Push It

7 Jul

Howdy! Should I just skip the chit-chat and get right into details?

Before I talk about the Foot Traffic Flat Half Marathon, guess who I saw today? I was running back to the gym and right by my gym is Duniway Track where Kara Goucher was running laps… like hella fast. She was wearing a sports bra and spandex and she has abs of steel. Oh my god. You could see the outline of her abs.

Anyway, the race! 

Before the race: I woke up at five, got dressed, rolled out my foot, and stood in my room debating on whether or not I should make my bed. I didn’t. I had some water with my vitamins before I left along with a banana and peanut butter. I’m one of those people who can eat before a run, but I cannot eat before a race. There’s a difference. My nerves take over.

We (my parents and I) had to leave the house early since it takes about 30 minutes to get to Sauvie Island. It’s just right outside of the city center of Portland. In the car I listened to pumpin’ music and read Runner’s World. Nothing like Pink and running magazines to get you motivated just to run.

Half way there, the traffic got bad. There’s only one way to the island so of course everyone and their brother is there. The race itself started at 6:45 and we had like thirty minutes to get there once we were on the bridge to the island. Yeah… that took forever. By the time we got across the bridge and a bit further, we had like fifteen minutes until the start of the half marathon. Needless to say, I was starting to freak out. I had to pee so badly too and you know at races… the porter potty line is as long as the line for the food.

We actually got to the start of the race area in time with like fifteen minuets to spare. While I was standing in line at the bathroom, guess who just comes up to me? The girl from the my cross-country team. I know, right? She’s like, “Hey! I’m just going to cut in front of everyone to go to the bathroom too, but I’ll pretend like we’re best friends so no one cares.” Obviously she didn’t say that, but that’s what happened. I didn’t even want to talk to her. Whatever. I wished her well afterwards and walked to the start. 

The race:

The race course was great! By the name of the race, it was obviously flat, but there was a lot of wind. The sun was out and it was just cool out. I loved it. The scenery was beautiful. I passed cows, horses, cornfields, cute firefighters, etc.

My first minute mile was 7:07. I am never one to get out fast. I don’t do it naturally. I just go at my own pace and eventually build up. I’d rather pass people (which I did) than have people pass me. People wouldn’t want to pass me anyway. I’m insane and I sing out loud. I also said, “Awwww” every time I passed an animal. Good thing there weren’t any cats. I stop when I see cats and pet them. Seriously. I’m a crazy cat lady.

Anyway, my average pace was 6:33. 

I really just tried to push it the whole time. I wasn’t hurting besides like once or twice. My foot was just annoying. It wasn’t painful. Besides, I have been waking up with less foot pain everyday. I can actually get out of bed without falling to the floor.

But I am getting off topic. I really need to work on speed during my regular runs.

During the race, I just pushed it nonstop.

So attractive. I have one leg. You guys didn’t know that?

I didn’t want to slow down, especially after I heard I was in sixth place for the women and that’s when I was literally running side by side with another woman. I had to pass her, so I did.

The rest of the race was just me and myself, running pass men. I would tell them good job or keep it up, man.

I knew I was getting closer to the finish since there were more people and then I saw the end. I just started sprinting, passing men as I went. I wanted it so badly. When I sprint hardcore, I start yelling. I just let out grunts. i didn’t give a shit. I’m strange. I know it.

I suck at recaps so I’m just going to get to the dirty…

My final time was 1:24. 

I was first in my age group.

I was fifth woman overall. 

I came in 45th place out of 1641. 

Sometimes I think to myself that I want to one day be an elite runner and run races hardcore all out with my little spandex on.

I want to train for the Olympics. I love running both for the recreation aspect and the competition. I love racing. I love that after I cross the finish line, I feel like death in a good way. I love that after a race, people come up to me and tell me how great I raced. Then they find out my age and walk away because they realized they just got owned by an 18 year old.

The only time I feel confident in myself is after I cross that finish line. I feel good about myself. I know I tried my best.

This was an amazing race. I don’t even want to know how I would handle myself with an awful race. I know that day will come though.

Until then, enjoy sweaty photos of me.

These were my dad’s photography skills. I was looking at the photos he took since he said he got some of me crossing the finish line and there was an actual photo of a pole. Then there photos of random people sitting. Thanks, Pop.

An actual photographer’s skills:

“Everyone in life is looking for a certain rush. Racing is where I get mine.” – John Trautmann 

Nobody said it would be easy, they just said it would be worth it.

I know it was only a half marathon. It’s not like I ran an ultra or even a marathon, but this race was just the little UMPFFF I needed to fall in love with running again.

30 Responses to “Push It”

  1. Tara July 7, 2011 at 1:42 PM #

    I’m gonna comment again later — I’m on my phone now — i just wanted to say you’re a beast because I couldn’t contain my excitement!

  2. Tara July 7, 2011 at 2:15 PM #

    Okay okay I’m back. I ran to my computer as fast as I could when I got home. GIRL YOU ARE SO FREAKING AWESOME AND I WANT DEM LEGS! Uhh your last mile is like my PR so let’s not even talk about that. Crazy. Crazy freaking awesome. Can you be my coach? And don’t discredit yourself at the end — distance doesn’t matter. I’m more impressed by a speedy half than a slow full marathon. Your passion for running is so obvious here. You will be Kara Goucher one day (so cool that you saw her!) and some young runner will see you and be like “I saw Christy running. She is the fastest woman I have ever seen. Look at those abs.” and you will also be known for how cool your hair looks in pictures.

    okay that was a lot of rambling but race recaps get me really happy and excited. congrats!!!

    • lifttorun July 7, 2011 at 10:04 PM #

      Hhaha. Oh my god. You just made my night.

  3. Alexandra July 7, 2011 at 2:42 PM #

    Holy shivers!!! Nice job girl! 😀 So jealous of your running skills and your running shorts–sweet colors. I have no doubt you’ll be a famous runner someday, you got skills.
    Haha I’m diggin the pics of you thumbs up during the run, that’s freakin amazing!

  4. allieksmith July 7, 2011 at 2:49 PM #

    Great job Christy!!

  5. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 7, 2011 at 3:30 PM #

    UMMMMM YOU.ARE.SPEEDY. Congratulations, you are amazing 🙂 That is all 😀

  6. lynne July 7, 2011 at 4:05 PM #

    Wow! You’re sooo fast!!! Ha, my dad does the same thing. At the marathon he kept taking pictures of the people in funny costumes 🙂 Great job!

  7. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner July 7, 2011 at 4:15 PM #

    OH MY GOSH!! You are so fast!! 6:33/mi….wow!! I can’t wait until I’m back on track so I can run a half marathon too! And you’re definitely an elite runner! Some day I’ll have to get your autograph…because you’ll be the next Paula Radcliffe! 🙂

    My dream is to run in the olympics as well. My mom doesn’t think it’s very likely, since very few people end up at that level, but I want to prove her wrong, haha. I want to run the marathon!

    That is so cool that you saw Kara Goucher!!! The only famous runner that I know of from Michigan is Dathan Ritzenhein, but he’s not even from my area.

    By the way, how did that one girl from your XC team do? (not that it matters….I just want to know how BADLY she got beat by you!)

    • lifttorun July 7, 2011 at 10:03 PM #

      She got 241 place out of 1641.

  8. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 7, 2011 at 4:34 PM #

    Oh. my. word. 6:33? Girlllll you’re a machine! That’s so flippin’ awesome and you better be super proud of yourself! Don’t say it was “only a half” because that’s still a big deal! And it’s only a half FOR NOW… soon you’re gonna be owning marathons like it’s nobody’s business 😉

  9. Sweet Cheeks July 7, 2011 at 5:27 PM #

    you are a rockstar!!!

  10. VanessaG July 7, 2011 at 6:45 PM #

    Great job! I suppose you are running in college right? Where do you plan on going? You are a senior? You def have a future in running…speedy!! Congrats on your 1st half and for doing so awesome!! You have a heart of a lion when you run. 🙂

    • lifttorun July 7, 2011 at 10:02 PM #

      I’m running in college at Portland State University. I go there this fall.

      • VanessaG July 8, 2011 at 8:24 AM #

        Awesome!! Yay. I know you have an awesome future running. I know Portland is lucky to have you. You will make them proud. 🙂

      • lifttorun July 8, 2011 at 11:18 AM #

        Thank you. (:

  11. runningperspective July 7, 2011 at 7:01 PM #

    oh my gosh dudeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    you are AMAZINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG
    like AMAZINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG
    one. DUDEEEEEEE like those times are freaking INSANE you are INSANE you are a CRAZY PERSON!
    two. UM YOUR LEGS like can i have them? maybe borrow them? k thanksssssssss
    threeeeeeeeee. YOU ARE AMAZING if you didn’t yet that from the above^^
    and lastly DUDE YOU SAW KARA so so so so jealoussssssssss

  12. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 7, 2011 at 7:12 PM #

    Can I get a dayummmmmmm.

    times 100000.

    to the infinite power.

    Okay nerd alert. That is seriously awesome and you looked gorgeous running. Um were you even tired? You look like you ran 1 mile ha. Go run another half.

  13. katshealthcorner July 7, 2011 at 9:16 PM #

    Girl, YOU ARE SO AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Congrats on your time! Girl, you are my inspiration!!!!!

  14. Eve July 8, 2011 at 12:01 AM #

    Hi, I love your blog! Congrats on the great race! I’m by no means an great runner, but I love it and am trying to get better. I was wondering how you’re tracking your distance and pace so accurately? Is it a device? Thanks!

  15. Jess July 8, 2011 at 6:20 AM #

    YOU FREAKIN’ ROCK. holy smokes…FAST GIRL!!

  16. Amy @ countrystrong21 July 8, 2011 at 7:31 AM #

    Congrats on an awesome race! You look like you barely ran at all.

    I want to get a cat when I move out and name it Gibbs 🙂 Random fact for you lol.

  17. ihearteggs July 8, 2011 at 7:44 AM #

    WOW! You are seriously beyond impressive!!! Amazing job (… to my new running idol! lol)

  18. Megan July 8, 2011 at 7:53 AM #

    I cannot believe how fast you are! And that you got first place in your age group. Wowza!!
    Don’t even say “just half” not many people are able to say they’ve run a half marathon, especially that fast.
    CONGRATULATIONS, you deserve it 😀

  19. Jessica Rose July 8, 2011 at 8:54 AM #

    SO EXCITED FOR YOU! And I love that you give thumbs up to the photographers – I do that all the time 🙂
    Also – love that your such a sarcastic little beotch. For real. I don’t like fake kindness – you just tell it how it is. Keep rockin it – congrats!

  20. sarah July 8, 2011 at 11:51 AM #

    Umm, train for the Olympics?- DO it!
    You are so talented- I am way jealous of your running skills- oh, and your hair.
    Those shorts are awesome.
    Xxx

  21. AntosDoesLifeNikki July 9, 2011 at 10:11 AM #

    Great job girl!!! That’s awesome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let’s Catch Up « lifttorun - July 8, 2011

    […] you for all the amazing compliments and words on my half marathon. You guys really know how to make a girl feel all warm and fuzzy […]

  2. Medal Worthy | I'm an Eating Machine! - July 13, 2011

    […] for all the half congrats! Two other lovely local bloggers ran it too, so yay […]

Leave a Reply

