Worst Day of the Year Ride & Talk to You Guys Soon

12 Feb

Before I make you depressed that I am leaving for 29 days for MCT in North Carolina, where I doubt I will be able to blog, I will talk about…

As you may know, I signed up for the 45 mile challenge. The challenge was the fact that every single bike rider that passed me or just saw me had to say, “You’re riding that mountain bike? You have big tires! Mountain bike tires! Woah, you’re getting a workout.” After about twenty people saying that to me, the challenge was not to say, “Shut up.”

It is true. I rode my mountain bike 45 miles and it wasn’t that tough. Considering I never rode 45 miles, I did rather well. Not to beep my own horn or anything.

The bike ride started off at 9 AM. 

The course started off in Portland then followed up to the Portland Rose Garden and the zoo. That was a steep climb, but it was short so my legs felt fine. My brother was worried about me doing the hills. I was fine the whole time.

After the Portland zoo, the bike course went to Hillsboro, Oregon. That was quick speed wise because it was mostly downhill. I should have taken advantage of that because the next part of the course went to Old Germantown Road. When I say it was uphill, it was all uphill. I’m not exaggerating. I was going so slow for several miles  and I was panting. I tried going faster, but no matter how much I pushed my legs, the hill just got steeper. I forget how much in elevation I went up, but it was A LOT.

After Old Germantown Road, I was back in Portland on the North side. 

The bike ride went fast after that even though I had 15 more miles to go. The rest stops definitely helped. At the rest stops, there were bananas, fruit bars, and cookies. I barely fueled myself during the bike ride. I had a fruit bar, water, half a banana, and an oatmeal cookie. I don’t know how much I burned during the 45 mile bike ride. I could check my Garmin, but I try not to look at the calories I burned while working out or I’ll get obsessive again.

Anyway, the bike ride was great. I loved it and it was great way to spend my last day in Portland.

I still do not want to leave Portland or my family.

Well, the bike ride took me a little over three hours. I don’t know if that is fast or not. Considering the hills, that’s not too bad and I was on a mountain bike. Apparently, I’m crazy for doing that.

I’m crazy for still being awake when I have to wake up at 4 AM tomorrow morning so I can get on a plane to North Carolina. Luckily, at MCT, I can have my phone so I may be on Facebook every now and then. However, I don’t know when I get to use my phone. If you want to text me, send me a message. We can keep in touch by texting or writing. Let me know!

My last meal at home was at New Season’s Market. I got a salmon filet with a salad.


Dessert was an apple brown sugar mini cake.

Some other good eats that I ate are…

In the inside…

Don’t miss me too much, guys! Soon enough I’ll be back to normal blogging and I’ll have a normal life again. I have to keep reminding myself that it won’t be like this forever. Please keep me in your thoughts. I know that sounds a little selfish, but I need some positive vibes my way. Feel free to send me positive messages.  If you want to write me, send me your address in an e-mail. Take care, everyone. 

I leave you with this:

7 Responses to “Worst Day of the Year Ride & Talk to You Guys Soon”

  1. Alexandra February 13, 2012 at 2:53 AM #

    Wow sounds like an intense ride, but what a fun way to spend your last day in Portland. Hopefully the time will fly so you can reunite with your family soon! Wishing you all the best my friend!! 🙂

  2. Tara February 13, 2012 at 3:49 AM #

    I totally would have been on the mountain bike too. You made an awesome choice for your last day in Portland activity – nothing like being active and riding around the city. The idea of eating on the bike kinda weirds me out – I just don’t want real food while exercising to be honest. I guess it’s not so uncomfortable on the bike.

    Good luck!! You’ll get through and this time it’s not nearly as long. Hang in there!

  3. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 13, 2012 at 4:10 AM #

    For me, I would have made wiseass comments all the way through the bike ride to people.

    You’ll get through this girl and I would love to write you! I have been looking for your email and can’t find it. Blerg-mine is lolzthatswim@gmail.com!

  4. hippierunner February 14, 2012 at 5:30 PM #

    You will get through it! The month will fly by hopefully. btw you rocked that bike ride!

  5. Martin March 9, 2012 at 5:27 AM #

    Yay your coming back soon! I’m hoping 3 days! Post as soon as you get back? I miss you

  6. Coach Dion March 20, 2012 at 2:36 AM #

    Hi there, just been blog hopping and I had to leave a comment: Love the fact that you just hopped on a bike a cycled 45miles… we have a 66mile race/ride here in cape Town and 25 000 people ride it, so all I say is get on the mountain bike and ride, have fun out there, I race when I run, but when cycling I have fun!!!

    well done

Leave a Reply

