TGIW

31 Aug

Ello, mates!

Is anyone else’s wordpress reader not working? Mine isn’t showing any blogs. Boo. 

You know how some people cannot run unless there are headphones in their ear blasting Kesha or Rage Against the Machine?

I am not one of the people.

Due to my running funk, I decided to run hills with some music hoping that would motivate me to blast off.

Yeah, I got a headache.

Apparently, Pink and I don’t mix while running. No offense, Pink. I love ya, girl.

However, if I’m just chilling on the elliptical or pumping some iron, I need music. Otherwise, I get bored insanely fast. Just like in spin class. If the instructor is not up to par (cough, cough), the music better be good. If not, I’ll leave.

Currently, here’s my playlist:

I listen to a lot of comedy when I workout. I’m that weirdo who laughs out loud on the elliptical. It’s because I find The View hilarious. (Although I do love The View.)

That’s just a sample. Hopefully that give you guys some new tunes.

So, let’s get this party started again with WIAW (or Tuesday. Whateva.)

Pre-breakfast:

Breakfast:

Egg white omelette, tuna, chocolate almond milk,  banana

I haven’t been that hungry for breakfast, to be honest. I’m not hungry because I get home from work at 9:30 and eat dinner as well as a whole cake. Well, not a whole cake, but it feels like it. My food baby is then produced. 

Insert 12 mile run and cool down on the elliptical.

I decided to run my favorite running path in the hopes that it would take me out of my funk. It worked a bit. I really enjoyed my run for once. I didn’t check my pace though. It could have been definitely really slow despite the fact that I thought I was running quicker than Kara Goucher. 

Also, the weather was perfect!

In the past two weeks, the weather in the morning has been in the 80’s. I’m not use to that. Today it was rather cloudy.

I saw this driving home after my run. I was really jealous. Damn you, Hood to Coast runners. I would have given a lung to run it.

Insert five-minute shower and ten minutes of getting dressed.

Lunch:

  Greek yogurt + peanut butter + cereal + Luna bar + apple + grapes + vanilla protein powder + dates

Insert appointment with Marine recruiter.

I went to the Marine’s office today to talk with my recruiter about jobs. I decided I am going to re-take my ASVAB test to receive a higher technical score because I am interested in air traffic control. I also really like food services, but I don’t know how much I will enjoy it. I think I will, but air traffic control seems rather awesome.

Also, they moved my shipment date to November 7th. I guess I am okay with that. I need to fit in more studying time and memorization of ranks. 

My time management is alright, but I just need to prioritize my time. Reading Hunger Games and watching It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia need to go on the back burner.

Snacks:

 Sugar free oatmeal raisin cookie
Three shot Americano  

Dinner:

 Tamale x2 + zucchinni + onion rings
Goat cheese + pepper pizza x2

Dessert:

Happy Wednesday, ya’ll!

“It’s very hard in the beginning to understand that the whole idea is not to beat the other runners.  Eventually you learn that the competition is against the little voice inside you that wants to quit.” – George Sheehan

31 Responses to “TGIW”

  1. Marissa August 31, 2011 at 8:07 AM #

    I Still can’t believe you’re going to the Marines girl -that’s crazy! But truthfully I really do feel as if anyone would fit the build/mindset .. it would be you – so good luck! 🙂 — also this was kinda random and you totally dont have to listen to me but maybeeee the reason why you’re having such trouble with hunger cues/running funks etc. is because youre soso night-heavy with you’re eating. It looks like you eat pretty normal/light throughout the day and then stuff yourself to the brim at night because you’re pretty hungry due to the fact that your body is deprived – I know it’s kinda scary but maybe try to go alot heavier earlier in the day .. and then you’ll find that by night time you’re not ravenous and feeling like you need to eat a cow and a half? idk! just a thought 🙂

    • lifttorun August 31, 2011 at 8:10 AM #

      I am never hungry during breakfast and lunch in the first place. I just roll with how hungry I am and that usually happens at night. I could definitely give your suggestion a try though.

  2. movesnmunchies August 31, 2011 at 8:21 AM #

    girll why are you taking CLA?/ you definitely do not need that- i know you know that too

    • lifttorun August 31, 2011 at 12:30 PM #

      My mom takes it and sometimes I accidentally take it while taking my vitamins in the morning.

      • movesnmunchies August 31, 2011 at 1:25 PM #

        okay just know that those really arent appropriate for you! know matter what any other voice may tell you!

  3. KatsHealthCorner August 31, 2011 at 9:11 AM #

    Oh gosh, your lunch is making me so hungry! Iawish I had some yogurt! My grocery store stopped carrying my plain soy yogurt and I’m really sad! I miss it so much! I love what you threw in there to make it! It sounds so good! Do you prefer Luna bars or Larabars? I haven’t had a Luna bar, but I’ve heard their pretty good! 🙂

    • lifttorun August 31, 2011 at 12:31 PM #

      I totally prefer Luna bars. I eat Larabars sometimes, but I love Luna.

  4. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 31, 2011 at 9:12 AM #

    Love the quote that you ended with. I definitely agree that my biggest opponent is the voice in my head that tells me that I can’t do something. Pushing through physical discomfort during training is one thing, but battling that voice is completely something else. I imagine that it’s something you excel at, though, which is why I think you’re gonna do awesome in the Marines.

  5. healthninja August 31, 2011 at 10:29 AM #

    what a wednesday! your lunch looks like a lot of fun 😉 I love to mash up thinks in a bowl and create new flavours.

    But I really can’t believe you are running 12 miles without music O.o*!!!! what are you doing the whole time? I would get so damn bored. I can do some speedwork without music, but more then 5K seems like torture to me. Then I really need some good songs to keep me going. How do you keep your mind busy while running?

    • lifttorun August 31, 2011 at 12:29 PM #

      I don’t really. My mind just does whatever it wants and I just think. For me, running is like a therapy or just a little talk with myself. I just think or I don’t. Sometimes I couldn’t tell you what was going on in my head while running.

      • healthninja August 31, 2011 at 1:15 PM #

        Fascinating, hmm… maybe I’ll give it a try on my longer easy runs after the 10K… would really like to run a half-marathon next year.

  6. sarah August 31, 2011 at 11:57 AM #

    Your playlist is like mine, I also like to listen to Pitbull and Katy perry.
    Totally yumtastic eats( not that I’d expect anything else from you!). Ooh, that cookie, hubba hubba.
    I’m like never hungry in the morning for the same reason as you-i much prefer to fill my tum with yummy goodies at night when I actually feel like them and will properly enjoy them- and try to embrace the food baba!
    Xxx

    • lifttorun August 31, 2011 at 12:27 PM #

      Definitely! And when I have work, I don’t like eating so quickly so I’ll just wait until I get home.

  7. Alexandra August 31, 2011 at 12:03 PM #

    Your playlist is LEGIT!! That’s my kinda tunes right there 🙂 And your eats? Oh lawwd don’t even get me started, I’m coming over to your house to have you personally make me all of these goodies, mmkay? 😀
    Air traffic control would be wicked cool. So glad your meeting with the recruitment dude went well, ahh I still can’t believe how awesome it is you’re going into the Marines!
    Happy WIAW!

  8. Diana August 31, 2011 at 1:03 PM #

    Finally, there’s someone else out there who can’t run with music either! I really enjoy just chilling out when I run, and letting my mind wander. Admittedly, music can pump you up while you’re working out, but I prefer to exercise without it… Even at the gym, on the ellipticals and such, I prefer reading.

    Nice lunch, by the way! I had basically the same thing… Yogurt + cereal = win.

  9. Allie August 31, 2011 at 1:04 PM #

    Happy WIAW 🙂

  10. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 31, 2011 at 1:06 PM #

    Nice playlist you have there… quite epic 🙂 I am going to be putting some of those songs on my list too!
    I just cannot get over that you are going into the Marines! So impressive

  11. Courtney August 31, 2011 at 2:18 PM #

    GREAT post and great quote at the end… so true! 🙂

  12. Isabelle@cheesymiteapples August 31, 2011 at 3:57 PM #

    Good luck when you re-take the ASVAB!
    I like your varied playlist 🙂

  13. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 31, 2011 at 4:23 PM #

    Good luck on the ASVAB test! I think retaking it is going to be a good idea. now that you already know what it’ll be like 🙂
    I love listening to comedy too! I thought I was the only one

  14. Sweet Cheeks August 31, 2011 at 4:26 PM #

    I’m so excited for you and your future in the marines!! I really think it will be a great fit for you.

    I love your running quotes!!! The apply to not only running but life in general…thanks for posting them!

  15. Tara August 31, 2011 at 7:00 PM #

    I am looovin’ da playlist. I don’t usually run with music either. At least not in season… occasionally for solo runs. The girls I run with run with them and it’s really annoying because they speed up and slow down with the songs.
    I can totally relate to your whole eating at night and not feeling hungry in the morning. I just naturally get hungrier at night, which I don’t mind because that’s when I’m home. It’s a hassle to try and eat when I’m out and about all day. I still try to eat a fair amount at breakfast and lunch (ie. maybe what a normal person would eat…) but once night rolls around it’s go time.

  16. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) August 31, 2011 at 7:29 PM #

    I run with music depending on my mood. We aren’t really supposed to run with music when we are in season either. I am quite the opposite actually. I don’t get hungry past a certain time at night and then I normally wake up starving. It’s a pretty bad rut to be in I guess. I’m not complaining though.

  17. Ashley September 1, 2011 at 12:32 AM #

    You are joining the marines!!?? Wow thats awesome!!! I guess I can believe it if you ran 12 miles this morning!! Im the same way with my hunger, not very hungry in the A.M. but at night im ravenous!! I keep trying to feed myself the same amount at each meal, but my tummy is not liking it one bit. I love your dessert, its looks delish 🙂

  18. enthusiasticrunner September 1, 2011 at 12:17 PM #

    WOW THE MARINES!!! That is awesome! Congrats on the 12 mile run!

  19. Katherine September 1, 2011 at 3:33 PM #

    ohhhhh pb in greek yogurt…sounds delishh.

  20. JH September 1, 2011 at 7:27 PM #

    I promise, this will be the last time I mention this, but you must rest if you want to run your best. You are most likely feeling lousy on your runs because you are running sub 7 pace for 50 miles week in and week out. Your body needs rest, it needs time to recover. Listen to your body! Trust me; I was in your shoes eight months ago and am now recovering from a stress reaction. I live in Eugene, am surrounded by runners and work with professional runners. I read a lot and I have learned a lot from experience.

    And, consider this: Humans gain endurance quickly and we feel like we can run forever, 50 miles a week, then 55, then 60 etc. Our musculoskeletal system, however, needs much more time to build up strength. If you run too much too soon too fast, your bones will suffer…stress reaction/stress fracture, etc.

    If you can somehow zoom in to read this article here, on page 24, I highly recommend it:
    http://runningtimes.coverleaf.com/runningtimes/201109/?pg=26#pg26

    Rest days will not hurt you, nor will slow days; they will only make you stronger.

    • lifttorun September 1, 2011 at 9:41 PM #

      Thanks for the comment. I have been reducing my mileage.

    • lifttorun September 2, 2011 at 12:42 PM #

      And I just read the article. It was really informative. Thanks for that.

      • JH September 3, 2011 at 8:57 PM #

        Rad. And, good! You will feel much better when you are a little rested. It just makes sense to have some reason days so you can GO REALLY HARD on the hard days. 🙂 Keep at it, girl!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How Low Can You Go? « lifttorun - September 4, 2011

    […] My second WIAW. […]

Leave a Reply

