I’m a Warrior

5 Aug

I don’t want you guys to think I am a wish-washy person. I am always very confident in my decisions.

You know how originally I was interested in the Marines? I didn’t say this on the blog, but I had an appointment with a Marine Recruiter today. I did not mention it because I do not want to be discouraged… or perhaps jinx myself some how or another. My folks were already leaning me towards the Air Force, but I myself, secretly, was leaning towards the Marines.

The Marines is tough. No joke.

I find that appealing.

First of all, I did request information from the Marines and they actually personally contacted me. I liked that. I talked with a Marine over the phone and he told me I sounded like a very intelligent young woman thus I scheduled an appointment, yet I was already thinking I would just do the Air Force. Just.

I walked into the Marine’s office. I talked with the Recruiter and I just felt comfortable unlike in the Air Force’s office. He asked me questions, I did a test, and I was qualified for the Marines. The recruiter liked my attitude and the fact that I desired a challenged. He seemed impressed, so my mom claims.

I also did this little word test where I placed the qualities of Marine in order of what I thought was the most important to least. One of them that I picked was ‘self discipline/independence’ and I placed that as my second most imperative quality that I liked/wanted. Turns out, that precise quality was one that most people who become a Marine or already are one, put as their top three qualities.

I felt a sense of purpose with joining the Marines. I felt like it was not all focused on education and ‘here are your benefits for good health insurance so you can join’ type of deal. It looks beyond challenge mentally and physically. I want that so badly. I don’t even care that the basic training camp is in South Carolina. I will deal with it because I want it.

When the Recruiter asked if I wanted to be a Marine, I said yes and I wanted to cry because I knew it was true. Unlike the Air Force, I do not feel that nervous. I feel more excited than any other emotion.

I don’t want to go into too much more detail, but I am very confident in my decision.

Now on to issues that you guys will find interesting like the fact that my sense of style is improving. I say that with a grain of salt.

 Me winkin’ at you sexy guys that read my amazing blog

Gum in my mouth. Classy.

I wore this to work and the guy that I like told me, “Are your lips always that color… or is it the shirt?”

Hmmmmm. Alright. Good thing my mom sent me to an all girl school because I don’t know how to talk to guys so I just laughed and was like, “I don’t know. Dah dah durrrrr. I bet it’s this shirt. Hur hur hahha.”

At least he didn’t say anything about my black socks showing.

I could dress worse though.

Speaking of Britney Spears shoes, check out my new hamburger shoes.

They look great with my latest honorable eats:

I think I am going to end this post now. I have a much more serious post set up for tomorrow so keeping this one a bit lighthearted is for the best.

I’ll end on this note however:
That’s right, girlfriend. I am doing the Warrior Dash. Holla at your girl.

(Except I won’t talk like that at the Warrior Dash race because I don’t need my ass to be kicked. )

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every expirience in which you stop to look fear in the face. 

– Eleanor Roosevelt

17 Responses to “I’m a Warrior”

  1. katshealthcorner August 5, 2011 at 9:59 PM #

    You are a Warrior girl! You are strong. You inspire me each and every day. You always know what to say. You are always there. Thank you for all of the time and effort you put into your blog.

  2. buttonss - Cherie August 5, 2011 at 10:40 PM #

    Wowww your hair is so long and beautiful. Im jealous!
    OH.MY.GOD HAMBURGER SHOES!!!! possibly the most epic pair of shoes Ive ever seen in my lifeeeee

  3. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples August 6, 2011 at 1:55 AM #

    Excellent choice in quote!
    Those shoes are priceless 🙂 wow the Marines, go for it!

  4. Allie August 6, 2011 at 3:41 AM #

    You are so awesome and so are you new shoes !

  5. movesnmunchies August 6, 2011 at 4:10 AM #

    dnag girl! love how tough you are!!

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 6, 2011 at 4:19 AM #

    BAHAHA. First your shoes and eats do go together. A match made in heaven.

    I’m really glad you liked your meeting with the marines. It’s so important for you to be happy. On a side note-I didn’t go to an all girls school and I still don’t know how to talk to boys. True life.

  7. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner August 6, 2011 at 4:30 AM #

    Hey! I’m sorry for the lack of comments lately, but I’ve been reading all of your posts! I’m so excited for you!!! I could definitely see you joining the Marines. Not everyone is cut out for it, but you definitely seem like someone who would be suitable for the marines!!!

  8. sarah August 6, 2011 at 4:40 AM #

    You seem sooo mentally tough & perfect for the marines- I really admire you for considering taking this route with your life & not conforming to the norm!
    Its been a while since I mentioned it- but your hair is goooorgeous.
    And your eats look great- yummy salads & dark espresso chocolate!
    Xxx

  9. Alexandra August 6, 2011 at 5:08 AM #

    The marines warrior you=heck yes. I’m so excited for you chica!
    And I think I’m gonna have to steal your hamburger shows now…those are the most amazing things I’ve ever laid eyes on. 😀

  10. runningperspective August 6, 2011 at 6:01 AM #

    YAYYYYYYYYYYYYY dude i am OS SO SO SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!! finding out what you want to do and knowing that is feels right! JEALOUS! you go!!!
    love those shoes
    and i want details on this warrior dash
    k thanks

  11. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 6, 2011 at 6:57 AM #

    YAY! i’m so so so happy for you 🙂 You’re going to be so awesome! I have so much respect for you. You are a warrior 🙂 Lovin your eats too !

  12. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 6, 2011 at 8:54 AM #

    Girllll you ARE a freakin’ warrior. Daaaang. I love how hardcore you are… go big, or go home, right? 😀

  13. hippierunner August 6, 2011 at 1:29 PM #

    You are so brave and inspiring!

  14. Tara August 6, 2011 at 3:31 PM #

    You are my hero. I love how you do what is right for you and go with your gut. It takes a lot of courage to do that for anything, but especially to join the marines. That’s so admirable and I can totally imagine you doing that. And it will be a nice contrast to an all girl school life as well, right? You da bomb.

    Love those shoes.

  15. VanessaG August 6, 2011 at 6:13 PM #

    You are an inspiring!!! You put your mind to something and give 100%.

  16. pbbrittany August 7, 2011 at 12:38 PM #

    The Marines?! Dang! That’s amazing, and I’m glad you found something you know you want to do. 😀 Congrats!! You are one hard core chica!

Leave a Reply

