First Time for Everything (WIAW)

24 Aug

Isn’t that the truth?

Preach it.

Okay. I’ll stop trying to sound cool because it’s so obvious that I’m not.

I am actually famous, guys. I found this while walking the other day.

Anyway, let’s get it on with this thing!

Thanks for hosting over at Peas and Crayons.

Breakfast: 

One egg spinach omlette + half whole wheat bagel + 45 calorie chocolate Almond milk + plain goat’s yogurt + banana

Green tea

I normally don’t eat this at all. I have been trying to up my game and add more to my meals because my runs have been failing.

Insert 9.54 mile run + 32 minutes on elliptical 

 + foam roaling

Lunch:

Greek yogurt in peanut butter jar + 1/2 cup of cereal + protein powder + Luna bar + grapes + pear

Snack:

Dinner:

 Veggies + stuffed fish + chutney + some wrap with rice + goat cheese/tomato tart + onion rings

Dessert:

I eat ice cream every day. I love, love, love it.

Honestly, if you want to criticize what I eat, I’m up for it because my runs have been somewhat terrible and I want to improve them for the better.

27 Responses to “First Time for Everything (WIAW)”

  1. anonymous August 24, 2011 at 9:07 AM #

    Hi. I’m an 18 year old girl… been reading your blog for months but never commented. Actually, this is the first time I’ve commented on any blog at all!

    I admire you so much for being upfront and honest. about everything. I’m looking to go to the Military Academy at West Point. I’ll be a high school senior this upcoming year… and go to West Point in the Summer (haha) of 2012. I think it’s awesome you want to be a Marine. You go girl! Military culture rocks.

    I really love these posts that cover what you eat in a day. I enjoy seeing all the food you eat to fuel your (very active) body. I’m also active, and I eat a TON. Like, 2x as much as you do. haha. I’m not overweight… but my mom always tells me I eat too much. It comforts me to see another active girl like me eating a lot to fuel up!

    Keep posting! Especially about whatya eat in a day:) perhaps? :):)

    • lifttorun August 24, 2011 at 12:30 PM #

      Definitely! Thanks so much for the comment.
      And that is awesome that you are looking at Military Academy. I would love to go there honestly.

  2. Alexandra August 24, 2011 at 9:23 AM #

    NOM NOM NOM!! This is like the best first WIAW ever, I seriously wanna eat all of this. Especially your lunch combo 😛
    PS– I’m so jealous of your name fame on the street, that kinda stuff always makes me day! Sadly, I think “Alexandra” is a tad too long for street logos haha

    • lifttorun August 24, 2011 at 10:03 AM #

      My name was on the ground. Hahaa.

  3. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 24, 2011 at 10:31 AM #

    I’m turning into an ice cream every day kind of girl and loving it 😀 I think it’s great that you’re trying to eat more to improve your runs. I definitely notice that my workouts start to suffer if I start falling short of how much I should be eating, so stick with eating more for a little while and see if it improves.

    • lifttorun August 24, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

      The thing is, I am so afraid to eat even more. It’s ridiculous.

  4. sarah August 24, 2011 at 11:07 AM #

    Just as I’d expected – I want to eat EVERYTHING you posted. I swear you post some of the yummiest things out their( helloooo cookie!) . Its been way too long since I had an onion ring.
    I don’t have any criticisms really. I just think you could get away with eating MORE, and that you worry about calories a bit much. I’m also really active and do eat quite a bit more than this, but everyone is different I guess.
    Good for you for posting this- I’d love it to be a regular thing cos seriously your food never fails at making me salivate ! I hope you start to feel better on your runs- cause you are like a stinkin awesome athlete and are going to show those marines that you are tough stuff:)

    • lifttorun August 24, 2011 at 11:16 AM #

      Thanks. I probably could eat more. At least I think so now.

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 24, 2011 at 12:57 PM #

    Do you normally run in the morning? I literally have about a 20 second pace difference when running in the morning vs afternoon. IE: I can hold like 7 minute miles in the afternoon but anything under 7:15 in the morning. No.Way. I mean I only say that because you are eating enough to fuel your workouts and body and it’s not like you are eating shitty or missing an important nutrient.

    • lifttorun August 24, 2011 at 2:15 PM #

      I always run in the morning. In the afternoon I would feel wiped out.

  6. Rach @ This Italian Family August 24, 2011 at 2:08 PM #

    Happy first WIAW! 🙂 Your eats look yummy! Definitely mouth watering over those onion rings 😉

  7. jenandberries August 24, 2011 at 2:33 PM #

    Hi lovely, woop! 9.54miles?! Holymalony thats seriously an awesome run! I’m reeeally new to blogging and doing loads of slightly awkward first time commenting lol but your WIAW dinner is soo my sort of thing – onion rings are so delish! No critisizing, only I’d possibly say you could eat a little more? That naked bagal wants it’s peanut butter ;p!!!

  8. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples August 24, 2011 at 3:14 PM #

    I think you eat really well and your obviously listening to your body! This is great. Wonderful eats 🙂

  9. Claire August 24, 2011 at 5:10 PM #

    Your food looks really tasty but with your activity level, being young, and underweight, you could eat A LOT more. Your dinner and dessert look pretty good but seriously breakfast and lunch are tiny for all your amazing running! A lot of your food is low calorie, like almond milk, one egg (why just one?) , etc. You could start adding in nuts, full fat dairy, more liquid calories, oils, butter, etc. to up your intake if you are too full or having a hard time eating more. It is sad that you said you are scared to eat more, if you want to be a better runner, athlete, or in the military/marines/ etc. then you need to up your intake so your body can function right and get enough nutrition. good job working on it and realizing that you are lacking, up your intake girl, you will be even more awesome at running then you already are once you are healthy and getting enough food and fuel. Or you could go on not eating enough and harming yourself in the long run, it is up to you!

    • lifttorun August 24, 2011 at 6:32 PM #

      Thanks so much. I am going to eat like a bear if I have to just so I can run and be strong.

  10. Chels August 24, 2011 at 5:41 PM #

    I think your diet is awesome! I love the fact that you seem to get in enough cals to fuel your workouts. I too workout in the morning. I teach all day so by the end of the day I could not even imagine throwing in another workout. Good eats girl!!

  11. Tara August 24, 2011 at 7:34 PM #

    YES ICE CREAM ERRE DAY. Right here. Love it. and onion rings? i wish i had them everyday. I’ve been missing them. Don’t let negative commenters bog you down. I think you could definitely get away with eating more and shouldn’t be afraid to. Use the time that you’re not racing super competitively to experiment with that. If you realize it doesn’t work for you, then you’ll know before it becomes and issue and can make the necessary changes, and if it helps, you’ll kick even more ass when you are racing.

    • lifttorun August 24, 2011 at 10:05 PM #

      Thank you! You are the best.

  12. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 25, 2011 at 3:05 AM #

    You’re doing awesome for upping your food! I know how hard/awkward it can be. I hope it helps your running! I think you did great and if you’re listening to your body then who cares what other people think!

  13. Marissa August 25, 2011 at 8:27 AM #

    your eats look awesome 🙂 .. you make me wish I worked at a delicious grocery store haha – you’re definitely eating well for a normal active girl – its just that you are MORE than a normal active girl – you’re a friking machine haha – like you probably burn 1500-2000 calories a day with your excercise level… so add that to what a normal person should be eating and that’s what you need, just to maintain! I’d say it shouldnt be too hard – for example just have a regular vitamin water instead of vitamin water zero.. thats already 150 calories etc.

    • lifttorun August 25, 2011 at 12:18 PM #

      (: Thanks for the comment. I appreciate it.

      • Ash August 25, 2011 at 7:00 PM #

        I honestly think you burn even more than 2000. For sure. Your eats look yummy! I guess just try eating like this for a while and if you feel like your runs are better, but not your best, then increase a little more when you’re comfortable. But definitely keep up this intake! Don’t do any cutting here and there! 😉 If you keep your eating routine consistent, then your body will get hungry for those meals because it knows when food is coming. So…sometimes it’s okay not to be hungry but eat that meal/snack to fuel your training and keep your metabolism running at the level it should be.

  14. The Teenage Taste August 27, 2011 at 9:55 AM #

    All of your eats look fabulous, Christy! Glad you hear you are fuelling yourself well. You workout a lot girlie so you need that extra food! Enjoy it! 🙂

  15. Courtney August 27, 2011 at 1:14 PM #

    It’s posts like these that make me proud to be a blogger 🙂 way to go for fueling your body RIGHT! 😀 😀

  16. Sweet Cheeks August 27, 2011 at 4:35 PM #

    so you want to up your running game….hmmm, more ice cream perhaps? Haha, but honestly if you haven’t been having very good ones, my first thought is that maybe you should eat even more.

  17. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 27, 2011 at 4:42 PM #

    Honestly, I think you could eat more. You’re a young and VERY active teenage girl. Eat it dude 🙂

Leave a Reply

