camera likes to make me look like a vamp.

I feel prepared for my half marathon. Mentally, I am pumped. I feel like kicking some ass. Just hopefully my foot is on board also.

Physically, I know I can run 13.1 miles. I know I could win a bread pudding contest too, but I’m getting off topic. Physically, I’m ready if my foot is too. I’m just pumped up! I got some new Nike tempo shorts and a matching neon shirt. I’ll be sure to take photos.

In addition, there is this girl from my cross-country team that pisses me off to no end and she too is running the half marathon. I’ll be the first to admit that I am one for hardcore competition. Little does she know, it’s a race for me to beat her… and the 2,000 other runners. 

Tomorrow I am still unsure on how much I should run; if I should at all. I know on half marathon training programs they say do not run at all, but if I don’t do some sort of movement, the next day my legs feel heavy. Should I do like four easy miles or less than that?

Overall, tomorrow will be a rather restful day after I get home from work. It’s my mom’s birthday! She’s turning, like, 30. My dad is going to be home too (he’ll be here for my race. Yes!) and we are – I think – going to one of my favorite Italian restaurant. It’s called Jopa and they have a veggie calzone the size of my head. Not kidding. Cheese just melting out and sauce oozing. Get in my belly.

If anyone else has a race this 4th of July weekend, I wish you the best.

Run hard. Run fast.

Trip some people up if you have to. Who said runners can’t be violent?

Also, if any runner has a race this weekend or coming up, here are tips to make sure you run your best race:

The Day Before the Race:
• Rest your legs. If you go to the expo, try to go early and not spend hours walking around.
• Drink plenty of water all day.
• Lay out your race-day clothing

Race Day:
• Keep to your eating routine. If you usually eat before a long run, do it. If not, remember that the time between getting up and starting the race is at least two hours, not the half-hour or 45 minutes it is for a training run.
• Arrive with enough time.
• Get in line for the portable toilets right away.

 Any more tips for running a race – half marathon or not?

 

 

“If one could run without getting tired I don’t think one would often want to do anything else.” 
– C.S. Lewis

18 Responses to “Pump It Up”

  1. runningperspective July 2, 2011 at 3:49 PM #

    hell yeahhhh your gonna kill your half i just know itttttt!
    maybe spin again tomorrow? give your foot just one more day of break before the run!
    dude your gonna do so so damn goodddd i can’t wait to hear about it!

  2. Olivia July 2, 2011 at 3:55 PM #

    dayummm girl! that sounds like such a fun day so far:) I LOVE getting my nails done, but I’ve never had an eyebrow wax..does not sound fun! hahayour half marathon is going to be AMAZING though! I can’t wait to hear about your results and that’s so cool that you’re RACING it!! Gah!! and you’re totally gonna beat that other xc girl! go get ’em girlfriend! best of luck:)

  3. Tara July 2, 2011 at 4:09 PM #

    I totally have the same relationship with some girls on my team.. but they’re twins. So it’s times two. All season I wanted to stay number one on the team and they were always two and three… I swore they were after me. They still never beat me 🙂
    I always run the day before a race. The longest distance race I’ve ever done was 10 miles though. I do a shakeout 2 – 3 miles super easy just to keep the blood flowing.

  4. kristi (sweetcheeks) July 2, 2011 at 4:52 PM #

    You are gonna that thang out!!!! Yes make sure to drink tooons of water tomorrow. And I would do a really light easy run prob 2 miles or so. Good luck girl!

  5. Alexandra July 2, 2011 at 5:26 PM #

    Oh hot dang watch out other XC chick, cuz Christy is gonna ROCK this half marathon and OWN you!!! (especially after having such a rockin awesome spa day :)) Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  6. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner July 2, 2011 at 5:48 PM #

    Oh, you’ll beat that girl, I know it! 🙂

    I’m so excited to hear how it goes! I’ve always wanted to run a half marathon!

    I always do a 3-4 mile run the day before a race during the off-season, and I feel like it reminds my legs that they still need to keep moving! Haha. During XC and track season we do “pre-meet” runs whicha re out 15 minutes and back faster.

    I bet yor foot will be fine, as long as you ice it 🙂 (which you already do)!

  7. Ma Ma Megan July 2, 2011 at 6:19 PM #

    Hahah you will totally beat that girl. I mean does she have a bunch of foodie bloggers rooting for her? Nope. 😉
    You are going to rock it!

  8. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 2, 2011 at 6:50 PM #

    Good luck girlie! You are going to do so well. I am running a measly 5k. Does it make me weird I’m super jealous of your half?

  9. Allie July 2, 2011 at 7:00 PM #

    Before my last half I ran 2 miles the day before 🙂

    Good luck! You are going to love half marathons now 🙂

  10. Jess July 2, 2011 at 7:14 PM #

    You will SO beat that girl 😉 Not even an issue 😉 You’ll ROCK THIS OUTTTTT!!

    I say, REST up before the big day! nothin to make your legs tired 🙂

  11. Erika July 2, 2011 at 7:15 PM #

    Ahhh! I am so excited for you Christy! I know you’ll do amazing! 🙂

  12. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 2, 2011 at 8:37 PM #

    I love how passionate you are about running 😀 You’re gonna rock it, girl! Especially since you got those eyebrows taken care of 😉 Gonna shave a minute off your time AT LEAST.

    • lifttorun July 3, 2011 at 5:07 PM #

      Hahah. Literally shave a minute.

  13. Pureglow*16 July 3, 2011 at 6:27 AM #

    goodluck running!!!
    (=

  14. indecisiveathlete July 3, 2011 at 8:23 AM #

    Good luck in your half! I need to sign up for another race when I have a free weekend. Love the race shirt and the 13.1 shirt.

  15. Michelle July 3, 2011 at 4:00 PM #

    Go get ’em!! Best of luck in running fast and strong!

    Can’t wait to read the recap.

  16. katshealthcorner July 5, 2011 at 1:59 PM #

    Oh my gosh, you are such a CUTIE! 😀 Congrats on your first half-marathon! I know you are going to ROCK that! 😀

Leave a Reply

