Sal-ads

3 Sep

Last night I had a rather amazing dinner.

I got a falafel burger and a side salad from New Seasons Market.

So good.

If you haven’t noticed, I normally don’t eat salads unless they are an appetizer or a side.

Never do I eat a salad as a meal and think, “Gee whiz. That was great. I’m so full.”

Never do I think that I need to eat a salad every day.

I see a lot of bloggers say, “I need to eat a salad every day. I need it. I. Need. It.”

They don’t get that aggressive, but they get pretty darn close.

 “‘Salad and tea.’ But where are the Krabby Patties?”

Of course I like salads if they are made correctly. I don’t love salads. They can be good tasting with the right dressing and toppings, but they are not incredible that I need one every single day.

A lot of bloggers defend their eating of salads by saying, “Here’s my lunch. A  salad in a popcorn bowl! It’s so big, you guys. Oh my god.”

Wow. So putting a salad in a kiddie pool instead of a regular bowl adds what… 20 calories? Good for you.

I just don’t think salads are meals. I also think many bloggers are huge liars that think their mountain-sized salad fills them and that it was just so delicious that they are going to eat it again tomorrow. “Just lifted some weights. Going to eat some kale and fat-free Trader Joe’s dressing!”

If you’re a bird, go ahead. Be my guest. Just stop fooling yourself into thinking that just because you make a salad in gigantic container, does not mean you are healthy and eating a satisfying meal.

It just grinds my gears, folks. Salads are not meals unless you are at California Pizza Kitchen where their salads are, like, 900 calories.

In addition, you know, you never hear guys saying, “Man, I just really need a salad today.” If they have a salad, it’s next to a huge bowl of pasta.

Okay, okay. That’s enough of my bitching. I’ll bitch about running instead.

So, Saturday’s are normally my long run days where I run for over an hour and a half without music. I really enjoy my long runs.

However, since I decided to scale back on running this week and next, I cut my long run. I wasn’t feeling it this morning really. My butt was hella sore from yesterday’s workout anyway so I went to spin class. Hello, fit male instructor. How you doin’?

This spin class was all about the hills. I swear we were standing for most of the class and my butt was screaming at me. Seriously.

I was planning to do a long trail run today, but if I want, I’ll just do it next week some time. Now I just need to study for my ASVAB test before work.

By the way, I just bought this awesome Groupon for acupuncture and a massage. The Groupon includes a 45-minute acupuncture session, Therapeutic TDP-lamp heat treatment, and a 15-minute Chinese medical massage. It cost me forty-nine bucks. I’m a little broke now. The radiator on my car broke so I was out $300 then I bought another pair of shoes and Running Times magazine for five bucks. It’s only like a trial issue or something, but it was five dollars and I thought it was worth it.

Enjoy your Saturday! Go eat a salad.

Or eat a peanut butter packet that’s been in your purse for a month. Whatever floats your boat.

“If you have a bad run, don’t obsess about it.  You’re always going to have days when your legs feel dead.” -Heather Hanscom

17 Responses to “Sal-ads”

  1. Courtney September 3, 2011 at 2:59 PM #

    Oh, I totally agree with you about the salad thing! Hah, whenever I get a salad for lunch (I only like the ones from this little cafe near my house… it has goat cheese and walnuts and cranberries yummm) I usually end up eating more when I get home, haha! Lettuce isn’t filling. Never will be.

  2. Tara September 3, 2011 at 3:06 PM #

    I’m not gonna lie – I really do love salads. I was raised on them though. Despite my family’s primarily unhealthy habits, we are all salad fiends. I personally hate the dinky little side salads because you can’t eat them as a meal. I like my salad to be like 75% toppings and 25% lettuce.. because lettuce is air. Sorry if you don’t agree, but I really do like them. I feel the way you do about green monsters though. Most of the bloggers that drink the green smoothies eat copious amounts of salads as well. I like to chew my greens, so I do that. I don’t need to drink them too.

    • lifttorun September 3, 2011 at 5:34 PM #

      As long as you eat a salad with good toppings, I have no problem with them.

  3. hippierunner September 3, 2011 at 3:30 PM #

    I LOVE that you keep it real.

  4. Sweet Cheeks September 3, 2011 at 3:32 PM #

    I definitely wont get full or satisfied by eating a bowl of spinach leaves, that’s for sure. But I do like it as component for a meal. My salads are always exxxxtra loaded up with toppings…plus other things along with it to make a complete meal. I definitely agree with your thinking!

  5. Alexandra September 3, 2011 at 6:05 PM #

    Holy crap I love this post!!! I agree so freakin much, salads NEVER fill me. If I’m cravin a salad beast, it is loaded to the brim with meat haha 😉 I get oober frustrated when people eat like a crouton and a spinach leaf and call it a meal…I mean really people?! Crazy. Just plain crazy.

  6. VanessaG September 3, 2011 at 6:25 PM #

    I love that you speak your mind and are true to yourself. You don’t let other bloggers influence you. But, I LOVE salads!! I’m not talking those little side salads. I love huge salads. They do fill me up. I wish I did eat them everyday. But, I have to admit seeing all these blloggers eat hardly anything makes me think “wow!” you eat like a bird. How do you exercise? So, I get your point. P.S. You are going to rock your next race!!

  7. Ashley September 3, 2011 at 7:22 PM #

    I really do love salads and could eat them everyday, but like you said only if they are made right!! Must include at least 2 types of lettuce, PROTEIN, cheese, alot of veggies, OLIVES, and oil/vinegar dressing!! None of that just lettuce and fat free dressing…eww!!

  8. healthninja September 3, 2011 at 11:45 PM #

    haha, had to smile about your salad post, so I guess you would suppose that a green bowl of salad is not enough to keep you going for a long run 😉
    though I think salads are good for you if you use don’t use the usual iceberg lettuce but a more vitamine rich source our even spinach, add a lot of fresh veggies of choice and build a meal AROUND it. So the salad might be the main course, but if you have it with some slices of good whole wheat bread and topped with some bakes tofu and good oil, it can make an amazing dish.

    but blah, anyways, it starts getting cold over here in germany, so my salad season is over anyway. I am more of a soup person now 😉

  9. sarah September 4, 2011 at 5:23 AM #

    I enjoy your bitchin:)
    I like salads as much as the next guy, but leaves are not that amazing- certainly not as a proper meal! I like my salads with a side of sandwich( or any other carby, proteiny typa thing).
    I love reading blogs so much- but 1 thing that does bug me is the amount of bloggers who eat like nothing- and then get all worked up about ‘indulging’ in 1/2 a slice of cake one time( uh, get a grip).
    Sorry I’m starting to have a bitch fest in your comments, so ill stop.
    Glad you had a challenging spin class. You definitly seem to like this instructor better than the last one you talked about;)
    Xxx

  10. Julia September 4, 2011 at 9:29 AM #

    haha I guess it’s all about the toppings if you have salads for meals. I usually eat them as just a snack or a mini meal

  11. pbbrittany September 4, 2011 at 2:29 PM #

    Eh- salads are okay. I like them if I have a TON of vegtables in them, with tuna/chicken, chickpeas and cheese added to them to actually fill me up. But, I agree with you, I HATE those stupid little side salads you get in restaurants that have a slice of an onion, and a slice of a tomato…I’m like “really?? You call THIS a salad?” I like my meat. I like my protein.
    Salads aren’t satisfying. nope. not at all.

  12. Kristy September 4, 2011 at 6:08 PM #

    I definitely can’t eat a bowl full of veggies and call it a meal, but I really do enjoy a good “meal” salad once or twice a week. For me, though, in order for a salad go be yummy and filling, it needs to have dressing–real dressing, protein (tofu or a chop’t up veggie burger), a crunchy topping, and sometimes goat cheese is also necessary. Yum!

  13. KatsHealthCorner September 4, 2011 at 6:53 PM #

    Hehe, I would eat the Nut Butter. 😉

  14. Cecily @ rerunrunning.com September 7, 2011 at 12:50 PM #

    My legs were definitely DEAD on my run today. I didn’t like it. But, hoping tomorrow, the next day, the next week is better.

    I agree with you about salads. For about the past 2 years they didn’t ever really even sound good to me, simply because rarely are they filling. And it’s just like a vehicle for veggies I like. And hopefully good dressing, which I can just do without if I need too. Only recently have they started to sound good again. And now that I live in the Caribbean, ANY food that is eaten cold now sounds great. So, salads are back on my good list. Mostly because I sweat eating oatmeal here. Sad, but true.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How Low Can You Go? « lifttorun - September 4, 2011

    […] My view on salads. […]

  2. My Life Is Full Of Butterflies! « KatsHealthCorner - September 4, 2011

    […] Lift To Run […]

Leave a Reply

