Seven Links and a Review

26 Jul

I have been tagged by the badass Alexandra who could probably kick my ass any day of the week with her huge muscles.

Let’s get it started in here!

My Seven Links!

  1. Most Beautiful: Tears of Joy. The race in itself was quite beautiful since it was a trail race. I don’t know. None of my posts are really that beautiful. Well, I guess I could count Smile!
  2. Most Popular: The Comparison Trap
  3. Most Controversial: Tomboy. Okay, so it wasn’t my most controversial post, but it was up there. Note to self: people don’t like it when you post photos of celebrities in bikinis and ask who looks best
  4. Most Helpful: So, You Want to Train for a Race? Hey, I thought it was helpful despite the fact that I called bitchy because of it.
  5. Surprise Success: Weather Envy.
  6. Not Enough Attention: Vegetarianism. Come on, people! Embrace it.
  7. Most Proud: Obsession? I definitely think I finally got my point across as in, I don’t run to burn calories, but I run because I truly love it.
And I nominate… drum roll please…

 Bada bing! That’s a load off my back now.

Sorry for my absence once again. I have been working all the week to either 9 PM or 9:30 PM. I guess my work doesn’t know I have to be in bed my 10 for my bed time. I actually haven’t had a full seven hours of sleep in over a week. After I get home from work I am a) too hungry…

My normal dinner at work is half the size of my dinner I would eat at home.
Example:

Another example:

Third example:

So, like I said, after I get home from work I am a) too hungry and b) too energized to sleep so I watch Seinfeld while eating more food.

Exhibit A, B, and C

Despite my lack of sleep, my workouts haven’t been lacking just yet. 

Here’s my stats from last week:

Monday: Hills 9.45 miles (6.57 average pace)
Tuesday: 7.88 miles (recovery run – average pace 7:06)
Wednesday: Hills 8.73 miles (6:53 average pace)
Thursday: 8.87 miles (7:05 average pace)
Friday: Elliptical + RIPPED class
Saturday: 14.73 miles (6:53 average pace. Half of the run was done at the beach)
Sunday: Weights + spin class

Total mileage: 49.33

Honestly, I wanted my mileage to be more, but I do have a half marathon this Saturday so I should be backing down on the mileage. I’m not much of a taper person. I find when I do taper, I get cranky and my legs just feel stiff from not running what I’m use to.

Anyway, I finished Kara Goucher’s book!

I have to admit, I really did love her book and I’m glad I finally bought it.

Kara Goucher’s Running for Women: From First Steps to Marathons was a simple read that I believe is useful for any runner. Whether you are just starting to run or have been running for years, this book will benefit your running in one way or another. 

The book wasn’t all running tips though. Kara included bits of her life in the book like why she runs, how she started, and why she continues. Kara herself is so inspirational. She has made it so far because she is dedicated. I can only dream of running as fast as her.

Kara Goucher also talks about her injuries in the book and shares her doubts. It was extremely heart warming for her to share that not every race she has done was perfect and that bothers her. You can truly see how competitive she is, which I adore. Normally you view athletes as hubris type people who believe they are golden, but Kara seems to struggle with not winning every single race. She’s only human after all.

Some sections in the book were repetitive and really meant for newbie runners who, I guess, can’t naturally figure out how to get rid of side stitches. A lot of things are common sense, but Kara just simply reminds the reader that you need to eat well to perform well. No duh. Really new runners should skip this book since it does not elaborate on some running issues that you may need to know. Some of her tips were silly and she also added “Dear Kara” letters that were ridiculous. “Dear Kara, why do guys run yada yada yada?” Who cares? However, if you been running for a while, Kara’s tips on running are valuable.

I would give Kara Goucher’s Running for Women: From First Steps to Marathons a 7/10 and that’s being friendly since I love Kara. (Holla, I see her a lot at my track I run at. ) I really hope Kara writes a book that is more of a biography. I would be interested in that.

15 Responses to “Seven Links and a Review”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 26, 2011 at 2:24 PM #

    I feel so honared to be tagged. When I get my blogging mojo back sometime soon I’ll do this. I agree though about Kara’s book. I would more or less really like her to do a biography or such rather than full of running tips. I would be her number one fan for sure.

  2. runningperspective July 26, 2011 at 2:33 PM #

    heck yessssss thanks for the nominationnn!!!
    and i read that book too and totally agree…def alot of runner newbie stuff but when she put in all that personal stuff i realized she was more that just a running god and a real girl with real insecurities and that makes me love her even moreeeee
    and Seinfeld is the best show ever created. i have seen every single episode. and no i am not exaggerating .

  3. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples July 26, 2011 at 3:20 PM #

    Great book review!
    All the best for this Saturday 🙂

  4. Allie July 26, 2011 at 3:46 PM #

    Thanks for the tag girl 🙂

    I really want to read her book!

  5. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 26, 2011 at 3:54 PM #

    Great mileage 🙂

  6. katshealthcorner July 26, 2011 at 4:10 PM #

    What kind of “pie” is that?

    • lifttorun July 26, 2011 at 8:35 PM #

      It’s a broccoli and cheese quiche.

  7. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner July 26, 2011 at 4:45 PM #

    Is that a quiche or a pie? Either way, it looks awesome!

    Nice mileage! I wish I could call that my taper right now haha. I’m excited to hear about your half marathon and I KNOW you will do well!

    I agree with you on Kara’s book…it has a lot of beginner stuff but I did like reading what she wrote about nutrition. I also like how relatable she is!

  8. Alexandra July 26, 2011 at 5:48 PM #

    Hey thanks for the shoutout bud! And umm you could TOTALLY woop my toosh on the track 😉
    That book sounds really really good, thanks for the honest review, I gotta check it out!

  9. runningonapples July 27, 2011 at 12:26 PM #

    Thanks for the book review! I totally feel you on eating/sleeping less with an internship =/ Bahh so annoying

  10. dana @ my little celebration July 27, 2011 at 1:23 PM #

    endangered species chocolate: so good!

  11. Keri @ Blue-Eyed Runner July 27, 2011 at 4:35 PM #

    I’m glad you said Kara’s book wasn’t all running tips. I have been wanting to read it but afraid it was more for beginners. I will have to get it!

  12. Jess July 27, 2011 at 6:18 PM #

    That’s some serious mileage–you go girllll 😀

    that book sounds pretty good! please, please, please don’t kill me….but i didn’t know who kara goucher was before your blog!! i know…horrible..

  13. Michelle July 28, 2011 at 3:29 PM #

    I like the honest thoughts on Kara’s book. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

