Ramblings

20 Sep

Hi!

I’m still alive in case you were wondering. I have just been super busy with work. Boohoo. Earning money is hard time consuming.

I love my job. It isn’t even sad that I have no social life because of it. Not that I had one before so who am I kidding.

Anyway, I ran two times since we last talked.

Two times that were unbelievable slow and painful. My foot wasn’t the painful part either. It’s just painful to be that slow runner that I sometimes make fun of. I apologize, folks.

My foot is just annoying. I don’t understand what went wrong or what’s even wrong with it now, but come on. Damn, toe.

I ran on Saturday. I wanted to do my favorite run despite it being quite long. The run was 11.64 miles. I took two breaks (not counting the ones where I stopped to pet cats) and a walking break towards the end. It’s embarrassing for me to even admit that. Not the cat part, but the walking part. My average pace was, like, 7:20.

As you see, it  got slow in the end.

Then I ran again on Monday.

My pace was faster; about 7:15. I’m like 40 seconds off from my ‘normal‘ pace.

I’m really up in the air about running currently. Should I continue to run or wait it out until I’m 99.9% healed?

It’s just my second toe that is bugging me, which affects my whole foot. When I’m running, I’m just slow and I run odd. It’s not painful, but I know it’s not normal. I do I have another acupuncture appointment so perhaps that will be helpful.

You know what’s helpful?

Having this big tub of protein powder I got from this lovely lady.

It’s About Time whey protein powder that is cake batter flavor. Oh my gosh.

Dare I say I switched up my breakfast of eggs just for it.

I put some of the protein powder in my bowl of oat bran with a side of Orlando Bloom. I forgot he existed.

So, other than working and running and peeing every two seconds because I drink too much water/coffee/Vitamin Water…

I haven’t been up to much. Of course I have been making time for the Charlie Sheen Roast, Dancing With the Stars, and Two & a Half Men.

 I did do a little photo shoot the other day…

It was fall-like weather, but I wore shorts anyway. I’m a loser.

I am really one of those people who complains they are always cold just because they won’t put on a sweatshirt. True story, bro.

Anyway, I do have a WIAW coming up so I’ll stop here. Instead, enjoy drooling over my honorable eats.

    Roasted mushroom tofu sandwich
Eggs + teriyaki tofu
tiramisu
Salad w/ lots of veggies and Green Onion dressing

“Besides pride, loyalty, discipline, heart, and mind, confidence is the key to all the locks.”
 -Joe Paterno

What have you been up to lately?

19 Responses to “Ramblings”

  1. Alexandra September 20, 2011 at 3:20 PM #

    Dude your photoshoot pics are rockin, love it!! I’m totally the same way when it comes to cold weather, I like mah shorts 😀 And for the record, seriously you need to take me to these foodie places you go because your eats win the prize for most honorable EVER! 😛 I’m excited to see what’s in store for your WIAW tomorrow mwahaha

  2. runningonapples September 20, 2011 at 3:29 PM #

    That tiramusu looks bangin girl! I feel ya on the workload- it’s getting tough!

  3. Ashley September 20, 2011 at 4:20 PM #

    Super cute photos!! All your eats look so good, especially that Tiramisu 🙂 I wached DWTS last night too along with the new 2 and half men (hellooo Ashton!!) I kind of forgot about Orlando too, but I know he had a baby and think he got married??

    • lifttorun September 20, 2011 at 5:46 PM #

      Who are you liking in DWTS?

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) September 20, 2011 at 5:16 PM #

    You are alive! Wahoooo. I have been so freaking busy as well. It’s more annoying than anything else. About your foot-if you hate running I would wait until it’s healed. If you are decently enjoying running while out then I would run though the pain.

  5. allieksmith September 20, 2011 at 5:26 PM #

    I hope your foot/toe feels better soon!

  6. Christie September 20, 2011 at 6:04 PM #

    dude, my freaking foot is acting up too. second toe/top ball part of my foot. It is so damn annoying that it makes me want to punch someone in the face… mutual feeling? If you find a remedy let me know. Hope yours gets better asap.

    • lifttorun September 20, 2011 at 8:08 PM #

      Well, definitely ice your foot in a bucket of ice with Epsom salt. It helps me.

  7. sarah September 20, 2011 at 6:24 PM #

    Eek, sorry to hear about your foot- I used to get a lot of problems with my feet so I saw a podiatrist who fitted me with insoles which helped A LOT. Maybe you could see a podiatrist?
    Lovin the photoshoot, lookin purdy as usual:)
    I seriously wish you could like just provide me with all your food- everything always looks so dang good!
    Xxx

    • lifttorun September 20, 2011 at 8:09 PM #

      I wish, but my mom won’t take me to any place like that. I don’t know why.

  8. Claire September 20, 2011 at 8:36 PM #

    Have you thought about the running issues may be related to your restrictive food past and you failing to take a rest day, You push yourself hard, and hard can be great, but too hard and you get negative results which is not what your going for. You may have felt fine in the past, but things can catch up to you and you may need to think about if being super thin ad training so hard core is worth the negative future, I really hope you figure it all out. You are an awesome athlete and super fast runner, you have such admirable dedication and I can tell you are so passionate about running. I hope you make god choices 😉 and feel better soon

  9. Molly September 20, 2011 at 8:59 PM #

    Hey Ms. Christy, don’t worry about not running as fast and you want too. Before I got injured, my runs kept getting slower and I kept pushing the pace. Now, I wish I would have just taken 1-2 weeks off instead of the 2 months I’m at right now. I know that when I’m ready to run though, I will be totally fresh and ready to put my heart and soul into it! Have you gotten an x-ray of your toe yet? Take care!

    • lifttorun September 20, 2011 at 9:13 PM #

      I can’t really afford any doctor bills at this point nor can I mess up mu medical history because of the Marines.

  10. BrocStar September 20, 2011 at 9:27 PM #

    I would lay off the running. When you are injured, your form changes to compensate for that pain/ injury. Running with different form will lead to more injury… and in your case, you can already tell that you’re running weird. You will probably end up more injured if you keep trying to run.

  11. Carrie (Moves 'N Munchies) September 20, 2011 at 10:20 PM #

    yeah!! about time is delish!! did urs miz wel into the oats? mine didnt mix very well! :O

  12. Sarah September 21, 2011 at 10:31 AM #

    Hopefully the acupuncture helps your toe feel better! Foot injuries are not cool, not cool at all 😦

    GAH about time cake batter is so so good! JEALOUSSS! You should def also try muscle gauge cinnamon bun with oatmeal and blueberries, holy yes.

  13. Jessica @ rerunrunning September 21, 2011 at 3:26 PM #

    Love the vans… and the shorts in cold weather. I’m always cold, even in pants… so why not? 🙂

  14. JH September 21, 2011 at 7:05 PM #

    I hope you foot starts to feel better! Unfortunately, the only way for that to happen is to rest. I know other comments have said the same thing, but resting now for a few weeks is better than pushing yourself into a much longer healing injury. Have you ruled out a stress reaction or stress fracture? Your description sort of sounds like that might be the culprit…But, if you are like the rest of us runners, you will run yourself into the ground no matter what anyone tells you…smile:) (Ps. It is not worth it!)

  15. Cecily @ rerunrunning.com September 22, 2011 at 2:37 PM #

    Love the photo shoot! So cute. And cake batter flavor anything is so good. Sorry your run wasn’t quite what you wanted, but it’s pretty great considering the distance and the time you’ve had to take off! Keep truckin

Leave a Reply

