Fuel Me Up

11 Feb

Happy Saturday!

I started my day off with 15 minutes on the elliptical, an hour spin class, and a five-mile run. I felt fast so hopefully my pace was up there. It will be my last run until God knows when.

Well, I am riding 45 miles tomorrow.

I have never rode my bike that far. I think the furthest I have gone on bike is 30 something miles. I’m rather excited to ride 45 miles in the lovely city of Portland.

Being away from Portland for three months made me realize how much I love Portland. I seriously could live here my whole life I think. As long as I get to travel, I’ll be fine with living in Portland and the weirdo’s.

Enough of my love for Portland.

As I was saying, I am beyond pumped for tomorrow except I have no idea how to fuel myself before riding 45 miles. I know on bike rides you can eat more and not have to worry about stomach issues. Fueling for a bike ride is different from fueling for a long run.

If you guys have any suggestions on what to eat before a long bike ride, hit me up. I don’t think I’m going to have a bagel or anything to carby. Maybe just my usual breakfast of cereal, cottage cheese, and a banana? I’ll be bringing gels and fruit with me on my ride. Also, there will be plenty of rest stops with food from local food places so if I get hungry, I’ll be okay.

In all honesty, I hate fueling during a long run/bike ride. I never do it. Even during two-hour runs, I don’t eat or drink anything (unless it is water). I know that’s wrong and not healthy for training purposes, but I never get hungry on my runs. However, I do eat immediately after I work out.

I will start eating properly for training purposes when I finally settle down at wherever the military places me. When I arrive in Virginia, I plan on finding a marathon to train for. I know I am ready for marathons. Before, I was just physically ready for a marathon, but now I know I am mentally ready for a marathon. I am fully prepared and I want to start training for a race.

I also plan on stricter eating habits. I do eat sweets daily (at night), but I want to cut that out once I settle down. I want to go on the Paleo diet too. I ordered The Paleo Diet for Athletes, written by Dr. Loren Cordain and Joe Frie off of amazon.com. I won’t get it until I come back from MCT. I have been reading a lot on the paleo diet and I like a lot of the aspects of it. I read about it in Triathlete magazine. A lot of athletes follow it. As much as I would like to be vegan, I need dairy. Without dairy, my body suffers. It suffered enough while I was in boot camp because I wasn’t getting enough iron. I had a clump of hair fall out. Disgusting. Anyway, once I settle down wherever I am, I am going to start training hardcore and eating like a professional athlete. All and all, if I want to be one, I have to act like one.

What are you views on the Paleo Diet? If you didn’t know, the paleo diet is based on lean meats, seafood, fresh fruits, and fresh vegetables, which can promote peak athletic performance. Obviously I would not be eating any meat. No meat for me.

I hope everything goes smoothly for me on the Worst Day of Year Ride. It will be my last day in Portland. I’ll get a post in tomorrow too before I take off. I think I may do a vlog because I got my laptop! It has a webcam and all that cool stuff all the cool kids have.

I leave you with my recent eats:


Eggplant, Indian rice, onion rings, asparagus, crab cake
Crab and shrimp

Have a wonderful weekend!

7 Responses to “Fuel Me Up”

  1. Alexandra February 11, 2012 at 6:46 PM #

    Ahh best of luck tomorrow!!! And enjoy your last night in Portland! 🙂

  2. Lindsey February 11, 2012 at 6:46 PM #

    I never comment, but I read your blog all of the time…I figured I’d pipe up and say something since I have a lot of experience with biking 🙂

    For longer rides, I like to eat a larger meal that’s full of good carbs and protein. An omelet or an egg scramble with a yogurt parfait is my go to pre-ride fuel. During the ride, I just feel it out. If I don’t need anything, cool. However, I always have at least two bottles of water, one being plain water and the other being something with electrolytes. For food, I like to bring something like a cliff bar that I can break off and eat bites of whenever.

    Biking is very easy to eat whatever. The only thing I’ve learned the hard way was to make sure you eat enough protein…I bonk pretty quickly without it. I don’t find that I need the protein when I run.

    Since this is your first ride, I would play it safe and bring more than you think you might need. You don’t want to get out there and be miserable! Biking is a whole new world. Enjoy it and good luck! You’re in way better shape than most people, and even more importantly, you probably have a huge upper hand in the mental game.

  3. Sarah February 12, 2012 at 3:13 AM #

    Have fun today! Kick some ass 😉 Paleo is amazing, I was doing it strictly for 5-6 months and noticed so much gain preformance wise. I truly beleive that is how we are meant to eat for the best function. However, I also think that it is tough now with how much food out there that isn’t ‘paleo’ and I know people who have done a 90/10 approach to it which has also turned out in their favor. It’s up to you buttercup!

  4. Devyn February 12, 2012 at 6:19 AM #

    With paleo if you’re not eating meat make sure you are eating enough fat from health sources so you don’t live off of fruits and vegetables alone! Although I know you are too smart and listen to your body to do that, I on the other hand am speaking from experience on that haha

    • lifttorun February 12, 2012 at 7:42 AM #

      I would still eat seafood and other fats. I still need to read up on it.

  5. Tara February 12, 2012 at 6:42 AM #

    I’m interested in paleo but… I’m not into the whole meat thing and I love my carbs. I really need to buckle down and start eating a little less ice cream and cookies before track season! I definitely feel better without them but they are so gosh darn delicious. Good luck with your ride today!! I know you’re gonna rock it!!

  6. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 12, 2012 at 7:06 AM #

    Good luck today on your ride girl. I actually am the same way with fueling. I don’t fuel during runs a lot of the time because I don’t feel I need it. When I do fuel for races it makes all the differences (really in halves I guess). I eat right after and everything works out. While you were gone, I ran an 18 mile run with no fuel and felt amazing. I guess it really just depends on the situation.

    As far as the paleo diet-my navigating the American Diet, we have to critique and physically go on a diet and that is the one I wanted to choose!

Leave a Reply

