Since I’ve been gone…

11 Oct

Heya.

Since I’ve been gone…

I grew a mustache.

Since I’ve been gone…

I shaved it.

Since I’ve been gone…

I was called cute by one of my (male) coworkers after I shaved my mustache.

Holla.

Since I’ve been gone…

I ran, like, maybe sixish miles. I’m still in a hell of a running rut.

Since I’ve been gone…

I biked 52 miles.

Since I’ve been gone…

I have not been able to put down this book:

Seriously. It amazing.  I will definitely do a review on this. Thanks, Barbara Walters, for recommending this on The View.

Also, since I’ve been gone, I bought the ESPN Body Issue.

Look at those legs. Holy moly.

I think they could crush a walnut.

The ESPN Body Issue actually made me feel better about myself. I may have big thighs, but they are all muscle. I may be a size zero/one, but I’m strong. I’m buff. My dentist told me that. Nevermind my teeth. Who cares?

Gretchen Bleiler, Olympic snowboarder, proclaimed, “This is not about being sexy but about being strong and powerful and showing girls it’s OK to have muscles.”

Today, while working out, I actually liked my body for once. I’m not a stick. I’m not just a bone. I have gained muscle and weight, and guess what? I’m still a size one just like I was when I was 105 or 103.

I don’t weigh myself anymore. I’m not doing all this cardio like I was (thanks to my running rut). Guess what? I’m fine. I may not be 100% confident with myself, but I feel better about myself.

That’s a start.

“It’s very hard in the beginning to understand that the whole idea is not to beat the other runners.  Eventually you learn that the competition is against the little voice inside you that wants to quit.”
 –George Sheehan

12 Responses to “Since I’ve been gone…”

  1. Alexandra October 11, 2011 at 7:22 PM #

    Amazing amazing post!! So glad to hear everything is going awesome, especially this news about Mr. Coworker hittin on ya 😉
    Oh and for the record, your mustache was hot 😀

    • lifttorun October 11, 2011 at 7:24 PM #

      That’s his name too… Mr. Coworker.
      Hahah.

  2. Ashley October 11, 2011 at 11:22 PM #

    Those lege muscles are seriously INSANE!!! woohoo for muscles, so sad that I was ever scared to have them. I love that quote at the end.

  3. allieksmith October 12, 2011 at 6:32 AM #

    I’m happy that you are happy with yourself. Can’t wait for the book review, mustache girl 😉

  4. Kristin October 12, 2011 at 8:05 AM #

    LOVE THIS POST. Thank you–I needed it today. Glad you’re doing well…maybe the running rut is a blessing in disguise! 🙂

  5. Sarah October 12, 2011 at 10:49 AM #

    I really like the mustache, looks good on you 😉 But really I’m so happy that you are gaining confidence in yourself my darling!

  6. sarah October 12, 2011 at 12:06 PM #

    Awesome post, happy your blogging:)
    Pff, a male co-worker said you were cute!? I bet ALL the boys think your a hawty.
    Sounds like your getting quite into cycling. I recently completed the Great North cycle- 60miles( in HEAVY winds and rain), it wooped my toosh but I loved it , I adore biking!
    So nice to hear you sounding positive, and for getting rid of the scale.
    Xxx

  7. KatsHealthCorner October 12, 2011 at 2:21 PM #

    You are strong. I love that about you. 🙂

  8. Tara October 12, 2011 at 6:13 PM #

    That ironman book sounds inspiring. I would love to do one – if only I could swim. Or at least enjoy swimming. Still I want to hear more about it. I’m also loving the body love in this post. A strong body is way better than a skinny one. People see uber skinny people and think “weak” and I know that’s not you.

  9. Shan October 12, 2011 at 9:38 PM #

    great post! strong is beautiful, unhealthy sticks…not so much!

  10. Qi Ting @ Misadventures of Fat free Baking October 12, 2011 at 11:30 PM #

    I really enjoyed this post!! You’re so honest and funny! And you biked 52 miles???!!! That’s a feat! I should do that someday too 😀

  11. pursuitofhealthfulness October 17, 2011 at 7:31 PM #

    Haha, love the comment about the legs that could “crush a walnut.” Cute blog!

Leave a Reply

