Not to be Rude, but…

29 Aug

Hey, hey!

I have a confession to make or rather a confession of just my honest (possibly bitchy) opinion.

I’m secretly a guy.

Just kidding. But seriously now.

Let’s get cereal for a moment. (Ha, yeah right.)

Yesterday I was in the mood for my favorite spin class because it is taught by the best instructor ever. She does speed work, hills, intervals, and all this crazy jazz spinning stuff that I love! I sweat in the first ten minutes. Anyway, she wasn’t there. I forgot she was doing Hood to Coast. Needless to say, there was a sub.

I hate substitute spinning teachers. I have not had a good one ever. All they do is say, “Stand up. You should breathing… hard. Yeah, sit down.” It’s boring to me. I need intervals. I need to be drenched in sweat. 

So, I walked into class to see there was a sub. Immediately I was suspicious. I casually asked her if she teaches spin class regularly and she told me she teaches fifteen classes a wee so she knows what she is doing.

Okay. Maybe this will be a tough spin class.

Wrong.

If she knew what she was doing, she would have added intervals or something! All she did was make us sit and stand up. I made it for twenty minutes before leaving and I think she knew why too.

I was also suspicious of how tough the class was going to be because the woman was… wide. She wasn’t fat. I’m sure she was fit and strong, but let me just say she was bigger than Randy Jackson.

I really am not trying to be rude, but how can you trust an instructor to give you a hardcore workout when they are bigger than you? Well, let’s not see bigger than me because a lot of people are bigger than me, but you get my point.

The woman was really wide. If she teachers fifteen classes a week, shouldn’t she be a little skinnier? 

Would you trust your dentist to fix your teeth when he has messed up teeth himself?

I don’t know. It’s just my opinion. It isn’t a fluke that spin instructors, personal trainers, or Zumba teachers are on the thinner side. You don’t see no overweight personal trainer giving tips on how to do a proper squat. What are your thoughts? Regardless of her size, the class wasn’t that great so whatever. 

There. I said it. 

So, that was my Sunday. Here’s how the rest of my week looked:

August 22nd through 28th review

Monday: 9.83 miles @ 6:51 pace
Tuesday: 9.54 miles @ 6:49 pace
Wednesday: 3.53 miles @ a terrible pace + weights + elliptical
Thursday: 9.94 miles @ 7.02 pace
Friday: 3.20 miles @ an awful pace + weights + elliptical
Saturday: 14.13 miles @ ‘I’m trying’ pace
Sunday: Weights + failed spin class + elliptical

Total mileage:  50.17 miles

Thoughts: Well, running sucks. I am in the worst running funk momentarily. Usually the night before my run or even the morning of my run, I want to run. I feel good. Then I start running and I just feel so out of it. As you can see, I tried to push myself regardless except for Wednesday and Friday. I didn’t want to run at all. I didn’t even run today! I’m hoping that I want to run tomorrow or any time this week just because I miss it in a weird kind of way. I miss running simply because when I run, my mind goes any where it wants. 

Any suggestions on how to get out of a running funk? I’ll probably just push through it.

Congrats to all the people who ran Hood to Coast over the weekend!

I ate a cookie in your honor (and I cheered for some of you at Hawthrone Bridge when I was driving home).

Holla at everyone else!

Kick some ass this week doing whatever you do best.

“Act like a horse. Be dumb. Just run.” – Jumbo Elliott

35 Responses to “Not to be Rude, but…”

  1. Diana August 29, 2011 at 12:56 PM #

    I LOVE how honest you are – because really, we all think that (at least I do)… One question – do you have any idea how many miles you cover during a spin class? I’ve never done one, but after cycling with my dad yesterday, I’m thinking that it might be a better workout than I thought…

    Getting out of a running funk? No idea. Like you, I’d probably push through it. Maybe try a few new routes, or change up the time of day you run? Hope you work it out quickly!

    • lifttorun August 29, 2011 at 12:58 PM #

      Spin class is a super good workout if you give it your all (and have an awesome teacher). I know you can probably cover like 15-20 miles depending on the class length and your cadence.

      • Diana August 29, 2011 at 1:08 PM #

        Awesome, thanks! I did 21 miles yesterday, with a whole bunch of massive hills (Pacific Northwest FTW…) so that sounds like the perfect cross-training workout.

      • lifttorun August 29, 2011 at 1:20 PM #

        Totally is!

  2. Victoria (District Chocoholic) August 29, 2011 at 12:58 PM #

    Her size says very little about how fit she is, especially since you noted that she wasn’t “fat” (obese/whatever). I train 12-15 hours a week, can SWIM a 10k workout and then lift later that day, and can bench my own weight (150+ lbs). But I’m also “big” or whatever.

    Next time, perhaps reserve judgement and you just might get a good workout.

    • lifttorun August 29, 2011 at 1:20 PM #

      Regardless of her size, the class sucked.

      • Victoria (District Chocoholic) August 29, 2011 at 1:42 PM #

        So then why mention her size at all?

      • lifttorun August 29, 2011 at 5:31 PM #

        Because it crossed my mind and perhaps it had something to do with why the class sucked.

      • Victoria (District Chocoholic) August 30, 2011 at 5:43 AM #

        Can you explain what the correlation is between the instructor’s size and why the class sucked? Do you know she doesn’t have PCOS or hypothyroidism? Good grief, for all you know, she just had CANCER and is recovering from chemo, which can cause weight gain.

        Practice empathy and not being judgmental. It will take you far in life.

      • lifttorun August 30, 2011 at 7:42 AM #

        It was just a thought. I realty doubt she just had experienced cancer. Gosh. I was stating my honest opinion. I wasn’t being a jerk about it either. It was just an observation. Never did I relate the two.

      • Victoria (District Chocoholic) August 30, 2011 at 9:49 AM #

        Um, above you said “perhaps it had something to do with why the class sucked.”

        Make up your mind.

      • lifttorun August 30, 2011 at 5:12 PM #

        I don’t have to make up anything. I only said perhaps because I obviously don’t know why the class wasn’t that great. Was it because she was really big or was she just not that into spinning like she is her other classes? I don’t know. It was just my opinion and a rather general one that I stated. So what.

  3. BrocStar August 29, 2011 at 1:11 PM #

    My mom lost 150 pounds but was still around 200 lb when she became a certified personal trainer. She had the knowledge and the experience to do what she did, and she trained other women who were obese or had a lot of weight to lose. She made them feel more comfortable. It’s hard for a lot of women who are on the bigger side to be able to connect with a teeny weeny trainer… I think it really helped them.

    • lifttorun August 29, 2011 at 1:21 PM #

      That’s very true. Congrats to your mom. That’s a huge accomplishment.

  4. jenandberries August 29, 2011 at 1:21 PM #

    My dentist’s teeth are a mess lol but he does a good job. Sorry to hear the class wasn’t as good as usual, I hate it when there’s a different instructor. Gah thats a difficult one to judge if I’m honest. Maybe her technique wasn’t very good but I also see your point as much as I hate to admit it. Running not very good!!?? Your mileage coverage is fab, I’m applauding you anyway!

  5. Alexandra August 29, 2011 at 1:23 PM #

    Sorry to hear about the class, that’s a bummer, hope your regular instructor comes back soon! And for the record, I LOVE that quote about running man, it’s totally going on my fridge.
    PS–I want that little cookie dude, he looks delicioussss 😀

  6. runningperspective August 29, 2011 at 1:25 PM #

    um TOTALLY AGREE about the whole trainer thing…like when im like following you…you have to be in good shape so that like basically if your ripped you INSPIRE me to keep pushing it….if lets say you are on the opposite side of ripped…im like…ugh so wait why am i looking up to you? mean? idk but its the truth
    and GIRL YOUR MILEAGE IS SIMPLY AMAZING so sorry about the funk but knowing you..you will be out of it in no time at all!

  7. hippierunner August 29, 2011 at 1:28 PM #

    I think I agree that if she had a kickbutt body, it would’ve been better. Only because when I do say a Jillian Michaels DVD I think, look at her, she knows what she’s doing and is motivated to do it.. Like, I wonder how much that instructor really could’ve pushed it.

  8. movesnmunchies August 29, 2011 at 1:32 PM #

    yea i would! i mean everyone is made differently! you can still be fit and look ‘bigger’ tan your average fitness instructor! its all about the endurance and health INSIDe!

  9. Colline August 29, 2011 at 1:36 PM #

    Maybe, just maybe, she was a recently graduated instructor still finding her fit body, and a class that works well. (Even a novice teacher of a few months could be teaching many classes).

  10. allieksmith August 29, 2011 at 2:26 PM #

    Hmm interesting! Idk what to say because I have had classes with large instructors and small instructors but I haven’t been to a fitness class in a while so yeah.

  11. Courtney August 29, 2011 at 3:15 PM #

    This is a very honest post… props to you for saying your opinions because this IS YOUR BLOG and you shouldn’t feel bad about saying what you want. Maybe she teaches 15 spin classes a week to EXTREME beginners ://

  12. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples August 29, 2011 at 3:40 PM #

    Good on ya for being honest!
    I’m always impressed with your mileage and workouts 🙂
    I hope you get out of your running funk, don’t despair we all have those moments!

  13. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 29, 2011 at 5:03 PM #

    Oh I agree. 100%. You aren’t going to trust a makeup artist who has whackass makeup to begin with. I’m not saying the person needs to be in shape, 100% buff or whatever but she should at least appear fit.

  14. Tara August 29, 2011 at 6:34 PM #

    I can totally understand what you are saying. I don’t think they have to be more fit than I am necessarily, but I would hope that my fitness instructor / trainer / whatever practices what they preach, especially if they’re doing the class at the same time, ya know? If you can’t handle giving me a hard workout, then maybe I should teach the class. It might be different with a trainer where they’re just giving you the workout and monitoring form and stuff, but at my spin classes the teacher is totally engaged so I feel like they need to be fit.

  15. Katie August 29, 2011 at 8:48 PM #

    Since we all have the right to be honest here… I thought it was really judgemental of you to assume that about the spin instructor just based on her size. Especially if she was only “larger”, not “fatter”, per se. People are all built differently; different shapes and sizes and heights. And guess what? That’s okay! That’s how we were made and no one should feel inferior because of their body size. We can’t all be super skinny and run a billion miles a week.
    By the way, weight does not nessessarily have ANYTHING to do with actual fitness. There’s a gal at my gym who’s a little heavier than the typical “athletics” type, and yet she can lift and swim like no other. She even runs too! It really is what’s on the inside that counts.

  16. Marissa August 30, 2011 at 5:21 AM #

    I guess I can’t really give an opinion on the matter because I don’t generally do “fitness classes” – i’ve actually never tried spin but I really want to – I’m always scared I’ll look like an idiot because I don’t know how to set up the bike or anything.. how did you start?

    • lifttorun August 30, 2011 at 7:39 AM #

      I just go in the class and if I am unsure about anything, I ask. There is nothing to be afraid of.

  17. Christie August 30, 2011 at 6:00 AM #

    For being in a funk you have some awesome mileage!! Hoping it will disappear for you asap!

  18. runningonapples August 30, 2011 at 2:52 PM #

    Love the honesty. Laughed the whole time reading…

  19. myhighonlife August 30, 2011 at 5:29 PM #

    Just ran into your blog… I am in a HUGE running funk too. It’s killling me. I signed up for another half marathon thinking that’d get the gears moving–no such luck. I am at a loss for what to do so I’ve been doing intervals and walking. Hopefully we snap out of it soon–your pace is still rockin’ for being in a funk =)

  20. Ashley August 30, 2011 at 11:27 PM #

    haha you are too cute!! Those pics are so funny 🙂 But I know whatcha mean, I bust it to get to a certain spinning class becuase i love THE INSTRUCTOR!! I dont get up at 8 am on a saturday for some sub!! But your running times are awesome!! I did 4 miles in 40 minutes and I thought I was a champ!!!

    • Ashley August 30, 2011 at 11:42 PM #

      wow I just read through some of the other peeps responses…I guess this is a touchy subject. Honestly it crosses my mind too at the gym. Almost all the trainers are physically fit (and yes,some are bigger) but one trainer who was helping me with my weights was wayyy too thin, yet homegirl could lift more than me!! The way Ive learned to look at it is just because someone is not at perfect weight doesnt mean they arent in good shape 🙂

  21. Ash September 2, 2011 at 11:06 AM #

    My two favorite spin teachers at my gym are actually not that lean or “fit” looking (well, their legs look really strong of course, lol). They’re not obese, but they do have a high percentage of body fat. Both of their classes are TOUGH (especially the second one. I swear she makes me want to cry lol). Granted, the second teacher doesn’t actually DO the class with us for the majority of the time, but she’s always participating in races (makes me wonder how even faster she’d be if she got leaner). She just REALLY pushes/motivates you verbally. I guess you don’t have to LOOK fit necessarily to know how to BE fit or teach. It’s all about the instructions you give, really.

    They may exercise like a beast, but they probably just choose not to watch they eat.

    Anyhow, I’m sorry your sub was less than stellar and that the class sucked. =(

Leave a Reply

