Sleepy Time

11 Aug

Hey, hey!

I’m back home from my Marine adventure.

I don’t understand why people like hotels. 

I mean, sure you take picture of yourself, but I prefer my own bed that I occupy with all my pets.

I had to stay in a hotel Wednesday night since I had to be up my four (yes, four) for my physical. It turns out that the physical was just medical. I did have to do sit ups and a chin hang or whatever you want to call it, but that was that. I did have to pee in a cup… in front of someone. I got my blood drawn, hearing checked, eyes checked, and I had to walk like a duck. Apparently, being able to walk like a duck is so helpful in the Armed Forces.

Long story short, I qualify. I took an oath. I leave for boot camp October 24th. Whew.

I took the Armed Forces test on Wednesday too. My recruiter claims I did a very good job, but perhaps I will still re-take it. It’s a little tradition that before you take the test, you get a Snickers and a Red Bull. Yes, Red Bull. As in a lot of sugar. I had both. In less than five minutes.

I am not calling myself a Marine yet. I will consider myself one after I make it through boot camp.

I still celebrated with ice cream though.

Now, it’s all about me finding a job for after boot camp. I have no idea what I want to do!

Since I was up at four and I didn’t go to bed until 10:30 ish, you can imagine how exhausted I was today. I didn’t really eat that great of a breakfast, I didn’t have an actual lunch besides a Luna bar and fruit, but when I got home, I started eating a banana. I know I am tired when I’m bitchy. My mom ate the rest of my banana and I started crying. That means I am tired as hell. I took a nap for six hours. I woke up, actually had a meal, and then ate cookies.

My plan was to sleep then work out. Guess what, guys? I didn’t work out. I didn’t want to. I needed the rest day to sleep. Usually on rest days I am so hungry, but that didn’t happen probably because I slept for most of the day.

It felt so nice to sleep. I cannot remember the last time I got a full night’s sleep.

To be honest, I totally have this great idea in my head for what I want to post about, but I’d figure I would keep this post short and sweet with the updates.

Instead, update me with what you have been up to! How is life treating you all?

Now on to honorable eats:
 Eating my dinner on a hotel bed
 Greek yogurt in a jar w/ protein cookie
Watermelon banana smoothie
Trader Joe’s onion rings

“Afraid you havent got what it takes? Then get it! Feed your mind.”

20 Responses to “Sleepy Time”

  1. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples August 11, 2011 at 9:39 PM #

    Wishing you the best of luck for boot camp! Celebrating with ice-cream A+++

  2. Christie August 12, 2011 at 2:52 AM #

    You are at such an exciting/life changing time in your life!!! I have just been following your blog recently so I don’t know all the details of the situation; but I wish you the best of luck!!

  3. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign August 12, 2011 at 3:30 AM #

    You had to pee in a cup in front of someone? How awkward. I always get so nervous doing it by myself behind a closed door that I can hardly pee. I can’t imagine having someone watch me.

    What is the “walk like a duck” thing for?

  4. runningperspective August 12, 2011 at 4:30 AM #

    dude!!!!!!!!! i am so so so excited for you! like you are amazing in just a few weeks you completely changed your life around to do exactly what would make you happy! thats freaking amazing!!!!!!! and also way to listen to your body!!!!!!!!!! amazinggggggggggggggg. the end

  5. Alexandra August 12, 2011 at 4:46 AM #

    Number one, I totally agree about hotel beds. Number two, I’m so freaking proud of you for listening to your bod and having a rest day AND for boot camp!!! AHH you’re gonna OWN sista, the marines won’t know what hit em 😉

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 12, 2011 at 5:41 AM #

    God I cannot imagine staying up that long. You=champion. Or having a snickers and red bull but I’m sure it was the bomb.com. True life. Anywho-I can’t wait to see how this goes! I’m so excited for you.

  7. allieksmith August 12, 2011 at 5:56 AM #

    Yay for boot camp!! This is so exciting for you!!!!

  8. runningonapples August 12, 2011 at 5:58 AM #

    Sometimes rest days are necessary. How is that oikos flavor? Looks yummy =]

    • lifttorun August 12, 2011 at 7:58 AM #

      It was good. I like the honey fig the best.

  9. sarah August 12, 2011 at 6:22 AM #

    That is soo exciting ! You are going to be like the best Marine EVA, & the one with THEE nicest hair.
    Go you for taking the rest over working out – trust me I know that’s not easy to do. Sleep should trump exercise though.
    Honourable eats all look goooooood!
    Xxx

  10. Jess August 12, 2011 at 7:39 AM #

    I am so excited for you! Best of luck with boot camp and finding a job thereafter 🙂

    SO happy that you took a rest day–you are a rockstar working out-er (haha), but sometimes even the most elite need a day off 🙂

  11. BrocStar August 12, 2011 at 11:31 AM #

    Congrats!! My bro (who was in the Army) tells me you get used to that peeing in front of someone thing. He says they wake you up in the middle of the night sometimes for their own enjoyment of making you do it. Lol… yay for bootcamp!

  12. Miranda @ trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner August 12, 2011 at 12:01 PM #

    This is sooo exciting!! It sounds like so much fun! And props to you for taking a rest day when you needed it! Sounds like you had a very tiring, but exciting day!! 🙂

  13. erica August 12, 2011 at 12:37 PM #

    WHERE are you finding these NEW oikos flavors? i have searched whole foods every day since i saw the honey fig greek yog in your earlier post. have a stellar time @bootcamp, lady!!!!!

    • lifttorun August 12, 2011 at 1:10 PM #

      New Seasons Market which is a local store here.

  14. Meg August 12, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

    You’ll kick booty at boot camp for sure! I’m excited to hear about what it’s like. Also, can we pause for a moment to admire your ice cream?! GAH it looks so good!!! And props for knowing when your bod needs REST and sleeping. That’s hard for me to do sometimes!

  15. pbbrittany August 12, 2011 at 12:56 PM #

    Exciting stuff!!! Good luck in bootcamp! 😀

  16. katshealthcorner August 12, 2011 at 3:24 PM #

    That meatless turkey looks amazing! I didn’t know they had those. 🙂 Life’s treating me well. I’m glad that you passed your physical. 🙂 Though, the part with the cup and doing it in front of some person would have been so weird for me. Extremely uncomfortable. At least you got ice cream afterwards! 🙂 I’m so glad that you got to catch up on some sleep. After all of these nights without air conditioning, I am so looking forward to being able to just fal on my bed and sleep for forever. 🙂

  17. Tara August 12, 2011 at 8:42 PM #

    That’s so exciting!! Wow, October 24th… it’s gonna be here before you know it. And I can totally relate to your bitchy behavior when you’re tired and hungry. My mom has seen the worst in me during those times.

    why didn’t anyone tell me TJ’s sells onion rings?!

Leave a Reply

