Switchin’ It Up

14 Aug

 Hello fellas!

What’s happening?

Trust me, I don’t talk like that in real life. I sound a lot dumber.

Whew. I am so glad this week is finished! I had so much to do in so little time. My days were jam-packed.

You know you’re too busy that your car starts to look like a dump. Notice the apple core?

This week, I would wake up at the crack of dawn after getting home from work at 9:30 to eat, work out, shower, eat, go to work, die, etc. 

Here’s my review of this week’s workouts:

Monday: 9.38 miles @ 6:57 pace
Tuesday: 9.52 miles @ 6:49 pace
Wednesday: 8.66 miles @ 6:56 pace + weights
Thursday: 6 hour nap
Friday: 8.78 miles @ 7:01 pace + weights
Saturday: 14.14 miles @ 7:01 pace
Sunday: Weights + spin class + stretching

Total Mileage: 50.48

In actuality, I am very delighted with my mileage. I made it to the 50’s, which was fantastic. The thing is, I didn’t even stress about my mileage. I just ran how long I felt like it and I tried to up my pace. Go ahead and laugh at me. My pace never seems to progress. I felt super speedy on Friday and I was only running seven-minute miles. Ugh. I know I can run faster if I tried in a race so I need to do so in training runs. I think I may do a tempo run tomorrow then.

I am going to improve my running pace wise this week as well as switch up my workouts.

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday are only going to be cardio days. Then, Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday will consist of cardio plus weights. On Wednesday I will do full body lifting routine while Friday will be focused on legs and Sunday will emphasize arms. I did arm work today and it was killer. I borrowed a little routine from Julie. By the way, I received some awesome items from Julie in a giveaway.

I always see this stuff on other blogger’s sites, but never have I used it.

How do you guys use NuStevia? Remember, I’m like half ape and cannot bake much so I need easy peasy recipes.

Anyway, as I was saying…

I am changing my workouts this week and that means I will not be performing ab work every night like I have been. I know, I am crazy. I realized, however, that I do not need to do ab work every night when I am dead tired. It takes me twice as long do to so because a) I’m exhausted and b) Seinfeld is more entertaining and I get distracted.

I switched my ab routine and now my abs are feeling it. So, now, I will be doing ab work every other day. There and there.

I don’t sound so cray cray anymore.

If you any killer ab routines, hit me up please!

Remember when I finished Racing Weight and I promised a review?

Yeah, that’s not gonna happen because what I have to say will bother some people and I don’t feel like dealing with it.

All I have to say is, if you are seriously considering any sport like swimming, running, biking as a career, you have to accept the fact that you may be underweight. You may not be a normal weight (by other’s opinions) because you are in peak condition to race. Lightness = quickness. That’s how it works. You may not have to be, like, 100 pounds, but you may have to be under your ‘healthy’ weight.

I personally really enjoyed the book and loved all the facts that were made. The author highlights that if you want to be lean, run 50+ miles a week. I didn’t like that the author, Matt Fitzgerald, said to not gain too much muscle because muscle doesn’t make you light. Then, after racing season, you can gain a few more pounds back, but never too much.

If one was to follow Matt Fitzgerald’s plan of being very lean, you would have a strict life and I don’t really like that. I want a cookie and damn right I will eat it. In the back of the book, there were eating plans of elite athletes and it was a lot. Some runners were eating like 10,000 calories, but Matt Fitzgerald never seemed to say that you could. He made it sound like you had to eat 1,500 calories for ultimate performance. I don’t know. I’m dumb so I could have misunderstood his words.

Overall rate: 6/10.

Hey, Matt Fitzgerald, look what I ate this week:

Of course I had some healthy foods too. 

 Pepper/onion/goat cheese tart + spinach cakes

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

“I was pushed by myself because I have my own rule, and that is that every day I run faster, and try harder.” – Wilson Kipketer

16 Responses to “Switchin’ It Up”

  1. Alexandra August 14, 2011 at 2:46 PM #

    Dude 50 miles in a week is flipping amazing!! I bet if you add up all the miles you’ve ever run, you could go like 10 times around the world haha 😀
    Great book review, sounds interesting!

  2. Sweet Cheeks August 14, 2011 at 3:22 PM #

    where did you get those spinach cakes? They look tastey!

    congrats on your mileage this week and good luck on your switch up for next week. I have no doubt that you will dominate it just like you always do! 🙂

    • lifttorun August 14, 2011 at 9:50 PM #

      New Seasons Market, but I am sure Whole Foods has them.

  3. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples August 14, 2011 at 3:57 PM #

    I like the quote you ended the post with (I was thinking about this whilst on my morning run).
    wow awesome mileage 🙂
    Pasta with prawns and veggies one of my favs!

  4. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 14, 2011 at 4:45 PM #

    I’m pretty sure that I could never be an elite athlete if it meant not being able to have cookies or chocolate, and I hate it when “experts” act like there’s only one right way to do something. I wanna have my cake and eat it too. And grats on the mileage, girl…. 50 is impressive for sure 🙂

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 14, 2011 at 5:27 PM #

    I would love to chat more with you about racing weight because we fully have the same opinion I feel. You know. Email me/text me whateves. Great work in getting in the 50s and can we trade lives? k, thanks. Also-I only use the stevia in my pancakes. It made them hella good. I don’t know how to bake anything else.

  6. Tara August 14, 2011 at 7:08 PM #

    Interesting thoughts on racing weight — I think that BMI is bullshit. I don’t think it really tells you if you’re underweight or not anyway.. I just want my freakin’ period back. Hopefully I race well at that weight. If not, welll I’m not planning on being a professional or elite anyway, just decent, so I’m putting my period first. And there is no way I’m eating just 1500 calories a day. That sucks.

  7. runningperspective August 14, 2011 at 8:09 PM #

    dude 50 freaking miles you are AMAZINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG
    but really tho!
    and girl you should post up your ab routine / arm / legs or whatevaaaaaaas cause i want to basically be a strong ass running machineeeeeee like you
    k thanksssss 🙂

  8. Melissa August 15, 2011 at 12:13 AM #

    I like Thursday. Also, I love this “I want a cookie and damn right I will eat it.”

  9. Christie August 15, 2011 at 2:58 AM #

    you FREAKING ROCK!! 🙂 Nice week training. I’d love to hear some killer ab workouts!

  10. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 15, 2011 at 4:28 AM #

    50 miles!!!! You rock! That’s so awesome. I’d love to hhear some of those ab workouts! It’s the one part of my routine that I’m really missing out on. I could never be an elite athelete and not enjoy my cookies… and chocolove chocolate cause that stuff is the bomb!

  11. Marissa August 15, 2011 at 5:56 AM #

    where the heck do you buy your desserts I swear I’m salivating haha

    • lifttorun August 15, 2011 at 8:10 AM #

      Zupans! It’s where I work.

  12. runningonapples August 15, 2011 at 7:08 AM #

    50 miles? You’re awesome!!!

  13. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner August 15, 2011 at 8:24 AM #

    Woot woot! 50 miles! The closest I’ve ever gotten to 50 was 46…bahh. Those are some great runs too! And I wouldn’t worry too much about your pace- it looks great and it corresponds with your awesome race times. I agree with you 100% with racing weight…at my “race weight” I was basically the lowest weight I could be without being classified as “underweight” by bmi standards…I think my bmi was somewhere between 18.5 and 19. I have a stockier build though so I did not look that light. I get so mad when doctors fixate on your weight and insist that you’re too skinny. I didn’t lose my period because of my weight, I lost it because of the amount of running I did. I’m pretty sure I lost it yet again, now that I’m running more again, and my weight is like 20 lbs heavier! Sorry doc, I’m not going to run 10 miles per week and gain 10 more pounds just so I can get my period back. It will go away as soon as I start running more, which I HAVE to do if I want to stay injury free and fit. Just give me something to protect
    my bones, haha.

    Whoa, sorry for that rant! But whoa, 1500 calories a day? Well if it was for like a week it would work, but long term? No. That’s the amount I ate when I was working out around 2 or more hours a day my sophomore year and I was dropping like 2-3 lbs per week! Somehow, I don’t think anyone could maintain on that!

  14. Meg August 15, 2011 at 12:14 PM #

    YAY 50 miles is so exciting, when I break that I feel so good about life.

    Can’t believe 1500 cals…I honestly think I’d pass out haha! I do agree that I felt slower even with like 2-3 extra pounds on me from too much summer fun…losing them was easy and I definitely noticed a difference.

Leave a Reply

