Reviewin’ the Good Stuff

31 Oct

One week. 

Next Monday I will be on a plane for boot camp for the Marines. 

Oh my gosh. I can’t believe it.

I have these moments where I am deadly afraid and today I actually wanted to go. 

I’m done working. Boo. However, that means I can blog and bug you guys instead. Lucky you. 

And, I didn’t do anything for Halloween. I was invited to a party by a guy at my work, but I was working that night then my mom told me no. Uh, I’m 18. If  I can decide to join the Marines and I can go to a party.

Anyway, hi everyone! I hope everyone is doing great.

I barely remember what I did last week workout wise. I’ll try my best though.

Monday: Ran 8.48 miles @ 7:17 mile pace (the day before I ran ten miles)

Tuesday: Ran on the treadmill for 3+ miles and track workout (3.71 miles) I did a mile in under six minutes!

Wednesday: 11.66 miles @ an extremely slow pace. I was tired from waking up at six. It was awful.

Thursday:  Ran on the treadmill for 2+ miles and a track workout. I only did a 3k and some 800’s for a total of 2.80 miles.

Friday: A lovely trail run! It was a great run. I did 6.86 miles.

Saturday: Spin class + weights

Sunday: Spin class + weights

Total mileage: 39.51+ miles.

I’m sure I did more than that by maybe a few miles. I know it is not a lot of mileage as I would like, but all my workouts were varied. I did speed, tempo, recovery, and a medium long run. 

Anyway, as I said, I left my job since I’m leaving in a week for the Marines.  I loved my job. Granted, this is what I worked with daily

I probably tasted every thing in that case. Best thing? The mint brownies or revel bar, which was like a mixture of a chocolate bar and an oatmeal cookie.

Everyday I got to eat good food at Laughing Planet Cafe.

They have the best burritos and salads.

My work was located next to Saint Cupcake.

  Vegan German chocolate cupcake
Mint chocolate cupcake
Fat Elvis
They also have cookies. That eaten cookie is an alder-smoked chocolate chip cookie.

There a lot of things I will miss, but I am starting a new chapter in my life.

Change is good.

And change starts with an empty peanut butter jar and Greek yogurt.

Only the wisest and stupidest of men never change.
-Confucius

 

 

8 Responses to “Reviewin’ the Good Stuff”

  1. lovetwentysomething October 31, 2011 at 8:07 PM #

    Good luck! My husband just got out of the Marine Corps so I can appreciate what you’re going through (though I’ll never be able to relate!)

    And it’s a good thing you do all that running, working at a place like that…my stomach was growling just looking at the pictures!

  2. Karla October 31, 2011 at 9:09 PM #

    Good luck @ boot! I’m in the Army and enjoy it a lot…most of the time. Great mileage and a nice variety in workouts =)

  3. Allie November 1, 2011 at 2:47 AM #

    1 week till boot camp! Exciting 🙂

  4. Alexandra November 1, 2011 at 3:47 AM #

    AHHH I’m really excited, nervous, and happy for you all at the same time about boot camp! You’re gonna thrive, I know it. And maybe you’ll snag a hunky dude…and send one to me heehee 😉

  5. Tara November 1, 2011 at 4:05 AM #

    I can definitely see why you would miss your old job, but there are gonna be a lot of great things for you as a marine too. You just might not know yet! It’s great to see that you’re getting back into running. You’re seriously my running idol.

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) November 1, 2011 at 5:51 AM #

    Girl I miss your job and I haven’t ever even worked there! I’m glad you are starting to get into running and we will miss your blogging adventures when you go to boot camp! 😦

  7. ihearteggs November 1, 2011 at 9:27 AM #

    Good luck!!!

  8. Sarah November 2, 2011 at 6:13 AM #

    How exciting girl, I’m so proud and happy for you 🙂 Good luck but you will be great!!

Leave a Reply

