Marathons and Apolo Ohno

1 Nov

What up, fellas!

It is now seven days until I leave for South Carolina. Expect a countdown everyday now. I don’t want you guys to forget.

I don’t have my life planned out at all.  I have never been one of those people to plan out the job I want, the college I want to attend (boo, college), my wedding (ew, marriage), or anything else like that. Even if I did plan my wedding/marriage, it would last longer than some people…

I live in the present for the most part. It helps me from getting stressed out.

One thing for sure, though, is I now I want to run… and race. I want to be a competitor. I don’t necessarily want to be a pro – wait. Who am I kidding? I do want to be pro or even elite. It’s not easy, however. I do believe that the Marines will help me with discipline so I can be able to push myself harder than I think. It will be an experience. I don’t think college will offer that.

After boot camp, I want to run a marathon. I think I will be ready then. Now, I’m not ready to run a marathon.

I even have a list of marathons I want to run in order. Duh, I’m a runner. I dream of this stuff constantly.

1. Big Sur Marathon

How gorgeous is that? I want to run this marathon more than anything. It looks beautiful.

2. New York City Marathon

This race is just a classic that gives me chills. I can imagine myself running it too.

The route, to me, seems incredible. You go through so many areas of New York. I read a few stories of people running the New York Marathon and I get teary-eyed. Who am I? I think New York just holds a special place in my heart because of 9/11.

3. Boston Marathon

Who doesn’t want to run the Boston Marathon? I do believe there is too much hype surrounding Boston, but it still is on my list. I am also for the changes in time to qualify for Boston. It should be difficult to qualify. I don’t think every Tom, Dick, and Harry should be able to qualify. I believe someone needs to work for it and have the passion for running to run it. It shouldn’t just be on your bucket list in between your schedule of Zumba classes.

4. Chicago Marathon

I’m from Chicago so enough said.

5. Honolulu Marathon

I just think this would be a beautiful marathon and I’m all about location. I don’t care about hills, weather, flats, etc. I just like the beauty of my surroundings while running.

Of course I want to do trail marathons, ultra marathons, and century bike rides, but these are my type five marathons. I know they are somewhat ‘commercial‘ marathons, but come on. Who cares?

I would like to do some races in Portland, Colorado, and even Rhode Island. I really want to do some holiday races too and dress up crazy.

 My passion for running and running races is probably way too boring for some people.

Example A:

Me: Guess what’s on this weekend?
Mom: What?
Me: New York Marathon.
Mom: Who cares?

She doesn’t get it. That’s okay.

By the way, super cute and awesome man Apolo Ohno is running the NYC Marathon. I’m super excited. I don’t know why.

During his marathon training Apolo said “I never knew such pains exsited”‘.

This is an interview he did for Parade.com:

“On the biggest challenge in training for a marathon.
“How hard the longer mileage is. I ran the half marathon in Chicago and I thought, ‘This isn’t bad.’ I felt pretty good. And then I ran 16 miles and I was like, ‘Wow, this is ridiculous!’ It’s just pain that I never even knew existed — in my knees, in my joints, in my hamstrings, in my calves, in the bottom of my feet! And I was surprised by how much weight I lost. I’m not running that fast, but at the end of it, I can’t move.”

On the mental aspect of running.
“It’s totally mental. I don’t have great running technique, but I like to run. I’ve heard from countless people that the last six miles of the marathon is all mental. But what better city to have this in than New York City where there are millions of people there supporting you?”

On what’s scarier: competing in a marathon or competing on DWTS.
“The nice thing about the marathon is that it’s doing something very athletic, something that I’m used to doing. And I don’t have to smile when I’m running. I don’t have to perform. I don’t have to wear any weird, funky outfits. So Dancing With the Stars was pretty scary. I’m not going to lie!”

What’s on his iPod when he trains.
“I listen to R&B and hip-hop. I’ve been listening to a lot of house music lately; it just gets me in that rhythm. Music to me is life. It’s what gets me going.”

(From Parade.com)

Can we date, dude?

So, enough jibber jabber. Let’s get down to business.

My workout today included:

– Riding my bike to the gym (7.65 miles)
– Track workout (4.57 miles )

  • Warm up laps
  • Drills
  • Warm up 800
  • Four fast 800’s (I was hitting 3 minutes)
  • Two 100’s
  • Two 200’s (sprinting insanely fast)
  • Cool down lap

– Elliptical 15 minutes before lifting weights for 22 minutes
– Ride my bike home (9.97 miles)

That isn’t too much so I don’t want to hear it. I’m joining the Marines afterall.

Well, that’s it. Peace out and I’ll have a WIAW tomorrow.

Question for you:
– What marathon/half marathon/race do you want to do? 

 

 

11 Responses to “Marathons and Apolo Ohno”

  1. Diana November 2, 2011 at 2:26 AM #

    First off, I hope you have an incredible time at bootcamp. And after that, I can’t wait to hear about a marathon – your speed and determination are definitely enough to allow you to become a pro someday.

    As far as my ultimate race, I’m not sure. So far I’ve just done a 10k – I signed up for two 5ks, but didn’t do them as I really couldn’t be bothered (and the timing wasn’t great). At this point I’m thinking that I just prefer to compete with myself, but if I were to do an actual race, I’m not sure which race it would be. It would be a marathon, because I’ve run 26.2 miles for fun before and it wasn’t too hard, although in a race setting I’m sure it’s quite different. A half is a bit too short for me – I like my distance, and I run a half or more every weekend.

    So, I’m going to say the Vancouver Marathon. It’s my home, and my dad ran it with twelve weeks of training, qualifying for Boston with a time of 2:57, back in the ’80s. The same year, my grandpa qualified for Boston too (I think) in 3:03 – he would’ve been in his fifties. I think that’s pretty cool, so I wouldn’t mind following in their footsteps.

  2. Ellen @ UnderCover Runner Eats November 2, 2011 at 3:11 AM #

    Good luck with the Marines! One of my guy friends I think is joining, but I have no idea when he’s set up to go off to boot camp.

    Just curious about how long your workouts take you? I know you say that it’s not a lot, and given your fitness level I believe it! You’ll rock boot camp and EVERY SINGLE ONE of those marathons that you want to do. Don’t forget to do the Marine Corps Marathon at least once! Haha. I’m in college and about to start training for my first marathon and I know it’s going to be tough finding the time to do that, classes, studying, and keeping my relationships with my boyfriend and mother strong so I’m curious as to how much of a time commitment your own lifestyle is.

    P.S. Your grandpa is pretty baller.

    • Ellen @ UnderCover Runner Eats November 2, 2011 at 3:12 AM #

      (grandpa of Diana^^^^)

      • Diana November 2, 2011 at 1:57 PM #

        Thank you 🙂 It sounds lame but I find my dad’s side of the family ridiculously inspiring. Especially my grandpa, he’s an absolute champ.

    • lifttorun November 2, 2011 at 7:47 AM #

      My workouts usually take me an hour and a half if I don’t dilly dally around.

  3. Alexandra November 2, 2011 at 3:43 AM #

    That big sur marathon looks GORGEOUS! With your passion and determination for running, there’s no doubt in my mind you’ll be doing all of these 🙂

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) November 2, 2011 at 5:16 AM #

    Those are all marathons I want to do. Especially NYC and Boston. I agree though about Boston being lower for real (with woman especially). They are significantly dropping the NYC quals for next year.

  5. Karla November 2, 2011 at 8:10 AM #

    WIth the ING NYC Marathon on Sunday that is on the top of my bucket list someday. It is such a classic.
    I have lots of races I want to do. Big Sur looks amazing too. I hate how much money goes into races & traveling/lodging for it though!

    Good luck at boot camp, you’ll kill it!

  6. allieksmith November 2, 2011 at 8:30 AM #

    I agree that it SHOULD be difficult to qualify for Boston.

  7. kaliesthoughts November 2, 2011 at 1:51 PM #

    I wanna to run one!

  8. Tara November 2, 2011 at 3:10 PM #

    Oh believe me, we will not forget that you are leaving!! I think it’s great that you’re planning these marathons – you are going to do so well in them, especially after your experience at boot camp. I actually know the guy who finished 3rd at Big Sur last time – he owns the local running company and works at my running camp, and he didn’t clock good times until after college (didn’t even run varsity in college) so it’s pretty inspiring! I really want to run the philadelphia marathon/half marathon. I’m planning on moving away from here, but I still love my city and the marathon is the best way to experience it!

Leave a Reply

