Recovery Running

2 Sep

You know what I love?

Cold donuts.

I kept two donuts from work the other day in the fridge until I left and they were delicious.

Warm temperature donuts are blahhh compared to cold ones.

Go ahead. Call me a snob.

You know what else I love?

The fact that Miley Cyrus shops at Trader Joe’s.

Miley does not tell a lie.

Anyway, what’s going on, buddies?

I have a day off from work so I’m totally splurging on the computer and studying my little ass off for the re-take of my ASVAB test. I need to learn my commands and ranks too. Gosh.

This old guy at my gym told me I am going to make a special Marine. I’m not sure what special he was talking about, but I’ll take it! Any compliment is a good compliment, right?

Also, this week I have definitely scaled back on running. Dur, Christy. Running four weeks straight of 50 miles is a little tough even though you don’t feel it until now.

It’s not that I’m sore, but if I am literally dragging myself through runs and can barely make it thirty minutes without dying first, then I need to taper down. I spent some time on the elliptical this week instead. I still sweat like a teenage boy so it’s all good. My face shows it.

I think for any runner, it is very difficult to slow down on runs or even run fewer miles. You look at your Garmin and see a seven-minute mile or whatever the number is, and it really messes with your head. You think you’re out of shape or losing your game, but that is not the case. It’s just a slow recovery run that we do need.

 It’s always difficult for me to see seven minute miles on a run or to only run thirty minutes. I think I need to go, go, go in order to be the best or the fastest. Well, that obviously isn’t helping currently because all my runs in the past two weeks are deteriorating. I am running slower because I just can’t go any faster and then I just don’t want to run. It’s a never-ending cycle, but I need to accept the fact that I need to reduce my mileage and allow some recovery time in order to improve. No one gets faster by running five-minute miles every day. I wish I could run that just once.

I need to scale back on running anyway.

I have the Warrior Dash next week!

Oh my god. I’m so excited. 

The race starts with mud right off the bat then from there it’s climbing and crazy obstacles. The last bit includes water. Man oh man. After reading about it in this issue’s Runners World, I am pumped up.

Who doesn’t want to jump through fire and get extremely dirty? You gotta be crazy.

I think I know what I’m going to wear though.

Some old shoes, shorts I don’t care about, and a sports bra. 

It’s says “MAN UP”.

And my stomach says, “I eat too many donuts.”

Has anyone else done the Warrior Dash or a race similar to it?

Well, well, well. It’s the time again. Time for honorable eats:

Baked falafel + spicy egg whites
Tofu
 Fish + sweet potato fries
Carrot cake 

Happy September!

12 Responses to “Recovery Running”

  1. movesnmunchies September 2, 2011 at 2:18 PM #

    your sports bra is so cool! i love it!.. and i lovee that tofu!

  2. Julia September 2, 2011 at 2:51 PM #

    I loveeee your pics! You’re so right on about the cold donut thing. Cold ones are sooooo much better

  3. healthninja September 2, 2011 at 2:58 PM #

    sounds like hardcore fun 😀 hope you have some pictures to share afterwards. go get them!

  4. Diana September 2, 2011 at 3:30 PM #

    Cold chocolate is better too 🙂 Good luck with the Warrior Dash – I can’t wait to hear about it. You’re going to absolutely destroy it!

    As far as your running, good for you on scaling back. I run 50+ mile weeks, and I’d find it hard to cut back. That said, I’m a lot slower than you are (umm, I’d take 7 minute miles any day – that’s a minute faster than my long run pace), so it’s probably a lot easier on my body than if I were as speedy as you.

    • lifttorun September 2, 2011 at 3:56 PM #

      You can only run 50+ miles a week for so long before your body wants to slow down or run less.

  5. Alexandra September 2, 2011 at 4:51 PM #

    Man o man I can’t wait to hear about that warrior dash! It sounds freaking epic 😀 And that sports bra? Saweet!
    Hope your weekend rocks chica!

  6. hippierunner September 2, 2011 at 5:35 PM #

    Oooh tofu. I think I might be doing a run similar to the one you’re doing. it’s a mud run w an obstacle course. My mom’s doing it and I think she wants me to also. Hope you have fun!! 🙂

  7. Amanda @ Running with Spoons September 2, 2011 at 6:05 PM #

    Haha I can’t call you a snob because I’m really particular about how I eat my foods as well. Cold food DOES taste better. How about frozen donuts? Maybe that’d kick it up another couple of notches.

  8. sarah September 2, 2011 at 6:17 PM #

    When I was at school ‘special’ was just another word for retarded-ha, I’m just kidding, that man at the gym obviously didn’t mean that at all! You are going to be an aaaaaaweeeesome marine:)
    Its so good you have realised your body needs a scaling back on your running- sustaining a 7( sometimes faster!) min mile for any distance is unfathomable to me – you are a rockstar. You are going to kill that race, which sounds scary to me BTW.
    Yum yum yuhum to your eats- that tofu especially looks perfect.
    Xxx

  9. Tara September 2, 2011 at 6:44 PM #

    Cold donuts are happening. I’m buying some next time I go to wegmans. Heck… maybe i’ll freeze one since that’s how I roll. I also struggle with slowing down.. though I wish I could say I was slowing down to 7 minute miles!! I’ve gotten a lot better with it now that I have a team and I feel like I should be running with them, but it’s also an internal battle of if I’m making myself worse by slowing down… it’s a struggle, and I’m hoping everything works..

    by the way, sometimes I study on the elliptical or bike. You have to go a little slower, but I find that exercising and studying at the same time helps me remember things better. I forego running during finals so that I can hit the elliptical for longer and therefore study!

  10. Ashley September 2, 2011 at 10:27 PM #

    Cold donuts??I guess Ill have to try it before i knock it. I love oikos! Its my absolute favorite type of yogut!! Oh AND sweet tater fries!!! Wow your eats look yummy!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How Low Can You Go? « lifttorun - September 4, 2011

    […] Recovery Running. […]

Leave a Reply

