Killah Abs

15 Aug

Wanna know my success to a killer core?

Run 12 miles.

I was a hot mess afterwards.

By the way, I’m not the only person who takes photos of themselves in public places.

Jennifer Garner raises the bar for everyone. Hop to it, people.

Anyway, I know I said I was going to do a tempo run today, but I wanted to run this specific path that takes me from Portland’s Hawthorne Bridge to Sellwood Bridge. It’s about 30 minutes on one bike path, but it’s my favorite place to run currently so I went with it.

I died on the way back though. I don’t know why. I was just losing it and I wanted to walk, but I wouldn’t let myself.

But that’s not the only way to a tight core!

I do ab work every other day now before I go to bed. I did do it every night, but that’s insane. I’d rather watch Seinfeld or That 70’s Show.

My ab work is always three sets by 20 reps or more.

I wish I could say I have abs like these ladies,

but my stomach is just flat. It goes from being flat to looking like I am carrying twins in a matter of minutes though.

If you are not used to ab work, crunches do work. I know all those health magazines put down crunches, but they help in the beginning. After that, take it up to a notch.

Also, switching your core workout is of major importance so your core doesn’t get use to your usual routine.

Here are some of my favorite core workouts.

Workout #1:

Three Sets x 20 reps except for planks.

  • Regular plank 1 minute
  • Plank with one leg up and opposite arm up for 30 seconds. Switch sides.
  • Side plank for 30 seconds to a minute. Switch sides.
  • Medicine ball twist
  • Reverse crunch

  •  Scissor kicks – Don’t lift too high. Keep your legs low to the ground.
  • Bicycles x 40
  • Leg drop w/ medicine ball (my favorite)
  • Bridge w/ hip drop on swiss ball – for an extra challenge, set a medicine ball on hips
  • Oblique V-Up’s
Workout #2:
  • Crunches (preferably on Swiss ball)
  • Hanging Leg Raises
  • Bicycles x 40
  • Suitcase AKA knee in’s
  • Russian Twists
Workout #3:
  • Leg Raises/drops/whatever
  • Bicycle Crunches
  • V-Ups
  • Knee-Ins
  • Twisting Crunches (preferably on Swiss ball)
  • Crunches (preferably on Swiss ball)
My other core workout I have been doing is in this months’ Oxygen Magazine. I did it last night and it was awesome.
When I’m at the gym, I do hanging leg raises, captain chair’s, roll outs with barbell, and some others. 
And those are just a few of my core workouts. If you want more, let me know. 
A key to killer abs does not include this:
Or this:
It may include healthy fats.
It may also include gigantic consumption of veggies and falafel too.
 My co-workers think I eat too much.
In other news, I saw 30 Minutes or Less today. 
If you didn’t know already, I have a thing for Danny McBride. While most girls crush over Brad Pitt (he’s okay) or Justin Beaverhead, I prefer guys like Danny McBride and Seth Rogen. I’m strange. I know.
Well, there ya go.

The more you know…

“Long distance running is particularly good training in perseverance.”
24 Responses to “Killah Abs”

  1. Alexandra August 15, 2011 at 7:10 PM #

    Dang that sounds like a killer run! Thanks for sharing the awesome workouts, I’ll have to give some a whirl. Oh and girl I get a food baby after eating too, it’s like I go from flat to 6 months preggers in a matter of minutes haha 😀

  2. Ma Ma Megan August 15, 2011 at 8:19 PM #

    Abs are slowy becoming my favorite muscle group to work. This looks intense, totally something I should add to my nightly routine 🙂

  3. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 15, 2011 at 8:28 PM #

    Thanks for the workout routines. I usually include some core work during my regular routine, but I’m thinking about taking it out and just doing something at the end of the day like you do. And have you ever tried exercise ball jack knives? I love that move and it just kills my abs.

  4. katshealthcorner August 15, 2011 at 8:37 PM #

    Oh my gosh girl, I love your ab workouts!!! This post is BOOKMARKED!

  5. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples August 15, 2011 at 10:59 PM #

    wow thanks for sharing your core workouts. I better get a move on and start working on my abs!

  6. trailroadcrosscountrytrackrunner August 16, 2011 at 4:26 AM #

    Those are some awesome core workouts! And I’m so jealous of Shalane’s abs! Hopefully I can have abs like that if I ever become an elite runner (that is my dream)!

  7. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 16, 2011 at 4:51 AM #

    Phew girl, nice job on that run! Also, thank you for all of these exercises! I am pretty lazy when it comes to core and ab work, but it’s time to change that up! I am off to the gym later and trying some of these out 🙂

  8. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 16, 2011 at 5:27 AM #

    I want your abs and great work on your run. I am really trying to get into my core work but it has been a pretty big fail. Swimming and running use them so I don’t know why I can’t get my butt to do it.

  9. Haley Q August 16, 2011 at 5:56 AM #

    Love all those ab routines! Despite what the magazines say, I still love doing crunches and I feel that you’re more likely to get abs doing crunches than not doing them. They can’t hurt right?

  10. jessiepeace August 16, 2011 at 11:17 AM #

    Ill have to get doing some of these workouts, I have been trying to get rid of my beer belly for a long time.
    Jessie.

  11. Claire @ Live & Love to Eat August 16, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

    I love plank moves for ab work rather than crunches.

  12. runningperspective August 16, 2011 at 2:00 PM #

    yay! sweet i need new ab work ASAP! and GIRL ahahah i totally know the…um why does my stomach look like i am having twins…result that occurs like every night.
    hate ittt
    but I LOVE THAT ICE CREAM its the BESTTTTTTT
    and awesome runnnn<33

  13. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 16, 2011 at 4:29 PM #

    I do core work about three times a week. I need to stop being lazy!

  14. sarah August 16, 2011 at 4:42 PM #

    I’d been getting really bored with my usual ab routines- I actually wanted to ask you to post the core work you did but didn’t want you thinking I was nosy- so thanks!
    I actually think weight lifting in general is excellent for my core- cos ALL moves engage this area.
    I will definitely give your routines a shot:)
    Xxx

    • lifttorun August 16, 2011 at 8:05 PM #

      I wouldn’t have thought that! Ask me anything any time. (:

  15. allieksmith August 17, 2011 at 4:06 AM #

    Great tips 🙂

  16. Julia August 17, 2011 at 8:18 AM #

    I really do need to work on my abs…oh well haha

  17. Meg August 17, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

    Great run and I love your shorts. The quote at the end is so true!

    I need to do more ab work..I feel like it would really help my running but to be 100% honest I’m just realllll lazy. I just tried one of these routines today and loved it!

  18. Tara January 18, 2013 at 4:43 AM #

    Kara Goucher gets abs like that by lifting with compund moves like squats, deadlifts, other single leg moves, Olympic lifts and such. As a former collegiate athlete we never did ab specific work (or rarely)..and Natasha Hastings and other runners never lacked killer abs despite this! . Lifting really is the only way to get solid abs, atleast like these athletes have. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unbearable Lightness Review | Ashley Tisdale Fan Site and Picture Gallery - September 10, 2011

    […] (and since my mind is all over the place right now), I wanted to say I am glad you guys enjoyed the ab workouts I posted. If you do perform the workouts, make sure you allow a day in between. I found this great article […]

  2. Unbearable Lightness Review | High School Musical Fansite - September 10, 2011

    […] (and since my mind is all over the place right now), I wanted to say I am glad you guys enjoyed the ab workouts I posted. If you do perform the workouts, make sure you allow a day in between. I found this great article […]

Leave a Reply

