No, Seriously

21 Oct

Who am I? Seriously.

I am not a lazy blogger. I think about blogging a lot, but unfortunately the majority of my day is spent at work behind a bakery case or an espresso machine.

It’s either I am making a 400 calorie drink for someone or burning 400 calories by running.

I’m still in my running rut, but I feel better about it. I no longer feel like dying during my runs, but I prefer the treadmill over the outdoors. Who am I?

I’m also listening to music while running outside. Again, who am I? Before this rut, I would have never put music on while running or even step on a treadmill.

I’m cray cray.

Due to my craziness, I’m going to cover this week’s workouts.

So, Monday…

I don’t even remember that day. I don’t know if I ran or what so let’s just skip that day. Oh wait, now I remember.

I did run. I ran 5.30 miles @ 7:07 pace.

I didn’t even look at my watch the whole time. Go me.

Tuesday: I rode my bike to the gym (7.21 miles) where I did a track workout with a girl at my gym who does Ironman’s and all that crazy stuff I want to do. Her fiance is sponsored by Newton (stay tuned for more Newton news).  I just want to be her.

Anyway, we did two laps as a warmup followed by a mile that was supposed to get faster as we went along. I think I did the mile in 6:03. Next, we did two 400’s, which I did in 1:30. The last thing we did was 6 x 200. All of this totaled out to 4.25 miles.

I can’t tell you the last time I did a track workout. It was awesome.

After that, I went on the elliptical for 11 minutes and lifted some weights before I rode my bike home (9.80 miles).

Wednesday: Another run! I thought I was going so slow, but it turns out I did 8.83 miles @ 6:49 pace. I’m a little shocked.

Thursday: I ran for an hour on the treadmill, probably covering 8 ish miles between 7:03 – 7:13 pace.

Who am I running on a treadmill?

So much butt sweat.

Friday: I rode my bike to the gym (7.23 miles), ran on the treadmill for an hour covering 8 ish miles, lifting for 15 minutes, and then riding my bike back home (9.77 miles).

I did lift some weights on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday, but otherwise I was lacking in the weight lifting department. It’s like, yeah, I’m still in this running rut, but if I can handle running on a treadmill, why not do it? 

Running miles: 34+ miles 
Biking miles: 34.1 miles

I definitely want to bring up those running miles to like… 200 miles. Seriously.

In other news, I bought some bike shoes. 

I love it. I’m such a hardcore biker now. Man. Now I just need some stickers on my bike that say “Keep Portland Weird” or “Drink More Beer” and I will fit right in with the Portland crowd.

I got another pair of running shoes (more on that later).

I got acupuncture done again at this new place. My quad has been killing me so I’m hoping some needles will help. My mom came with. Awesome time.

Let’s see. I haven’t been up to much. I’m going to have a post tomorrow on Newton running shoes and a book review. 

Well, let’s wrap this up with honorable eats. Boooyeah.

   Candy cane mocha
 

“Even if you fall flat on your face at least you are moving forward”
–Sue Luke

12 Responses to “No, Seriously”

  1. Sami October 21, 2011 at 9:30 PM #

    Honestly….do you have an eating disorder? Its a little ridiculous how obsessed you are with running. like in an unhealthy way. im sure its very triggering for many who are looking at your blog in hopes it would be a BALANCED, healthy blog. Im so sorry if this is coming off as an attack, but honestly, i feel someone needs to step up and say something to you at this point. its so sad. you remind me so much of how I used to be.

    CALM DOWN and take a break girl! you deserve it! we know you love running, so do people with exercise addictions. I think you have that, honestly. you need to take more breaks from running. youre going to keep getting injured.

    goodness.

    • lifttorun October 21, 2011 at 9:53 PM #

      Uhhhh no. I love running and not having the urge to run bothers me. I don’t have a problem. If I did, I’m sure my parents would notice. I’m happy I am running again. That’s all. And I could care less about triggering others because nothing about me is unhealthy. I shouldn’t have to defend my love for running.

      • Tara October 22, 2011 at 8:38 AM #

        I just have to respond to this comment because it kind of irked me. When you love to run, you always want to run and have a great run. It’s awful when you can’t run or you’re not feeling it. It doesn’t mean you’re trying to burn calories. Running is more than exercise, it’s a passion. I just had to say that…. I might as well add the rest of my comment here. Those biking shoes are intense. I wish I could get more into real biking rather than stationary biking. The roads aren’t very bike friendly here unfortunately. I really want to try acupuncture. I’m willing to try anything to get these stupid pains to go away.

      • lifttorun October 22, 2011 at 11:52 AM #

        Exactly! And I’m not running to burn calories. I run because I love it. I run to improve. I’m going into the. Marines too. They aren’t going to baby me there.

    • Shay October 22, 2011 at 4:13 PM #

      You do/did have an eating disorder tho. I mean, you have said it before, you have stated that you have restricted food, have been scared to eat more, have been scared and not wanted to gain weight, and have lost a lot of weight in the past. I mean, one day you talk about having an eating disorder and disordered thoughts about your body and food the next day you say you are fine.I really hope for the best for you, that you get help and live a happy free life beyond your disorder!

      • lifttorun October 22, 2011 at 8:28 PM #

        In the past I did. Now I don’t. I don’t need help either. I’m happier than I have ever been.

  2. Diana October 22, 2011 at 12:54 AM #

    Glad to see that you seem to be getting out of your running run – although I’m still jealous of the pace you have when you aren’t really feeling it. Thankfully, my rut seems to have pretty much disappeared (maybe it’s the weather?) and I’m grinning through long runs in the park 🙂

    You got bike shoes? Hardcore. I’m such a wimp when it comes to clip-in pedals and road bikes – I had a minor crash last year that freaked me out a bit, but so far this year I’ve been fine. And as far as fitting in with the other Portlanders, I totally get it – I’m from Vancouver (BC, not WA) and we’re majorly into the whole outdoorsy run/ bike/ ski thing too. Not a bad quality for a place to have…

    (PS: I want your cookie and your CoGo bar. The bar looks tasty, but I’ve never seen it. Where are they sold?)

  3. Alexandra October 22, 2011 at 4:08 AM #

    Dude I’ve always wanted to try bike shoes!! Do they feel weird when you’re just walking around in them?
    And holy freakin yum that monkey wrench cookie looks like the bomb! Hopefully these yums will help you say bye bye to the running rut 😀

  4. IHeartVegetables October 22, 2011 at 7:22 AM #

    First off, in response to that first comment… what?? I think it’s awesome that you have such a passion for running! I think it’s so inspiring! And keep on writing this blog for YOU!

    Second, your eats look deeeeelish. I want that cookie!!!! 🙂

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) October 22, 2011 at 9:55 AM #

    I’m glad your running rut is slowly going away! YAY! I run in Newton running shoes so now we can be extreme twinnies!

  6. jenandberries October 22, 2011 at 2:39 PM #

    whoa you are the cardio QUEEN!! And the cookies name is amazing. Working for a coffee company sounds so cool! Haha I know what you mean about serving the 400 kcal drinks, I work in a bar and people just order and order like there’s no tomorow lol

  7. pbbrittany October 22, 2011 at 5:35 PM #

    First of all- I think it’s a bunch of crap that you’re getting attacked for loving to run!
    second of all- I’m glad the running rut it getting better. I haven’t been in the mood to run lately and I’m not going to push it. Those long runs on the treadmill just don’t sound good to me. I’d rather do a quick HIIT session! 😀

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

