Sunday Funday

21 Aug

Howdy, ya’ll!

It’s Sunday, which equals funday!

I have no work so it’s a fun day and I”m begging my mom to take me to Dairy Queen before I cut a ho.

So, where should I start with this post? Hmmm. Let’s see.

I want to clear something up that I was just thinking about the other day because I don’t really have friends or life so thinking is just what I do.

Anyway, remember how I said I haven’t been feeling hungry at all lately?

Well, I don’t ever get that hunger feeling in general anymore. Want to know why?

I messed up my metabolism when I had an eating disorder since I didn’t eat an adequate amount of food. My body got use to consuming less than a thousand calories a day that now I never get that feeling of hunger.

I do know when I’m famished though. I get severe headaches, I become very lightheaded, I’m even more of a bitch, I get cramps, my vision becomes blurry, and I can’t make any decisions.

This is why I would never wish an eating disorder on anyone. Do you really want to screw up your metabolism? Do you really never want to feel hungry again?

It’s like I get hungry, but if I don’t eat something quickly enough, the sensation vanishes and everything is just downhill from there.

So eat when you’re hungry! Eat enough to fuel your body. Eat, eat, eat.  

Eat as much ice cream as you can.

I have to eat a lot of ice cream to fuel my workouts. Here’s what this week consisted of:

8/15 – 8/21

Monday: 12.30 miles @ 6:55 pace
Tuesday: 10.30 miles @ 6:56 pace
Wednesday: 2.19 miles @ 6:57 pace + elliptical + weights
Thursday: 9.80 miles @ 6:45 pace
Friday: 6.16 miles @ 6:50 pace + weights
Saturday: Approximately 14 miles @ 6:47 pace
Sunday: Weights + spin class

Total mileage: Approximately 54 miles. 

Thoughts: Overral, I am rather pleased with my mileage and my pacing consindering all my runs made me feel shitty. I just was not into them. I feel ready to go for tomorrow though. I want to do one mile under 6:30 though.

Weight lifting has been going great too. 

Monday’s weight lifting looked like this:

  • Squats
  • Bench Press
  • Rows
  • Shoulder Press
  • Leg Extension
  • Hamstring Curl
  • Biceps Curls
  • Side Lateral Raises
Wednesday:

  • Squats
  • Plie Squats
  • Stiff Legged Deadlift
  • Split squat
  • Walking Lunge
  • Leg extensions
  • Lunge in place
  • Single Leg press
  • Leg curls
  • Calf Raises
Sunday:

Superset 1:
Upright Rows
Barbell Curls

Superset 2:
Push Press
Preacher Curls

Superset 3:
Bridge Press
Rear Delt Flys

Superset 4:
Incline Front Raises
Skull Crushers

Superset 5:
Shoulder Press
Overhead Tricep Extensions

I’m feeling it today! Whew. I love lifting. 
So, I’m gonna wrap this up like a Chipotle burrito with some honorable eats:
 Salad w/ Green Onion dressing + tofu Cajun sandwich  

Enjoy your Sunday, folks!

Go dancing, shopping, rob a bank, or whatever else your heart desires.

 

 

15 Responses to “Sunday Funday”

  1. Olivia August 21, 2011 at 2:41 PM #

    omg WHERE did you find those sunbutter cups?! I’ve looked everywhere and not even Whole Foods has them…basically that stuff is my crack though so I need to get my hands on some! actually, same with that hempspread..looks amazing! I’m so sorry to hear about your metabolism but listen hun, you’re young you’re super athletic and your’e GORGEOUS and it will bump back up!! it just takes time, I promise you’ll be back to normal soon. 🙂 love you!

    • lifttorun August 21, 2011 at 3:43 PM #

      I got them at New Season’s Market, but the Whole Foods by me has them.

  2. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples August 21, 2011 at 3:28 PM #

    I love huge salads! You always have great mileage each week 🙂

    • lifttorun August 21, 2011 at 3:44 PM #

      Hahaa. Yeah, except they are never filling.

  3. Allie August 21, 2011 at 3:45 PM #

    Happy Sunday Funday!

  4. abbey August 21, 2011 at 3:55 PM #

    Oh my gosh I have the same problem! I am a runner and its so annoying because I love to cook and eat and I know I have to eat to fuel and recover, but its so hard when your not hungry and bloated or if you miss that split second of feeling hungry!

  5. Alexandra August 21, 2011 at 5:07 PM #

    Sun cups?! I have to get me some of those ASAP!! You said whole foods has them? Of so, I know where I’m going soon 🙂
    I can relate with the hunger issues, I jacked up my metabolism too so it’s hard to know when I’m actually hungry. Hopefully we can get through it one day and get back to normal.
    Great mileage btw, that’s incredible!

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 21, 2011 at 5:25 PM #

    Gil, I love how open and honest your blog is. My body got used to eating less food too so I didn’t get hungry as easily. True story. Now I eat like it’s my job. Anyways-fueling with ice-cream is the best key.

  7. Tara August 21, 2011 at 5:41 PM #

    It’s kind of embarassing that I’m doing my tempo run tomorrow at a pace that you run for 10 miles. You are so freaking awesome. Love it. I can recognize hunger, but it usually takes me longer to realize it since I can easily ignore it until it gets bad. Ice cream is my fuel of choice too. I got home from running camp and ate more than a pint of ice cream. That’s what happens when you take it away for a week.

    • lifttorun August 21, 2011 at 6:06 PM #

      I bet I am so slow compared to you.

  8. VanessaG August 21, 2011 at 6:14 PM #

    I too screwed up my metabolism with ed yrs ago. I don’t really get hungry like I did like every 3hrs when I was normal. I do know when I am famished due to the same symptoms as you. Although I don’t get super hungry, I stil eat and eat cause I love food. 🙂 amazing food pics and workouts girlry!!

  9. Ma Ma Megan August 21, 2011 at 7:08 PM #

    YES yes I know what you mean. Even when I’m tempted to restrict I don’t do it because I know how much I screwed up my metabolism and I would hate to go back to square one. It’s taken so LONG for me to get things back to normal. I’m still not there, but I’m close.

    Happy sunday 🙂

  10. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 22, 2011 at 6:31 AM #

    My ED messed up my hunger signals as well. I don’t usually get the physical sensation of hunger, with the grumbling stomach and all, but I feel it in other ways like crankiness, fatigue, lightheadedness, anxiousness, and others that are equally as pleasant. After I ate a good amount of food consistently for a good long while, it got a lot easier to figure out when I was hungry, and my metabolism started to repair itself. So screwing it up doesn’t mean that it’ll never heal, you just have to be consistent, eat a lot, and make sure you aren’t overtraining… when I workout too hard, my appetite completely vanishes.

  11. runningperspective August 22, 2011 at 12:35 PM #

    girl totally understand my body got used to less food too and i never felt hungry.. slowly but surely i got my body back to having hunger pains my just adapting to a normal schedule.
    it sucks tho girl
    and ps THAT SANDWICH LOOKS LIKE HEAVEN

  12. Keri @ Blue-Eyed Runner August 23, 2011 at 9:40 AM #

    Awesome workouts and nice job with the mileage!!!!

Leave a Reply

