A Little Blurry

5 Feb

There is so much to say about my experience at boot camp and there is a football game on that i would like to watch as well. Honestly, I don’t remember much about the beginning of boot camp. Receiving and forming week or whatever else those weeks are called are such a blur to me.

Here is what I recall:

The first two days I did not sleep. No one slept. I was up for two days straight. I remember being thirsty, scared, homesick, and just plain frightened. When we did get water, we also go box chow. Box chow is the worst food ever. In the box is a terrible meat sandwich, chips, cookies, raisins, an apple, granola bar, and powder Gatorade. The drill instructor was screaming at me to eat the meat sandwich so I did. What was I going to say? “Um, excuse me. I’m vegetarian.” That was the only time I ate meat though.

Those first few days of no sleep and barely any food, I lost three pounds. In total, I lost 13 pounds surprisingly.

During phase one of boot camp you do martial arts. For me, I despised martial arts. It was repetive. In addition, I swear everything at boot camp had the fun sucked out of it. Martial arts could have been a blast, but it wasn’t. There was swim qualifications were during phase one too. I thought we would learn to swim so I was excited. However, the qualification for swimming was for you to know how to stay afloat. I passed the first day.

I can’t recall any more from phase one. There was initial PFT testing. That involves flexed arm hang, crunches, and a 1.5 mile run. I did 70 seconds for the flex arm hang, 144 crunches, and I came in first in the run. In all the runs, I came in first. The runs only went up to 3 miles though. For the final PFT test, I ran three miles in 18:04. That combined with my flex arm hang of 1:29 and my crunches, which were 149. My score of the PFT combined with my CFT score. With that, I won Ironwoman. I was the most physically fit of my company. Do you know how much that means to me? That’s like the only thing I remember of boot camp.

Phase 2? Well, we were at the rifle range. I remember that because I loved shooting. I got sharpshooter.

As for phase three, still a blur. I only remember Liberty Sunday, Family Day, and leaving the damn island. The Crucible went by rapidly that I don’t remember all the details.

I don’t know what was in the water, but it made my memory disappear. All I can is that I am so happy to be home although I leave February 13th for MCT school for 29 days. Booooo. I am not looking forward to it at all.

To conclude what I have to say, Marine boot camp is 90% mental and drill. It’s not physical whatsoever. I was challenged. I am a new person now. I would take a bullet for any girl in my platoon. I would fight for any American’s freedom. I still have barely any confidence, but I am a new person. I feel different. The experience was worth it.

As for now, I just want to get back to normal blogging where I talk about running constantly. I want to comment and read your blogs again, but I can’t seem to find the time.

Anyway, when I arrived home Saturday, I ran 16 miles. My pace was awful so I am not even going to say it. What can I expect? I haven’t ran that far in three months. In the end of my run, my calves were killing. However, the run itself was great. I did not turn on music for the first hour. Amazing run.

Today I returned to the gym.

I was expecting people to be like, “Hey, Christy. Where have you been for three months?” Instead, they were like, “Hey.” I get to go to my gym for free though. That’s rather awesome. My spin class was killer. My body is sore. See, I was not physical challenged at boot camp. Now I feel so behind. I know MCT school will kick my ass though.

My shirt kicks ass though.

Well, I apologize for how choppy this post is. I just wanted to get something on here. I’ll answer any questions you guys have about boot camp. Just let me know.

The questions I received so far are:

– Was the food good? Well, as a vegetarian, I did not eat much. Breakfast I would eat fruit, eggs, and cottage cheese. Lunch was spinach and veggies. Dinner was more spinach, veggies, and maybe rice. I got lucky if there was fish, egg salad, or tuna. Otherwise, I did not eat much. Eating now at home is making my stomach weary. I feel sick, but extremely hungry. I think I was in starvation mode because I cannot stop eating. I still weigh 111 though. I really suffered mentally with eating. I feel like my eating disorder re-kicked in and now it’s on my mind 24/7.

– Were there scheduled eating times or snacks allowed? We had scheduled time for chow. Breakfast was around 4:30 am, lunch was around 11:30, and dinner was at five. There were no snacks except for at The Crucible, since that is 54 hours long with hiking. We received MRE’s there (meals ready to eat). Those were good and we could snack on them throughout the day when there was time.

– How much running was there or any form of cardio? Not much. We did not run much at all.

– Best and worst memory? Like I said, my memory is awful. My worst memory is something I don’t even want to mention on here. My best is graduating.

– Daily routine? Chow, drill, classes maybe, PT maybe, chow, more drill, more classes maybe, chow, free time, letters, bed. My day started at 4:00 and ended at 8:00.

– Friendships? I made so many friends. Most of the girls I got along with where in their 20’s. Throughout my whole life I always got along with people who were older than me. Anyway, there was 54 girls in my platoon. Some girls I could not stand, but I would take a bullet for them.

I’ll end this post with recent eats and other eats from, like, November. Enjoy.


Jalapeno poppers
Mushroom pot pie
Flatbread w/ salad
Tofu sandwich w/ salad

That’s all, folks!  

14 Responses to “A Little Blurry”

  1. thisfitchick February 6, 2012 at 4:46 AM #

    oh my gosh! I loved hearing about this. You are so so brave and mature. What a hero you are 🙂

  2. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 6, 2012 at 6:23 AM #

    That is so interesting. I would certainly not be able to remember anything either. Like I said-it doesn’t surprise me at all that you won IronWoman. You are seriously great and then to just come back and whip out 16 miles? Anyways-awesome job girl.

    I don’t know what I would about that meat sandwich thing. I probably would have been too scared not to eat it the first time too and then see where it went from there.

  3. KatsHealthCorner February 6, 2012 at 7:31 AM #

    Wow, girl. That sounds really intense. You are so strong, Christy. 🙂

  4. Tara February 6, 2012 at 12:39 PM #

    As usual I am in awe of you. I can’t even imagine what it was like, but I’m not surprised at all by your fitness and physical abilities. I think that mentally I would definitely struggle – especially with not being able to run! Again I’m really glad you’re back because I always look forward to your posts!

    • lifttorun February 6, 2012 at 2:40 PM #

      Mentally, it was tough. Not running messed with my head so much. You don’t even know. Well, you may. But it’s like, I didn’t have the option.

  5. Alexandra February 6, 2012 at 12:49 PM #

    Oh my lanta. Like Tara said, I’m in utter awe of you. Not only did you survive the mental struggles, but you managed to be the fittest girl there! You should really be so proud of all your accomplishments.
    I also think it’s pretty admirable to say you’d even take a bullet for someone you don’t really like, that’s true strength and the essence of a hero 🙂
    Glad you’re home!

  6. Alyse February 6, 2012 at 3:26 PM #

    Wow. Just amazing, what you were able to endure (and being the fittest girl there!). I hope you’ve given yourself a huge pat on the back + some serious celebrating. Because you’ve more than earned it!!

  7. allieksmith February 6, 2012 at 3:46 PM #

    I’m glad you are back and that you got to do a nice long 16 miler! Sounds like boot camp was really intense mentally. Way to get through it!

  8. Amy @ Turtle-speed runner February 6, 2012 at 9:46 PM #

    I agree with you that boot camp is 90% mental. It is so hard and well done for getting through! You should be super proud of yourself 🙂

  9. Charissa February 7, 2012 at 3:34 PM #

    Good job! That’s awesome!
    And that shirt is all kinds of awesome too!

  10. Sarah February 8, 2012 at 5:09 AM #

    I am so proud of you. Also very excited for all the opportunities that are to come in your future 🙂 Nice work on Ironwoman, that’s so awesome! You look happy in that top picture! YAY!

  11. hippierunner February 8, 2012 at 8:25 PM #

    It sounds so intense. You are so incredibly strong! I hope your stomach/mind feel better soon w food. Congrats again for all you accomplished!!

Leave a Reply

