Run like you stole something

3 Jul

Doing an 3-4 mile easy run this morning didn’t happen.

I was up at 5:30 for work, out the door by 6:30, and finally at the gym by 11:45. I was fried mentally and physically. Well, I’m sure if I did run, I would have felt better in the first five minutes. I was still super tired though. I normally don’t take naps, but when I got the gym, I just kept thinking if there was a bed here I would sleep. With that thought, I knew I needed more rest than what I was going to give myself for tomorrow’s half marathon.

I did take a Zumba class and I am never taking it again. I am a white girl who can’t dance. For the first 15 minutes no one else was there. I was the only one with the teacher and she was doing all these Latin moves. Don’t worry. The class was easy on my legs since I had no idea what I was doing. I looked like the biggest dork. I looked like a 6th grade boy at his first middle school dance trying to be cool.

Look at all that sweat from Zumba except not really. I bet I was the only person who left the gym today who looked like they didn’t work out whatsoever.

When the Zumba class was over, the teacher was like trying to convince me to come back. Lady, I will come back to Zumba when the Kardashian’s let me apart of their family. 

I haven’t had a rest day in a while. I can’t remember the last time I have sat for this long. I even took a nap! I woke up to no one home. It is my mom’s birthday so I guess she went to see a movie and is going to pick me up for dinner at seven. I can’t wait that long. I’m already hungry.

Does anyone find that they are more hungry on rest days? Oh wee. What up with that? No really. I want to know.

Apparentlyexercise is an appetite suppressant. I know on days that I do workout, I get hungry, but never extremely hungry after working out. On days that I may take it easy, I am twice as hungry. Is my body making up for the days that I worked out and perhaps didn’t eat enough? 

On that note, here is my week in review:

Monday: Approximately 11.08 miles
Tuesday: Elliptical and a strength & conditioning class
Wednesday: 11.41 miles
Thursday: 8.46 miles 
Friday: Approximately 8 miles (I forgot to press start again after stopping at a stoplight at 6 miles)
Saturday: Spin class and elliptical
Sunday: Zumba/Rest

Total running mileage: Approximately 45 miles. 
I really want that to increase so maybe next week I’ll be adding a few extra miles. It was the same mileage as last week, which somewhat disappoints me.

Damn you, foot. I hate you. I’m starting to think it will never go back to normal.

I did buy a pair of Adidas Recovery Sandals.

I don’t know much about them, but I saw the word ‘recovery‘ so I bought them. Does anyone else wear them or know if they actually are good for your feet?

Well, that about sums it up. I’m going to spend the rest of my of rest day watching Baby Mama, carbo loading, reading Runner’s World (half marathon edition. What’s the luck of that?), and making cornbread. Sleep will happen since my race starts at 6:45. That seems so early! I’ll just go in my PJ’s.

Let’s get racin’!

Happy 4th of July to everyone!

Questions:
What are you doing for the 4th?
Like my new sticker on my car?

Random story of the day:
My coworker asked me what I was doing tomorrow and I said I was racing. Then she asked how much I run daily and I hate when I get that question because, you know, it varies. Gosh, non-runners know nothing. Anyway, I said I could run 8-9 miles in an hour and she was like,

Then everyone she saw, she told them how much I ran. It made me feel all fuzzy inside. Weird. I know. Then I was embarrassed. At least someone takes an interest in my interest. And yes, my coworker is Snooki. We like to eat pickles together.

“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?'”
– Peter Maher, Irish-Canadian Olympian and sub-2:12 marathoner

25 Responses to “Run like you stole something”

  1. Alexandra July 3, 2011 at 5:27 PM #

    I’m always a ravenous beast on rest days too! What am I saying, I’m a ravenous beast everyday haha I’ve heard it’s because your body is soaking in the nutrients like a sponge since it’s finally getting a break, using every calorie to repair the damage from exercise. I’m just glad it gives me an excuse to eat like a whole jar of peanut butter and know it’s going to good use haha!! 😀
    PS~love the car sticker and GOOD LUCK!!

  2. Allie July 3, 2011 at 5:28 PM #

    Good luck! You are going to rock this race for sure 🙂

  3. indecisiveathlete July 3, 2011 at 5:39 PM #

    I’m the same way when it comes to zumba. Its so awkward, I am not that coordinated at all.
    And yeah I’m way more hungry on rest days its weird and I really don’t know why wish I did though. Good Luck tomorrow!

  4. VanessaG July 3, 2011 at 5:49 PM #

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t like zumba. I know it’s so popular, but it’s nt for me. I’ll stict to running!! I got pressered into going with some of my coworkers(who were all very overweight). Well, I felt like it wasn’t even a workout. They all love it and it is their workout, so I guess we all enjoy different things. I’m not trying to be mean, but the zumba class I took is def not going to get you in shape. O’well, off my soap box…I too, get asked how much I run and end up getting embarased. They just don’t get it do they?haha I remember being just like that though long ago. Runners are a different. Haha. Good luck on the race. You amaze me(even on your “slow” days! Have an awesome 4th!! 🙂

    • lifttorun July 3, 2011 at 5:54 PM #

      That’s how I felt. Besides, the Zumba teacher was not ‘fit’ herself. I’m not trying to be mean or judging, but she was a bit overweight. She had the moves though.

  5. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 3, 2011 at 5:53 PM #

    Haha I’m definitely a bottomless pit on days that I don’t workout. I’ve heard that exercise is an appetite suppressant, but I also think it’s because on rest days your body is using more energy to repair/refuel the damage you do to it when you exercise. For people who do a lot of strength training, rest days are when their muscles really do the most growing because the body is building them back up.

  6. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner July 3, 2011 at 6:01 PM #

    Haha…that Kardashian picture made me laugh! And the Snooki one too! 🙂

    I don’t think I could ever do a Zumba class…I have NO coordination- that is why I am a distance runner, not a hurdler or gymnast! Haha. Well, actually there are many more reasons why I am a distance runner but whatever. I remember in my weights and conditioning class at school, on some of the days when we were supposed to be doing conditioning drills, my teacher would have us play stupid dance games on the Wii in the new gym or we would do Turbojam…just to make us feel embarrassed! Haha. It was funny, but of course, I would be the only one awkwardly dancing so I would just try to hide behind a beefy basketball player :p

    I am SO excited to hear about your half!!! You are going to ROCK it! That one girl from your team better not get her hopes up, because you will definitely beat her!!

    I get dumb questions like that from non-runners too. I also get a little frustrated when non-runners ask me how far I ran and how long it took me, and then try to calculate my pace. Ughhh.

    Good luck! You’re a speed demon!!

  7. Tara July 3, 2011 at 6:22 PM #

    I want to try zumba just to laugh at myself. I don’t think I could ever consider it a workout. I don’t even consider bikram yoga a workout!
    I don’t really feel that much hungrier on rest days.. I’m just bored so I eat and say “I worked out a lot this week. I can eat whatever the hell I want!”
    Good luck in your race tomorrow! You’re going to do amazing in your first half. First Woman finisher, okay? If not, age group for sure. KILL IT.

    • lifttorun July 3, 2011 at 6:39 PM #

      First woman finisher… yeah not going to happen. Haha.

      I don’t consider Zumba a workout. At least not after what I did today. It was just a way to move my feet.

  8. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin July 4, 2011 at 6:59 AM #

    I like to call myself the hungry hungry hippo and the carb monster on rest days. It’s all I do! Good luck on your race today!…
    and I’m glad you reviewed a Zumba class because I’m also a white girl who CAN’T dance and has NO rhythm or flow.. so you pretty much answered my question as to “should I try it” I don’t even like yoga. I feel the need to sweat!

  9. ihearteggs July 4, 2011 at 8:36 AM #

    I am in love with the title of this blog!!! While you are running your hot little legs off today I am stuck at work! BOO!!!

    Good luck and rock that half!

    … And klike you, I will never ever ever be seen in zumba. Ever.

    • lifttorun July 4, 2011 at 10:57 AM #

      I got work afterwards. Haha Woooo.

  10. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 4, 2011 at 9:58 AM #

    Good luck! I hate zumba-since I teach step we are required to go to other classes once a month and zumba and spin are my least favorites ever. I cannot and will not do them. We are not friends and never will be. EVER.

    PS: Today aDuBs and I were finishing the race (I was finishing up with her) and I was like run like we are patrons at our pool and robbed a bank because god knows that wouldn’t be suprising).

  11. runningperspective July 4, 2011 at 11:15 AM #

    dudeeeeeee love that quote
    and hahah ZUMBA hahahaha never in my life. i wish there was a video of you doing it hahahah classiccc…
    and dude you are going to OWN your half! can’t wait to hear how it goesssssss! your gonna do workkkkkkkk!

    • lifttorun July 4, 2011 at 12:07 PM #

      If there was a video… oh god. I would die of embarrassment.

  12. sarah July 4, 2011 at 12:38 PM #

    You are going to do SO well in your race- the pace of your runs is unfathomable to me( how can some people be so fast?!?).
    I am ravenous period- but I think even more so on rest days. Something to do with the muscles working over time to repair themselves, I think.
    I hope all is well with your foot. Orthotic inserts solved all my feet problems- definitely worth the investment.
    Looking forward to the race re-cap,
    Xxx

  13. Jess July 5, 2011 at 6:40 PM #

    I LOVE THE KARDASHIANS!! Hehe.

    run, girl, RUN!!

  14. The Teenage Taste July 5, 2011 at 7:21 PM #

    I’m ALWAYS more hungry on rest days. Always!
    Good luck at the half marathon tomorrow! I’m sure you’ll do great! 🙂

  15. Jessica Rose July 5, 2011 at 7:42 PM #

    OMG. Someone else is ravenously hungry on rest days!?! I thought it was the weirdest thing with me. I’m always super hungry after work, but if I go straight to the gym for a workout, it kills my appetite and I’m not nearly as hungry when I get home. But if I go home first, I need to eat like my entire house. ha wtf.
    Anyways – I can’t wait to hear about your half marathon. I’m sure you kicked its ass 😉

  16. moveovercelery July 6, 2011 at 11:38 AM #

    Pahahahaha I can’t imagine doing a zumba class ALONE. I did it once with a friend and we were falling over laughing the whole time. it doesn’t help that my gym has mirrored walls so you can see how much of an idiot you look like while trying to move your hips!

    and good luck on your halfie! you’re gonna do awesome!

  17. Ma Ma Megan July 6, 2011 at 12:07 PM #

    I’m ALWAYS more hungry on rest days. I would imagine as it has something to do with your muscles using more energy to recover?
    But I ‘aint no doctor, what do I know!

    I’m terrible at zumba. I would not consider it a workout at all.. Some people swear by it, but I can’t dance to save my life. It is fun every once in a while though.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. theGuysite beefy JC | Gay Men Gallery - October 25, 2011

    […] } vand Soiuri Prun – Oferta vanzare pomi fructiferi, arbusti, vita de vie ieftin marfånga-dagen.seRun like you stole something /* […]

Leave a Reply

