Pacing

9 Feb

Hi! What’s up, ya’ll?

I’m such an awful blogger. Not only do I leave for three months, I come back and I don’t even bother blogging. Truth be told, I don’t know what to say! That’s a lie. I could talk about runningand I will.

The thing that sucked about boot camp was the most we ran was three miles. We barely worked out. For me personally, that messed with my head big time. However, that’s a whole different blog post I have planned. Anyway, I love running. Obviously.

 I run despite my mood, the weather, the pain, and the voice in my head that tells to stop.

I have a billion and one running photos on my computer…

Not running for three months was terrible. I feel like now I have to make it all in this single week before I leave for North Carolina.

Already on Saturday I ran 16 miles @ 7:29 pace.

The rest of the week, so far, has looked like this:

Monday: 9.84 miles @ 7:25
Tuesday: 8.94 @7:16
Wednesday: 12.06 miles @ 7:29

Tuesday I did a speed workout that consisted of…

  • 1 progressing mile @ 6:07
  • 3 500’s @ 1:40
  • 3 400’s @ 1:20

My pacing is totally off! I just keep thinking if my calves weren’t so sore and I have been running consistently, I could being doing a mile in less than six minutes. It’s crazy. My long runs are messing with me mentally. I was doing 14 miles at a 6:59 three months ago. I don’t know when I’ll get back to that.

Whateva, whateva.

Yesterday was my birthday! I’m 19, ladies and gents.

My mother ordered me a Dell laptop, which I should receieve on Friday. Unfortunately, I cannot take it to MCT, but I can take it to my MOS school. I can continue to blog then as well as stay in touch. By the way, my blog needs serious updating. I am aware. Moving on…

Also, for my birthday, I celebrated by going to a restaurant called Zeppo. It’s an Italian restaurant and it is delicious.  I got…

with

fresh salmon thin crust pizza that had garlic, goat cheese, spinach, and capers. It was amazing. I seriously ate the whole thing then went to Coldstone.

With food, I am just enjoying myself although it is a struggle for me to not step on the scale in the morning. I’m starving all the time though. I came home from boot camp and I just want to eat. My stomach is a pit I think.

It will be even more so since I signed up for the Worst Day of the Year Ride.

It’s a bike ride in Portland. There is an 18 mile course and a 45 mile one. Guess which one I did?  The 45 mile one. I may kill my legs. Oh well. I’m excited despite the guilt my mom placed on me for leaving her by herself all day. It’s the day before I leave for North Carolina too. I feel somewhat bad about it, but I don’t know if I will have another opportunity.

Well, I hope all of you are doing well. Share anything you like with me because I’m very lazy/busy/tired to stalk your blogs.

I’ll leave with you some past eats

 

“Common sense is necessary … more so than high tech. Race to the
finish not race from the start, pace yourself, run your own race and
don’t get sucked into someone else’s, walk when you need too, run when
you can, eat, drink and be merry for tomorrow we will hurt.”
– Kevin Sayers


10 Responses to “Pacing”

  1. Tara February 9, 2012 at 1:17 PM #

    Oh pace… I think it’s so easy to get so wrapped up in it. Your speed will come back. It’s hard not to get it immediately but if your legs could do it before, they can do it now. You certainly haven’t hit the peak when the opposite starts happening! You’re in pretty fantastic shape for not having run consistently for 3 months!!

    That ride sounds awesome. I mean, it sucks that your Mom isn’t all for it but I think she’ll forgive you!

  2. Alexandra February 9, 2012 at 2:14 PM #

    Happy belated bday! I think your running times are freakin boss for not being able to do distance at boot camp. I know you’ll get back to where you want to be soon though 🙂
    Oh and that bike ride sounds HARDCORE! I can’t wait to hear about it!

  3. anonymous February 9, 2012 at 3:03 PM #

    Hey! Congrats on making it through bootcamp! (I am a secret reader of yours… I’ve been following your blog for months, but I rarely comment on blogs. Your blog is my fav one out there! I really relate to you)
    Anyways, I have two things to say. First, don’t get ‘nervous’ about not running for three months. Three months actually is not long at all. I’ve heard that professional runners take 3 month breaks every two years or so. Second, keep the food pics coming! Yum! I love that you actually EAT unlike other bloggers that have like, a salad for ‘lunch.’ Im always always hungry as well… and sometimes reading blogs makes me feel guilty for eating ‘a lot.’ Seriously looking at your pics of pumpkin pie and pizza make me drool, and they make me feel more confident about myself, too!
    Okay adios:)

  4. IHeartVegetables February 9, 2012 at 6:10 PM #

    Why have I not had a peanut butter snickers!?!

    And a 45 mile ride?!?!! That’s insane!

  5. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 9, 2012 at 6:19 PM #

    WHAT.WHY DID I NOT KNOW YOU WERE GOING TO NC? So close to VA. I suppose I can’t just waltz and visit though. Although what part of NC? Anyways-I digress.

    Your birthday meal sounds fabulous. So good. And 45 mile bike ride? You are my idol. Good luck with that.

    • lifttorun February 10, 2012 at 7:27 AM #

      I’ll be in VA for my MOS school. And I can’t remember where I’ll be in NC. One of the big military forts.

  6. Britannie February 9, 2012 at 8:08 PM #

    Happy belated birthdaaay! 🙂

  7. Sarah February 10, 2012 at 5:59 AM #

    Happy Birthday pretty lady! A 45 mile bike ride, damn girl work it that is SO AWESOME!!! Happy to see your enjoying some Mighty Maple PB, addictive stuff it is! North Carolina soon, are you excited/ready for it?

    • lifttorun February 10, 2012 at 7:26 AM #

      Hah. I would like the be home a little longer, but I guess the sooner I get done with this, the sooner I’ll have freedom.

Leave a Reply

