Enough Already

24 Sep

I have read some rather ridiculous articles this week from so-called health magazines.

Number one.

“Researchers at the University of Utah discovered that using a large fork caused hungry diners to eat about ten percent less than those who scooped up generous helpings of spaghetti, salad, and other dishes using a smaller fork.” – Shape Magazine

Really now? That’s why I must be so hungry all the time. I eat with a small fork. Better buy myself a gigantic fork now so I eat less.

Hopefully this will do.

“People who stay up after 2 AM consume about 248 calories more a day.”Fitness Magazine

Well, they are up longer still burning calories so maybe those extra calories are needed.

“Repeatedly eating late at night can throw off your body clock, which may slow your metabolism.”Fitness Magazine

Your body doesn’t know what time of day it is. People who work night shifts probably eat more at night, but does that make them fat? No. Have you ever woken up in the middle of the night – like at three AM – and were super hungry? I have. Was I like, “No, body, sorry. No food for you because it’s night and my metabolism will slow down if I eat something despite my body being hungry.” No. I actually got up and ate a Snickers bar with strawberry milk. Your body is hungry and it doesn’t know that it’s two AM.

Interview with Olivia Munn in Shape
“Do you use a scale?”
“Absolutely. I need to see hard numbers in order to stay on track.”

Who are you again? I don’t know you and you sound stupid.

“Kick up your dinner with a half teaspoon of group cayenne pepper… the spice helps raise your body temperature with boots our calorie burn.” Fitness Magazine

Hear that, family? We are having Mexican every night because mommy needs to be a size two. Who does that?

I seriously cannot stand these ‘health’ magazines any longer. Put on lipstick before eating dinner so you eat slower thus feeling fuller faster thus not eating so much? So, you’re telling me to look like a hooker just to be thin?

Not too long ago, I would read these ‘health’ magazines and follow them verbatim. I would want to look like this…

Of course, I have my days where I seriously would do anything to have a football-sized field between my thighs or to have a flat stomach. It’s way difficult for me to admit that; especially on here where I may come across as someone who is pleased with their body, the muscles that I have gained, and the races I have competed.

Β Before Warrior Dash

I don’t like my body. I will always see myself as a chubby kid.

Sometimes I feel as if I am recovered from my ED. I eat, right?

However, I still nitpick at every part of myself.

My mother sees it and she tells me all the time, “You look better. I honestly think this is the best you have ever looked.”

“You look like Kelly Ripa. You’re ripped. You aren’t like this… Ashley Greene chick that has bony little arms with nothing on them.”

It is true that I don’t find stick thin women beautiful anymore, but why do I continue to want to be them?

I find Hope Solo absolutely gorgeous. She seriously makes me want to join my gym’s soccer team. She’s my fitness idol currently.

Mirinda CarfraeΒ  is amazing! Look at those legs.

She just competed a 2.4 mile swim, a 112 mile bike ride, and a marathon in less than 9 hours. Where do I sign up to be her?

I find these women incredible. They are not skinny. They are fit, buff, ripped, healthy, etc. Why do I feel like I should be any different? You can’t be fast by fasting.Β 

I suppose I have no purpose in saying any of this. No matter how many times I tell myself ‘food is fuel’, I still struggle.

It’s really difficult to admit all of this. I never want to come across as weak.

Enough.

“If you don’t have confidence, you’ll always find a way not to win.”
–Carl Lewis

21 Responses to “Enough Already”

  1. Alexandra September 24, 2011 at 7:19 PM #

    This post rocks!! I hate those dumb articles too, I don’t think they realize just how retarded they sound haha
    Muscle is waaaayyy hotter than bones fo sho, high five to the healthy, athletic, and buff women of the world! πŸ™‚

  2. Claire September 24, 2011 at 9:03 PM #

    This is so honest, and really great you can express these things. It is true, fasting does not mean being fast. Deprivation, restriction, etc. do not make a good athlete, or healthy person, they do just the opposite. Why people feel the need for their thighs not to touch is something I will never understand, the media and other factors promote this but I highly doubt in other cultures thighs touching is not even something they think about. Being brave enough to admit you are still struggling show true strength, and one day you WILL beat this and move one from those silly thoughts. Haveyou thought about seeking a therapist or nutritionist to help, it could be beneficial, you are not alone in this and you are so strong and determined I know you can achieve a non disordered life soon, keep on fighting those dumb thoughts because deep down you know better girl!

    • lifttorun September 25, 2011 at 7:39 AM #

      Well, I really don’t ‘believe’ in therapy.

  3. runningperspective September 24, 2011 at 9:13 PM #

    i love this! i used to read those articles and listen..god i completely forgot i did that honestly i took it as so true…oh how things have changed. id pick my muscles over being bones any day

  4. hippierunner September 24, 2011 at 9:53 PM #

    You are beyond awesome. Confession- not until I saw you pointing out how stupid these magazines are did I realize that was true. I am so grateful to have had my eyes opened to this!

  5. Carrie (Moves 'N Munchies) September 25, 2011 at 2:08 AM #

    LOVE THIS POST!

  6. Meg (A Dash of Meg) September 25, 2011 at 3:53 AM #

    This is probably one of the best blog posts I have EVER read πŸ™‚ Be proud girl ❀ This rocks! So happy I found your site πŸ™‚ Keep doing what your doing! Agreed with everything you said! Love your "Mommy needs to be size 2" comment! HAHA LOVE!!!!!!!!

  7. Shannon September 25, 2011 at 5:41 AM #

    This is a great post!!
    Your beautiful just the way you are!

  8. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) September 25, 2011 at 6:00 AM #

    I have a poster of that poster of the Nike woman in my room currently/ They are all so inspirational. I am so with you-there are days I have fat days and wish I had the flattest stomach in the world but I try and think no one will really sees what I see. Then I wonder if I would be faster if I was smaller Then I realize-I’m faster than I was when I was smaller so I’m happy.

  9. Tara September 25, 2011 at 8:18 AM #

    Amen sista. If anyone really thinks that they are going to lose 5 pounds by adding some cayenne pepper to their food, why aren’t we all super skinny? It’s so stupid. Sometimes I really get down on myself because you can’t see my abs, but then I realize that I know girls that have visible abs, but no real core strength, just minimal body fat. I’d rather be a strong, kick ass athlete then a rail. And I totally second what Hollie says about being smaller. There is no set in stone size for speed. I’m 10 lbs STRONGER then I was during track season.

  10. pbbrittany September 25, 2011 at 9:11 AM #

    I love this post and honestly I love you. I’m sick of the magazines that give women ridiculous things to do to “get thin” or “be skinny”. Nahhh- I want to be muscular. Screw skinny!!

  11. Abby September 25, 2011 at 6:52 PM #

    I love this. Thanks for being the brave one to say stuff like this. It makes me realize how stupid it is to believe in that stuff you read in magazines… YOU are my idol. =) So fit and lean and freakin fast!! I hope you’re running is feeling better.

  12. britannie September 26, 2011 at 8:03 AM #

    Ew i just read some of those articles. “Fill up on fiber to de-bloat!” was one..and I’m pretty sure that’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard. I used to eat like shit-tons of veggeies and I was always full. That’s not fun haha. Love this post, totally agree.

  13. Jessica @ rerunrunning September 26, 2011 at 10:28 AM #

    Great post! It had me laughing at first at how ridiculous those quotes were and feeling all inspired at the end, like I want to be buff and super fast/strong… But you gotta feed those muscles!

    You’re so cool… Keep rocking the world!

  14. Adventures of the Newly Fit Girl (Body & Mind) September 26, 2011 at 2:56 PM #

    This post totally, completely, invariably ROCKS MY SOCKS! Thanks for putting into words that I wake up and think everyday. I’m tired of seeing “skinny fat” models as the “ideal.” It’s gross, skeletal and definitely NOT what I aspire to be like. Muscle is SO sexy. Speed is so sexy. Endurance is so sexy. Not having a 24 inch waist. Health is sexy.

  15. survivingcandyland September 26, 2011 at 3:02 PM #

    This post is awesome. Magazines are ridic and the stuff they say is just so people will buy their stupid magazine. I do love that big fork you used. You tell that dumb magazine quote. Having meat on your body isn’t a crime and I don’t think people should be told they have to do certain things to become thin because guess what they probably don’t work anyways.

  16. Haley @ Health Freak College Girl September 26, 2011 at 8:21 PM #

    I LOVE THIS POST!!! i think that all the healthy food bloggers should get together and make a magazine with tips πŸ™‚

  17. Sarah September 27, 2011 at 6:50 AM #

    DITTTTO. Thank you for posting this. I hate how common it has become to see people trying to do certain things because they think it will help them look a certain way. Everyone is different, do what works for you. Honestly I’d rather have muscle than be skinny and it has taken me years to figure that out. Skinny is not strong, it’s sick (unless your naturally born that way, which is fine! but not starving/purging!!!) I’ve honestly noticed that you seem happier lately through your blog/facebook stalking πŸ˜‰ I’m so happy for you! Rock it out girl!

  18. Ashley September 27, 2011 at 2:01 PM #

    This post is so great!! You are too funny!! Sometimes I wonder where these magazines get this crap?? I think even though girls are recovered from their EDs, its normal to bash our bodies. Even girls who never had EDs talk badly about their bodies.Its a hard habit to break but we all just need to practice being kinder to our bodies. Dont beat yourself up, you look great:)

  19. Marissa September 28, 2011 at 12:21 PM #

    agreed! gah. i fricking hate “women’s health” magazine.. why is it that women’s health always emphasizes eating as little calories as possible while “men’s health” magazine is always talking about ways to add in calories and build muscle? … just saying.

  20. resiliencesc October 1, 2011 at 5:45 PM #

    I have to agree with you all, most fitness magazines are great at one thing: making you come back for more. If the things they said actually worked as easily and completely as they advertised, not a single one of them would still be in print after the first year…there wouldn’t be any overweight/out-of-shape people left to buy them.

    I give mad respect to all of you ladies out there who eat protein, get strong, and reject all the silly bulls$%t that gets thrown your way.

    Strong is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

