How Low Can You Go?

4 Sep

I’m throwing you guys for a loop here.

You ready?

I only ran three days this week. Oh my god. Someone call the loony bin because I went off the  deep end.

Or maybe not.

I’ve been in a bit of a running funk lately. All my runs suck. I feel slow and, yeah, I was slow for my own terms. I was running seven minute miles or more (less?) and I barely wanted to run farther than a mile.

I obviously needed a break from running since I have been running 50+ mile weeks for a month. My mind wanted to continue, but my body didn’t. Then my mind started to concur with my body.

So, I ran three times this week. I’ll probably run about the same next week too and I’ll see where I should go from there. Also, my big toe area has been feeling odd. I don’t know. I have too many problems.

Active rest is so important. I was feeling sluggish and I thought it was just me. It wasn’t my body, I thought. I believed I was just a huge failure. Then, I read this article. “With all this talk about running, it’s easy to forget about weight training and core work. Summer is a great time to gain strength and work on weaknesses. Even if you can’t get to a gym or weight room, there are plenty of exercises that can be done at home—chair dips, push-ups, stair step-ups, squat jumps, etc. Pair two leg or arm exercises with two ab exercises and do three sets of each. Or choose six exercises and do two circuits of everything. “

I still weight trained three times this week, but I just added in the elliptical, a strength class, and  spin class.

It’s funny how not running as much caused my appetite to spike. I feel so hungry all the time now. It could be the weight lifting though. I have been adding more weights and the next day I feel it.

So enough blah blah blah. Here’s my week in review:

August 29th through September 4th

Monday: Hour elliptical + 45 minute RIPPED class (strength training, plyo, and abs)
Tuesday: 12.25 mile run @ 6:59 pace (fastest pace – 6:36)
Wednesday: 7.78 miles @  6.59 pace (fastest pace – 6.40) + Weights

Thursday: Approximately 9.60 miles @ 6.51 pace (I forgot to start my Garmin at one point.)
Friday:  Elliptical + weights

Saturday: Spin class + elliptical
Sunday: Weights + spin class

Total mileage: Approximately 29.

Yeah, that’s a huge difference from fifty. It almost frightens me.

I plan on running tomorrow and I hope it goes well.

Honorable eats:

Peppermint cake
Salmon cakes and Indian rice
Oat bran muffin + custard
Tofu + tamale
Peanut butter cheesecake

In case you missed it:

“If you train your mind for running, everything else will be easy.”
                                  –Amby Burfoot 

19 Responses to “How Low Can You Go?”

  1. Diana September 4, 2011 at 9:40 PM #

    You. Are. Awesome! I might have to follow your lead – it would be interesting to see how my body reacted to a lower mileage. I’m a bit afraid at this point, but it’d probably be a good thing to slow down, at least for a week or two… Keep us updated on how it’s working for you (it sounds like a success so far!).

    And peppermint cake? I’ve never heard of that. Looks tasty! (So does the cheesecake… You’re making me hungry!)

  2. runningperspective September 4, 2011 at 9:46 PM #

    girl i totally get listening to your body…honestly even though you are running less your workouts are insanely hard core and i know that you are prob working on so many different muscles that have not been focused on before!
    but i hope you get your running groove backk!<3

  3. Alexandra September 5, 2011 at 4:30 AM #

    Sorry to hear about the running funk, but dang girl you’re knocking out some wicked sweet alternative routines! Who knows, maybe this break from running will make you stronger in the long run! (wow I just realized that was a horrible pun haha)
    Have a great labor day!

  4. sarah September 5, 2011 at 5:51 AM #

    You are amazing. Asking yourself to run 50m a week at your crazy-ass FAST pace is setting SUCH high expectations. It can be hard to remember that running is not the be all and end all of fitness, working out etc, and you had 3 QUALITY runs( quality over quantity!). I think running motivation ebbs and flows , and its best to just go with what makes you happiest(:
    Iv been really getting in into lifting lately and you motivate me- I will difinitely be nabbing these workouts- THANKS!
    Oh lordy! Your eats=YUM. That cheesecake, the tofu and I neeeed a muffin with a side of custard.
    Xxx

  5. Christie September 5, 2011 at 6:06 AM #

    Even though you are having a hard time on the running front… I think you are KILLING IT! The runs you do, do are quality and FAST. Plus you are throwing in some amazing cross training. Last night I was watching the brutal training for the Navy Seals (I know this is a little different than what you are going to be doing) and it made me think of you — 🙂

  6. AntosDoesLife September 5, 2011 at 6:07 AM #

    I love your weight lifting workouts! I was looking for the blog about the book you reviewed, something like “the women’s new guide to lifting” but I couldn’t find it. Do you do total body three times a week or total body once and then legs and upper body the other two days?

    • lifttorun September 5, 2011 at 8:04 AM #

      I do full body once a week (or more if I feel like it) then on Friday I do legs while on Sunday I do upper body.

  7. jenandberries September 5, 2011 at 3:40 PM #

    That..is still..a lotta exercise!! Whoa awesom stuff girly you are a powerhouse! Yes yes yes for active rest! ooh that rhymes kinda. (i’m a dork). But seriously, reducing your runs if you ain’t feeling it is a very healthy step. Don’t be afraid to take a week off, it will do you a world of good and I bet you’ll be wanting to run far more the week after and get out of that funk! All your food looks amazing! I so want those salmon cakes tight now hehe. take care!

  8. Claire September 5, 2011 at 4:42 PM #

    Holy cow, that is still a TON of exercise… for some people running decreases their appetite, but they still need to a eat a lot even so. Hopefully this is showing you that your body is screaming for more food, better fueling, and that you aren’t getting enough and that if you start doing a better job nourishing yourself properly I am sure your runs will be even better! Also, have you thought about a rest day, seriously working out THAT much every single day, you will burn out for sure. Although rest days may be hard at first I can almost promise you that you will get even better good quality workouts and your running will get even better if you rest your body instead of constantly breaking it down like you are without enough nourishment and time to rest to build it back up stronger!

    • lifttorun September 5, 2011 at 5:33 PM #

      I rest when I feel like I need it. I do have them. Just not every single week. I take them a few times a month.

  9. Tara September 5, 2011 at 5:57 PM #

    Sometimes you just need a break. I totally feel ya. It happens… running funks suck big time. But you’re probably making huge gains in the gym which is awesome. After XC and track season I always just want to hit the gym and lift heavy because I get a lot more out of it when I’m not putting so much effort into running. It’s a pendulum. It’s nice when it can be in the middle, but more often than not I prefer one over the other.

    btwwww ignore the haters. I know you already do, but I guess by saying that I’m supporting your ignorance of the people who probably heckle you about rest and calories and what not. You know yourself best.

  10. Kelsey September 5, 2011 at 9:23 PM #

    when i take a break from running i get super hungry too, definitely think it has a lot to do with the adrenaline and stress that gets produced from high intensity cardio workouts. and if i do a lot of weight lifting, the next day i am famished i can eat the whole house… but it’s good because then i know im building super-charged muscles that are ready for fuel hehe

    xoxo ❤

  11. Ashley September 5, 2011 at 10:13 PM #

    My runs were getting horrible!! Over the labor day weekend I was so busy celebrating I had no time to run! So today after 2 days off, I ran the best I ever have!! So weird, but I guess my body needed rest. Plus I always run better when I want to and im not dreading it

  12. allieksmith September 6, 2011 at 4:52 PM #

    I really like your handwriting 🙂 I just had to say that lol! I think this little break from running will totally help you!

  13. Jessica @ rerunrunning September 6, 2011 at 5:51 PM #

    Oooo.. the pb cheesecake looks like it probably should come hang out with my mouth. Mmmm. Yeah, running can get old sometimes… It’s good to mix it up. Even just bumping your mileage around from week to week can make it better… nothing too drastic, like not I wouldn’t randomly add more than 10 miles especially if it’s a first for that amount, but like this: 35, 45, 50, 45, 50, 40… Throw in some races and you’ve got a little variation to break up the monotony. I gotta get lifting. I’ve been a little slacker lately. I’ll just keep visiting your blog and you keep talking about how awesome lifting is and one of these days I’ll stop being lazy and get out and do it.
    And ps… yes I get about 1,000 times hungrier than I ever do, even on my longest run days, from lifting. It’s crazy!

  14. Life After Swimming September 7, 2011 at 10:29 AM #

    I loved that swimming wasn’t year round because right when I was getting bored with it, it would end and I would start running. Then I would get sick of running and start swimming again! I just get so sick of the same old routine, and taking a rest from something definitely helps spice things up!

  15. Cecily @ rerunrunning.com September 7, 2011 at 12:52 PM #

    Dude, no wonder you’re starving still, that is some hardcore working out you’re doing! I think it’s awesome you’re listening to your mind and body and cutting out some running days. But you’re totally supplementing it with other great exercise, so that is good. Even the best relationships benefit from a little time apart. So it is with running 🙂

Leave a Reply

