Go Big or Go Home

15 Sep

No matter how long I have been running and no matter how any miles I have racked up in the past months, taking two weeks off from running was actually the hardest part.

I was burnt out. Every run was awful and I didn’t even want to run after awhile.

Then, when I reduced my mileage to about twenty miles, my foot began to hurt. Go figure. After that, I really had to stop running. I didn’t run for over a week or so and today I finally got out to run.

I ran a long time (with several breaks and I didn’t plan on it). I ran about 9.9 miles on my own at an extremely fat, ugly, slow pace. Then, I ran three miles with my dog Dean. He was pulling me at points.

Christy, why didn’t you ease your way into it? Uh, I don’t know. Because I’m stupid.

I’m a person that either goes big or goes home. I could barely run twenty minutes straight on this run without walking. Do you know how big of a kick in the teeth that is to someone who can run six-minute miles for 14 miles?

I felt like an out of shape runner. The elliptical is great for cross training and burning off cheesecake, but that’s about it. It doesn’t make you a better runner. It doesn’t guarantee that when you do begin running again, you’ll still be able to run three miles in less than 30 minutes.

Building mileage is tough. Forcing yourself to run just to hit a certain mile or to give yourself an ego boost is difficult. Not running is rough too. Well, for me at least. Some people go their whole life without running. No problem for them. For me, it’s tough. I like to run. I want to run.

Getting back into running… that’s the worst. I only took two weeks off (barely) and I wanted to die while on my run.

Running is always easier said than done. It is not an easy sport. There is always room for improvement. A few days of not running and you can be either slower or faster than the last time you ran. I was hella slow today. Building my speed up and my mileage is going to be brutal. However, I’m a strange little bird that likes it. I don’t mind sweating so much that my eyes start to burn. I don’t mind the dirt on the side of my legs. I don’t know how it got there, but it’s there. I don’t mind being out of breath to the point that I think I should stop, but I don’t. Moreover, I don’t mind pushing through that nagging voice that tells me how worthless I am because I’m not as fast as other runners (cough, Tara and Hollie).

If my foot doesn’t hurt tomorrow, I’ll run for an hour. I could do a long run on Saturday if I want to die before I’m twenty, but we’ll see how that goes.

As you can see, I am the kind of person that goes big or I won’t do it at all. I even worked out with the Marines today. It was actually a workout/circuit that got me sweaty. It was tough though. I definitely need to step up my game. 

In other news, I bought these bad boys. Or rather my mother’s credit card did.

They are Merrell Barefoot shoes. I’m going to start wearing them at work. I got red though.

Also, in other news, I got a sick souvenir from the Warrior Dash. It was worse than that, honestly. Maybe I’m just a wimp badass.

You guys are lucky. My legs were shaved for this. They were looking nasty.

So, I been meaning to do a post on acupuncture for runners, but I’m curious about what you guys want to know. Do you want know what acupuncture actually is and why it’s helpful in the first place or what? Let me know. I got another appointment coming up too. Woo.

Well, well, well. I got some honorable eats

Squash
Meatless meat + zucchini + tomatoes + goat cheese 

“I ran to be free; I ran to avoid pain; I ran to feel pain; I ran out of love and hate and anger and joy.”
                                          –DAGNY SCOTT

17 Responses to “Go Big or Go Home”

  1. Alexandra September 16, 2011 at 2:43 AM #

    I’m diggin those new kicks you bought, they look perfect for comfort during hardcore workouts. And I’m the same way, if I don’t give it my all, I figure, what’s even the point in trying? You’re an amazing runner, I think you should be so proud of all your accomplishments 🙂
    BTW I’m obsessed with that kashi pizza too, there are actually veggies on it! 😀

  2. Tara September 16, 2011 at 4:00 AM #

    Oh my god, I can so relate. Getting back into running after stopping SUCKS and it hurts like hell. But I like to push myself through that pain because it makes me feel like I’ll get back to where i am eventually. When I had to take 5 weeks off getting back sucked because I had to stop after 3 miles. You’ll get there… as long and annoying as the process is.

    oh anndddd I wish I was speedy like you. If only I could run 14 miles at 6 minute pace.

  3. Christie September 16, 2011 at 5:30 AM #

    I am exactly like this. There is no ‘gray’ area for me… black or white. A long fast run or I know I will just be mad at myself if I can only do a few miles. I guess something we just have to work on?…and PS you can include your name in the Tara and Hollie Group!

    • Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) September 16, 2011 at 5:46 AM #

      YESS! I can def relate. I feel like slow mc slow slow after taking a solid 2 months off. It’s terrible. You will be back in shape in the next two weeks and be the most awesomesauce runner again ever.

      I wish you could dive into running with no fear of injury and be at the same speed. That would be the greatest day ever.

  4. sarah September 16, 2011 at 5:42 AM #

    Oooh, I like those shoes.
    I think you are such a talented runner and definitely one fastest in bloggy land. The fact that you are able to run 6/7 min miles at all shows you have a gift, cos, umm not everyone can do that. Your being too hard on yourself , and I know( at least for me) focusing too much on numbers can kinda suck the enjoyment out of things- especially after having taking a little break.
    I’m sure you’ll get to where you want in your running:)
    All your eats look crazy good- you always give me cravings. Is that syrup I spy in the squash? Looks amazing whatever it is!
    Xxx

  5. BrocStar September 16, 2011 at 6:37 AM #

    Even a short break from running like that sucks! I had to take about 2 months off last summer after a failed attempt at actual barefoot-on-the-track running injured me. When I started again, I had many days where I literally thought I would never be a runner again because it was SO hard to build up!
    As far as acupuncture.. I don’t really go for the alternative medicine at all. I just find it hard to put my faith in. But if you think it works, I’d read about your experience!

  6. allieksmith September 16, 2011 at 7:06 AM #

    I’m just getting back into the running scene from a 2 week break and i’ve only done three runs this week: 3 miles, 4 miles, and 4. You are killin it girl! I know that total out of running shape feeling but you body must have needed the break, you know?! It’s all good.. you’ll be back to supaaaa fast running in no time, I know it!

  7. IHeartVegetables September 16, 2011 at 9:35 AM #

    Haha nice souvenir! I’m sorry you’re hurting 😦 I hope the shoes help!

  8. erica September 16, 2011 at 2:01 PM #

    i just finished a FOUR MONTH break from running (i had achilles tendonitis) and trying to run again has been sooo difdicult. i use to run 50-60 miles/week but now i can barely run 20 miles/week. /: somedays i just want to quit bc im so much slow!!!

    im sure youll feel awesome during your next run (:
    btw, what is in that squash?

    • lifttorun September 16, 2011 at 3:11 PM #

      That is brown sugar in the squash.

  9. jenandberries September 17, 2011 at 1:54 PM #

    ^ I was just about to about that squash. It looks crazy good! You are no where near worthless as a runner from what I’ve read!! Girl you’d whoop my ass every time! ;P You never forget how to run, just a few days and you’ll be better than ever, don’t sweat it! (or do in the case of the actual running!)

  10. This is my first time commenting on your blog and I just want to say it’s great – you’re hilarious, honest, and you have some great tips! I am amazed at how awesome of an athlete you are..if only I could borrow some of that for myself! haha

  11. VanessaG September 18, 2011 at 6:13 PM #

    You are sooo not out of shape. I know how hard itis not to run. It changes ny mood, my thoughts, and attitude. However, it’s good for you sometimes. You didn’t get fat, you didn’t get out of shape. It takes a month to lose fitness. My dad twisted his ankle and was out for two weeks. Then he ran the state meet!! You still have it girl and I don’t think you will ever lose it because your speed and drive come within 🙂 p.s. I love that pizza you had. I ate the whole thing when I bougt it!! 🙂

  12. Cecily @ rerunrunning.com September 18, 2011 at 6:24 PM #

    I love this post. Seriously, I understand every word, and you put it all so well.

    Sometimes the only thing that pushes me when coming back from a break or an injury, when everything sucks so bad and my body fights me so hard and makes me feel like I’ve never run a step in my life, i only push through because I remember that feeling running can give me when I finally get back to form. To the point where every run is a rush and a breeze and a challenge I can tackle, instead of one that crushes me. Sometimes we need the breaks and the butt-kicking so we can remember how to fight for that again.

    • Jessica @ rerunrunning September 18, 2011 at 6:35 PM #

      Just wanted to say, AMEN SISTER!

      And I want to hear anything about acupuncture… I guess mostly your experiences with it… has it helped? Why? How would you compare it to other forms of rehab?

  13. pbbrittany September 20, 2011 at 9:57 AM #

    this sounds like me so much! I took a week off of running a couple weeks ago and the first run I did after taking a week off (which I scheduled a long run, stupidly) and it was SO flippin HARD. I never had to stop so much in my life. Complete torture I tell you!
    I am also a person who “goes big or goes home”. I have a tendency to push myself wayyyyyy to hard than I can handle and I”m in pain for days because of it. But, what can ya do? Its how I work.

Leave a Reply

