Lazy Weekend

7 Aug

Your comments were incredible in my last post. I hope you guys know how beautiful and strong you are. It’s true.

What a lazy weekend I had.

I went shopping

Check out my new watch, yo.

I also got some new V-neck shirts from Victoria’s Secret and Target as well as Pac Sun. Then, I got another pair of tempo shorts to add to my collection.

Read until I fell asleep

I drunk a lot of ice coffee

Thank you, Starbucks, for spelling my name correctly. 

Ate a lot…

 I am never  going back to regular ice cream again.
Eggs + mushroom leek tart + potato knish

Moreover, I decided to add more weight lifting days in my schedule.

On days that I lift, I will only run for an hour or less (if it’s an easy run day). I really do love lifting and it’s obvious I have gained muscle.

I believe I gained eight pounds in the past few weeks. Initially, I had no idea why. I mean, I was eating the same and working out the same so why was I gaining? Why all of a sudden would I gain weight like crazy? It had to be muscle because I went to shopping and I still fit in all the same sizes. At Forever 21, I could fit in a double zero or zero. (They are cheaply made clothes though.) Then, at Lucky’s, I could fit in a zero. Sorry if a size zero is shocking to you, but it’s what I am. I use to be a size 9 so… whatever.

Anyway, I love lifting weights. However, I hate the weight lifting routines or whatever you want to call them in Women’s Health Magazine. Fitness and Shape have worse examples. They literally say grab a five-pound dumbbell and do a rep 898484 times. Literally that number, guys.

Men’s Health Magazine, on the other hand, has great workouts. My brother gets the magazine, but I end up ‘borrowing’ it from him. I really do not think he uses it, to be honest (not rude), because he beer belly still exists. That’s beside the point. Men’s Health Magazine is for anyone who is serious about lifting and fitness in general. Also, the meal plans are awesome. They are not 1,500 calories, but hell of a lot more.

Besides, Men’s Health puts rather attractive men on the cover.

I know this week, thanks to Men’s Health, I will be doing this upper body workout. If I’m going to be a Marine, I need some arm strength.

WEEKLY PROGRESS TEST

EXERCISE

SETS REPS
1 Inverted Row 1 As many reps as you can in 30 seconds. Retest weekly.

WORKOUT 1 (WEEK 1)

EXERCISE

SETS REPS REST
1 Deadlift 3 3 60 s
2A Pullup 3 6-8 0 s
2B Back Raise 3 6-8 60 s

WORKOUT 2 (WEEK 2)

EXERCISE

SETS REPS REST
1 Deadlift 3 3-5 60 s
2A Inverted Row 3 10 0 s
2B Lat Pulldown 3 10-12 60 s

WORKOUT 3 (WEEK 3)

EXERCISE

SETS REPS REST
1A Scapula Pulldown 4 10 0 s
1B Barbell Shrug 4 12 0 s
1C Back Raise 4 12 90 s

WORKOUT 4 (WEEK 4)

EXERCISE

SETS REPS REST
1A Face Pull 3 6-10 0 s
1B Lat Pulldown 3 8-15 0 s
1C Back Raise 3 10-15 90 s

  The Payoff   

  • Bigger Muscle This workout trains your rear deltoids, rhomboids, and trapezius—all commonly neglected muscles of your upper body. By shoring up these weak spots, you’ll pack on muscle and build a more symmetrical physique. 
  • A Wider Upper Back The pullup and lat pulldown in this workout are slightly different from standard versions. You’ll initiate each move by sliding your shoulder blades down. This allows your lats to contract through a larger range of motion, so they develop fully. 
  • Total-Body Strength The deadlift is more than just a muscle builder for your lower back and hamstrings. It strengthens your back from top to bottom and conditions your “posterior chain”—all the muscles on the back of your body—to work in coordination.

Week in Review:

Monday: 9.61 miles @ 7.0 average pace
Tuesday: 10.41 miles @ 7:11 average pace (it was hella hot and I didn’t expect to go that long)
Wednesday: 5.15 miles @ 7:03 average pace
Thursday: 11.53 miles @ 6:53 average pace
Friday: Weights + Elliptical
Saturday: 13.66 mile trail run @ whatever pace. My watch says 7:48, but that would be feel like walking for me so I don’t think that is correct.
Sunday: Weight class + 15 minute spin class (I was bored so I left) + 4-5 mile run (I didn’t have my Garmin) + elliptical to cool down
Total mileage: 50.36 plus 4-5 miles 

Hell yeah! In the 50’s finally even though my first three runs of the week were slow. I didn’t really focus on my pace as much as I didn’t my mileage. So, this week I should really focus on both. 

Have a good second week of August!

“Now bid me run, And I will strive things impossible.”
– William Shakespear, Julius Caesar

28 Responses to “Lazy Weekend”

  1. Keri @ Blue-Eyed Runner August 7, 2011 at 1:27 PM #

    Sounds like a seriously fab weekend: run, lift, starbucks, reading, pizza?! Amazing. You are not the first person to say that Men’s Health posts better workouts. I may have to change my subscription!

  2. Sweet Cheeks August 7, 2011 at 1:37 PM #

    i had never even thought to look at a men’s health magazine. but now that i think of it, i’m sure it IS a heck of a lot better than the women’s ones! thanks for the idea!

  3. sproutybuns August 7, 2011 at 1:46 PM #

    I just wrote a post about the crazy diet restrictions in Women’s Health. I might have to pick up a Men’s Health though – looks much more my speed 🙂

  4. Alexandra August 7, 2011 at 2:21 PM #

    I’m so with you on those stupid women’s mags, the calories are like starvation for me. Either those ladies are midget oompa loompas, or something’s up. Men’s Health is where it’s at fo sho…..aaaannd I don’t mind the hunky cover men eye candy either 😉
    By the way, I’ve never seen that Oikos flavor and I almost shat my pants with excitement, I MUST FIND IT!!! 😀

    • lifttorun August 7, 2011 at 2:25 PM #

      I just found it the other day and died. I like screamed in the store.

  5. hippierunner August 7, 2011 at 2:41 PM #

    i love that you said the 7:48 pace would feel like walking! You are fast! I need to stop reading women’s fitness mags; I have the sense to not take them too seriously but it’s annoying and not helpful to see when they say like, eat 4 almonds but not more because that’ll make you fat. it’s so lame!

  6. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples August 7, 2011 at 3:19 PM #

    Your workouts are looking awesome 🙂
    By the looks of it you had an amazing weekend too!!

  7. allieksmith August 7, 2011 at 3:27 PM #

    I like Men’s workout magazines so much better than womens as well! Great job with the milage Christy!

  8. Kristy August 7, 2011 at 3:44 PM #

    Love the watch! What make is it? Starbucks always spells my name wrong too. They always spell my name with a “C”. The other week, someone spelt my name “Khristie”….ummmm interesting. I love weight lifting too. It makes me feel strong and empowered!

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 7, 2011 at 4:22 PM #

    Killer week 🙂

  10. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 7, 2011 at 4:26 PM #

    I can’t stand it when magazines suggest using sissy weights and eating like a bird. I eat heavy and eat like a horse, and that’s how I like it 😀

  11. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner August 7, 2011 at 5:25 PM #

    I really like that watch! And I bet that you definitely gained muscle- I wouldn’t worry about it at all. That is an awesome week of training! I wish 7:48 was my ‘walking pace’ right now but I know it will be again at some point!

    By the way…I am sooo going to have to find that yogurt flavor at my grocery store!

  12. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 7, 2011 at 7:25 PM #

    Are we living the same life? Do I ask you that every blog? I used to be size 9 but now I’m a size 0. Forever 21 sometimes the clothes didn’t fit me at all. I do agree-I steal my lifeguards mens health all the time. Bahaha.

  13. Tara August 7, 2011 at 7:32 PM #

    I used to love using men’s health for the workouts. I love the way weight lifting makes me feel too. I love being muscular, I can’t believe there are women that are afraid to hit the gym.

    I hope you like unbearable lightness. I thought it was kind of creepy how familiar it was to me. I loved it though

  14. sarah August 8, 2011 at 6:28 AM #

    Thanks for posting those routines, I’d been wanting you to share cos this girl needs some muscle.
    You are a rockstar with that week of workouts!
    Xxx

  15. Eleah August 8, 2011 at 10:17 AM #

    Mhm.. you’re pretty dang fast. If I ran that much, I wouldn’t have time to do anything else. 🙂

  16. Haley Q August 8, 2011 at 10:32 AM #

    Reading Men’s Health is such a good idea! I’m so sick of the women’s magazine workouts as well, time to play with the big boysss. All of those workouts look super, and it’s awesome that you notice a muscle difference already!

  17. GraceLynneFleming August 8, 2011 at 1:46 PM #

    great post!

    -grace

    http://herumbrella.com

  18. pbbrittany August 8, 2011 at 5:30 PM #

    I am SO glad that I am not the only one to realizes that Women’s Health SUCKS! Well, maybe sucks is a bit harsh but if I had to choose between Womens Health and Mens Health for a lifting routine? You better believe I’d be buying the Mens Health magazine. I’ve written down countless routines from them that I love because they challenge you, enough of the light weight crap!! &That workout sounds TOUGH! phew!

    btw- are you sore since you run just about everyday?? That’s a lot of miles in one week! lol. I’m probably going to hit the 20’s this week and THAT makes me happy…couldn’t imagine being in the 50’s! 😛

    • lifttorun August 8, 2011 at 11:33 PM #

      I am not sore from running. My body is so use to it.

  19. Jess August 8, 2011 at 6:40 PM #

    Most women’s mags are HORRIBLE!! I do love Oxygen–women with muscles who do seem to EAT!!

    i read your last post–SO, SO powerful!! loved it. I would never, ever wish an e.d. on anyone either, ever. it’s the toughest thing i’ve ever been through!!

  20. Meg August 9, 2011 at 10:17 AM #

    I really almost can’t even read women’s health/self/ect. anymore. 1200 cals?! Lifting 5 lb weights?! Puh-lease I feel like I eat triple that 🙂
    The hamburger shoes are bangin, and I’ve wanted to read that book for awhile let us know how it is!

  21. JH August 9, 2011 at 9:40 PM #

    Hello! Your training reminds me a lot of mine – pre injury and pre becoming friends with 2x National 5k Champion, Lauren Fleshman. I have learned a lot over the last six months, and some of the most important advice for wanting to become faster? Easy days and rest days. You definitely want to incorporate some days into your training that are 90 seconds to two minutes slower than race pace. Yup, you might be jogging 8-9 minute miles, but your body needs it. Without rest/easy days, an injury is lurking. Lauren also has recommended that long runs not be longer than 20 percent of your weekly miles’ total, which I am not sold on, but then again, she is a professional…Just some food for thought.

  22. AntosDoesLife August 10, 2011 at 7:02 AM #

    IS THAT BILL COMPTON ON THE COVER OF MENS HEALTH?!

  23. runningthriver August 10, 2011 at 5:22 PM #

    love your menu for the day. lol i definitely need to get back into lifting!

Leave a Reply

