Running with the Stars

25 Oct

Hi ya’ll!

I have some exciting news. Yes, it has to with running. What else would it be about?

Last week I covered 49+ miles. Or maybe it was 47. All I know is that I am slowly coming out of my running rut. I almost did 50 miles in  week, dude. I’m happy even though some of the mileage was done on a treadmill. Good times, man.

I ran yesterday in my Newton’s (review coming up) and Tuesday I had a blast doing a track workout.

Guess who I ran with? I’ll give you a hint

I’m not done yet.

I’m not saying we were just on the same track, but we did a few laps together. I don’t know how it even happened, but the girl I was running with (Amy), started talking to Kara. It was strange, but so awesome. I felt so intimated and extremely slow while I did my workout and they went on to do their’s.

Ahhh. Anyway, my workout looked like this:

– Warm-up drills
– One 800 (2:30 pace or something like that)
– Seven 400’s (1:20 ish)
– Two 100’s
– Running barefoot in ice-cold grass

I’m actually sore from that. I’m not use to speed work. I did that workout with my pal Amy and some other women.

Afterwards, Amy pulled me aside and asked me if I was interested in triathlons. Of course I am. She told me there is no reason I couldn’t become pro or elite. She said, “I’m slower than you and I make money racing. You aren’t even in your prime years yet.”

Knock on wood. Seriously. I can’t even imagine or put it into words how much I want that. I want so badly.

You know, every time I have a little running rut, I always begin running again and fall in love with it in a completely new way. It’s incredible.

If only my pace would kick back up. It will. I always say that. It’s odd because I ran the same path Monday as I did last week, but at a 7:17 pace verses at 6:59. Maybe it’s because I ran ten miles the day before? I don’t know.

If loving running is a sin, send me to hell.

And for all of you who believe I am an ‘exercise addict‘, you may very well kiss my…

…except my ass didn’t make the picture. Oh well. You get my point.

In case you haven’t realized, my title is obviously a reference to Dancing with the Stars. I love that show and I really wish I could dance.

I took a dance class senior year and I loved it. My teacher was a real bitch witch who put me in the back because she hated me. No really. She despised me probably because I told her off and left too many times to pee.

Anyway.

Is anyone watching it? If you do not watch Dancing with the Stars, do it just for this man: Tristan MacManus.

He’s Nancy’s partner and I find his to be gorgeous. Nancy is my favorite by the way. Don’t hate her. 

Anyway, I hope all of you are doing well. Catch me up on your lives! 

You guys are great. Enjoy my honorable eats.

 I go through two tubs a week
Mushroom + onion sandwich

“Number one is to just gain a passion for running.  To love the morning, to love the trail, to love the pace on the track.  And if some kid gets really good at it, that’s cool too.”
–Pat Tyson
 

13 Responses to “Running with the Stars”

  1. KatsHealthCorner October 25, 2011 at 8:56 PM #

    You got to run with them?! What an amazing experience! 😀 And she is so right — you ARE are pro at running. 🙂

  2. Diana October 26, 2011 at 12:28 AM #

    You are so incredible! And it’s absolutely fantastic that you’re back in love with running – nice mileage 🙂 Running with Kara must have been awesome… but I bet you’ll be up there competing with her soon. That, or you’ll be a pro triathlete – you have so much talent!

  3. Alexandra October 26, 2011 at 3:28 AM #

    HOLY MONKEY BALLS!! DUDE!!!! That is beyond cool, I think I would’ve died if one of my icons said that to me. Talk about encouragement! 😀 and congrats on the mileage friend, that’s magnifico. Btw…kettle makes pb? Must find now! 🙂

  4. Jocelyn October 26, 2011 at 4:21 AM #

    what!?!? That is soooo cool that you ran with them!!! JEALOUS!

  5. Christie October 26, 2011 at 6:59 AM #

    OH my goodness!!! That is freaking exciting/amazing/awesome!!!

  6. hippierunner October 26, 2011 at 8:50 AM #

    That all sounds so great! How inspiring it must have been to hear that advice from your friend about going pro!

  7. Allie October 26, 2011 at 9:12 AM #

    Robert Kardashian is my fav DWTS as well as the soldier!

    So cool you got to run with stars 🙂

  8. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) October 26, 2011 at 4:47 PM #

    Things I am jealous of.

    Your life
    and your life.

    Okay good god. I’m so glad you are out of your running rut. So happy!

  9. myhighonlife October 26, 2011 at 5:24 PM #

    50 miles a week after a rut! That’s out-freakin-standing. I’m just getting out of a rut myself but I’m happy with my 20-30 mi per week 😉

  10. Tara October 26, 2011 at 6:18 PM #

    I second Hollie’s comment. I say go for it – you could definitely go pro. Aka my dream. You are on the brink of living my dream. Exactly why I am in agreement with Hollie. Um and if I could do my 800’s and 400’s that fast I would be crying – from the pain and the fact that I couldn’t believe I did it that fast. Too bad I can’t.

    • lifttorun October 26, 2011 at 6:34 PM #

      I always thought you were hella faster than me. I think you still are. Your XC races blow me away.

  11. lovemesomeoats October 26, 2011 at 7:59 PM #

    Wow thats so cool that you got to run with them! I can definitely see a career in the pros in your future!

Leave a Reply

