I Never Claimed to be Normal

12 Aug

Hello, Friday!

It may be a Friday for you guys, but not me. I got to work my ass off this weekend.

Oh well. I actually don’t mind work. 

I started my Friday off with an 8 mile run. I wanted to go longer, but my legs were like bricks in the end. They felt fresh since I didn’t run yesterday, but at the same time, they felt super heavy.

It’s funny how that works because I ended up lifting heavy afterwards.

It looked a little something like this. I only added calf raises and front squats as well as some ab work. It took me about 45 minutes even though I finished at 43 minutes. I had to continue with two more minutes or I would be bothered by the time.

I’m a little odd when it comes to numbers, truth be told.

I ran for an hour and one minute today. If it was an hour and two minutes, I would have to do another minute. I don’t know why.

When I get to the gym, I pick the lockers either 119, 120, 123, or 125. I can’t pick 124 because I don’t like that number. 117 works too.

I set my alarm clock at weird numbers. I may wake up at 6:36 or 6:47 because those times just feel ‘right‘ to me.

It’s odd, I know. It also makes me seriously think if that is somewhat why I developed an eating disorder.

When the scale was at 106, I didn’t like it. It felt like a ‘strange’ number to me. I would have to lose more to like the number. It’s so silly and irrational. It doesn’t even make sense. I don’t have anything against even or odd numbers, but certain numbers I do not like.

The more you know…

…the less you care.

19 Responses to “I Never Claimed to be Normal”

  1. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 12, 2011 at 1:26 PM #

    Our lives revolve around numbers. The number of hours left until bed time, the size of our clothes, the amount of sugar that goes into a recipe.. No wonder so many of us are obsessed with numbers! I also had that weird number thing going on for awhile. I’ll only use locker 8 and 33 at the gym. I have no idea why it just feels right like you said! Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. katshealthcorner August 12, 2011 at 2:06 PM #

    Haha, girl, you are so amazing. 🙂 I never realy thought about those kind of things, but yeah, I guess I have some weird habits too. 🙂 I love that you get up at 6:36 instead of 6:35 or 6:47 instead of just 6:45. 😀

  3. allieksmith August 12, 2011 at 2:09 PM #

    I’m weird about locker #s as well!

  4. Alexandra August 12, 2011 at 2:11 PM #

    Dude holy crap I’m the same way! My alarm always has to be set with a 2 in it, like 6:02 or 5:22. And if I don’t know what time it is, I’ll admit I kinda get freaked out, I’m so time oriented haha
    I never really though about it before, but maybe that’s why I got an ED too…?

  5. runningperspective August 12, 2011 at 2:16 PM #

    GIRL I AM SO WITH YOU on the numbers jazz. i am THE EXACT SAME WAY. weird? maybe but its totally ok cause i am right there with ya!

  6. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner August 12, 2011 at 3:52 PM #

    I’m weird about numbers too. I’m not the exact same as you, but I HATE the number 20. I can NEVER run a 20:xx 5k or I will flip out. It sounds weird, but I would much rather run a 21 minute 5k than a 20 minute 5k (for aesthetics, obviously not if I’m trying to get a good time so I can run in college). For whatever reason, I find numbers like 8, 12, 20, 22, and 30 to be really “ugly” I guess. I also HAVE to count calories every day. I have some other weird behaviors as well. Who knows, I’m probably OCD. And it’s probably what caused both of my eating disorders.

  7. Ash August 12, 2011 at 4:23 PM #

    I’m the same way. And I think that didn’t help me when I developed an ED, either lol.

    I’m not so obsessed with numbers anymore, thankfully. I just think it’s quirky or fun now to do the things that you mentioned…(workout until it’s 45 min instead of 43 and set the alarm for an exact time, certain locker number, etc.) I still do those things…I just don’t PANIC anymore about it lol.

  8. Molly August 12, 2011 at 4:46 PM #

    Hey I always pick locker #123 too! But I think I am the opposite of you, I don’t like things ending in odd numbers. Like I like to finish runs on even numbers (1 hour exactly, or 8 miles exactly). And I always like to get 8 hours of sleep at night so if I got to bed at 10:16, I change my alarm from 6 am to 6:16. That’s about as nit-picky as I get but still. I can definitely count on less sleep when college starts.

  9. mary August 12, 2011 at 6:33 PM #

    wow that is a lot like me..I have been struggling with an eating disorder and exercise bulimia for awhile and I noticed that when working out I haaaad to end with a 5 or zero- and it had to be over 40 minutes long of working out so usually I’d push myself to do 60 or 65 minutes of intense cardio. Then when I was restricting myself I’d count down the minutes to when I could next eat and wouldn’t feel bad. It was awful but now I’m getting better and eating when I’m hungry and not skipping meals. Working out is harder but I’ve focused more on being strong and healthy rather than burning off calories.

  10. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 12, 2011 at 7:19 PM #

    Oh my god. 119 is my favorite number ever. I don’t know why. Is it weird for me to say-I don’t know but you have the worlds greatest lips. I’m really jealous of them.

    • Ash August 13, 2011 at 3:11 PM #

      LOL now that you mention it, she does have really pretty lips. Lucky!

  11. Tara August 12, 2011 at 8:44 PM #

    I’m totally weird with numbers too. I have to run to something that ends in .5 or .0 — nothing inbetween. And I like my milage to be even too — I can’t end the week with a .5 on the end. Odd numbers irk me as well.. I think my eating disorder stemmed from my anxiety disorder though… but my weird number tendencies come from perfectionism.. which is also part of my anxiery disorder. so yeah, it’s all connected.

    • erica August 13, 2011 at 8:37 AM #

      my mileage ALWAYS has to end in .0 too! i always get the crazy eyes whenever i explain this to anyone.

  12. sunshinevegan August 13, 2011 at 8:27 AM #

    I am exactly the same way with my alarm clock! And also just not liking certain numbers. Some just don’t feel righ to me.

  13. Sweet Cheeks August 13, 2011 at 2:42 PM #

    numbers can drive people crazy, i hear that! I am that way with times. I wonder how many times I look at the clock each day. I’m sure it would be a crazy amount!

  14. pbbrittany August 13, 2011 at 5:13 PM #

    haha- I’m sorta the same way. I have to do everything in 5 minute increments. If I stop running at 1 hour and 8 minutes, I go another 2. I am….sooooo…weird 😛

  15. Meg August 14, 2011 at 4:08 AM #

    I’m weird about ending my workout on weird numbers too! It HAS to be an even number or I freakk out.

  16. Keri @ Blue-Eyed Runner August 14, 2011 at 5:17 AM #

    I like numbers too! Nice workout 🙂

  17. Haley Q August 14, 2011 at 6:35 AM #

    Ah I can’t set my alarm to an “even number” like 6:35 or 8:00 it has to be something weird like 5:43. I DONT KNOW WHY and it kind of drives me kinda crazy. Don’t worry we all have weird quicks like that!

Leave a Reply

