Almond Butter Whey Cookies

13 Sep

I’m really not much of a baker.

I wish I was a good cook. I do enjoy it, but I loathe the mess.

Anyway, do I have a recipe for you that I actually tried! This is now a What I Made Wednesday.

Almond butter whey cookies!

They are super delicious and simple tasting as well as simple to make. I got the recipe from Oxygen Magazine and I only modified like one ingredient.

They call for:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 tbsp of almond butter
  •  1 scoop of whey protein powder (I used pea protein powder)
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 packets of NuStevia, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 cup of carob chips (I used 1/4 cup of white chocolate chips)

1. Preheat oven to 350*
2. Combine all ingredients together in a mixing bowl and mix with hands (clean, preferably)
3. Shape the dough into golf-sized balls. Place onto  cookie sheet. Bake for about ten minute and serve.

Viola! Easy as that.

The almond butter whey cookies makes 12 servings. These cookies are great for an afternoon snack that help you increase lean muscle because they are high in protein and contain moderate carbohydrates.

Nutrition facts:
Calories: 30 Fat: 1g Protein: 2g 

Enjoy!

20 Responses to “Almond Butter Whey Cookies”

  1. Alexandra September 14, 2011 at 4:22 AM #

    Holy deliciousness!! Thanks so much for sharing this, last night I spent hours online trying to find a good cookie recipe haha I’m definitely gonna be trying these. 🙂
    Happy WIAW!

  2. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 14, 2011 at 4:34 AM #

    Thank you for sharing this girl! I like that they have a bit more protein with the whey… healthier= I eat more 🙂

  3. sarah September 14, 2011 at 5:04 AM #

    I actually saw these in Oxygen and thought they looked really good- I think you have convinced me try em out:)
    Bet your a cook/ awesome baker before you know it.
    Xxx

  4. healthninja September 14, 2011 at 5:57 AM #

    sounds good! maybe I’ll try to veganize them 🙂

  5. Shannon September 14, 2011 at 6:28 AM #

    YUM! Can not wait to try these!

  6. Amanda @ Running with Spoons September 14, 2011 at 7:12 AM #

    I love to bake, but simple recipes like these are probably my favorite. Especially when they have chocolate, and will help me deal with the afternoon munchies 😀

  7. IHeartVegetables September 14, 2011 at 7:27 AM #

    Are these really only 30 calories? What am I missing here??

  8. allieksmith September 14, 2011 at 8:21 AM #

    Yum, these look GREAT! I like the white chocolate chips 😀

  9. jenandberries September 14, 2011 at 9:52 AM #

    Cheeseandrice! These are so easy to make, thanks for the recipe. They looks so good!

  10. jessiepeace September 14, 2011 at 11:15 AM #

    These look yummy.
    Jessie.

  11. Kate September 14, 2011 at 4:17 PM #

    Can’t wait to try! My kids would love these…and they wouldn’t know they’re healthy. Muhaha!

  12. Tara September 14, 2011 at 6:40 PM #

    Um yes so I am making theseeee asap. I love proteinified baked goods.

  13. GraceLynneFleming September 14, 2011 at 9:33 PM #

    these look and sound delicious!! 🙂

    -grace

    http://herumbrella.com

  14. pbbrittany September 15, 2011 at 6:07 AM #

    Oh wow…these are being made this weekend!! Thanks 😀

  15. runningperspective September 15, 2011 at 4:15 PM #

    um i am making these. now. = delicious and full of protein = heaven

  16. healthninja September 17, 2011 at 8:56 AM #

    I love your attitude towards running. Its so motivating. I just took 6 days off after my 10K and felt like I needed some rest and a break from the ‘you have to train due to your 10K’-pressure, but now its so strange to have 6 days without a single run, after 2 month of regular training, that I can’t wait to go on the treadmill tomorrow morning before my yoga class.

    Oh and don’t get me wrong. I definitely share your opininon about treadmill running. I prefer to go on and on outside (even if its just a monotonous sports ground), but its getting cold but I am feeling cold so easily and my lung hurts from cold air, so theres no real choice with winter coming close.

    • healthninja September 17, 2011 at 8:57 AM #

      sry, wrong
      this was supposed to be a comment to your “go big or go home”-post!

  17. IHeartVegetables September 24, 2011 at 4:42 PM #

    These are in my oven right now!!! I’m so excited!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW – A day in the life of XC Foodie « XC Foodie - September 20, 2011

    […] I’m lucky I don’t have a lot of homework, I might bake. Recently I made Christie’s Almond Butter Whey Cookies with a few minor changes – I used 3/4 c. of oats and added an extra egg white. I also used a […]

  2. Whey healthier | Selfvideoservi - September 23, 2011

    […] Almond Butter Whey Cookies « lifttorun […]

Leave a Reply

