Easter + Ramblings

8 Apr

Happy Easter!

My Easter started off with a good breakfast. This is my normal breakfast…

I usually eat melon or cantaloupe with a banana, apple, and/or pear. I don’t eat all three. I eat a banana and an apple or something like that. The chow hall always has a lot of fruit so my breakfast is mostly fruit with cottage cheese. I cannot resist cottage cheese. It’s not like I get Greek yogurt here. Wahhh.

Then, I went on a run. I have to sneak off by myself to run since no one wants to run a billion miles with me. I did 10.54 miles @ a 6:58 pace. I wanted to do more miles, but my legs haven’t been feeling ‘fresh’. You know what I mean?

I followed the run with 24 minutes on the elliptical. My legs feel rather deadish.

Believe it or not, the barracks I am currently living in have a gym. I won’t lie to you. It’s a pretty average Joe gym. There are some weights that the dudes hog, two ellipticals (one is broken), a treadmill, and a stationary bike. I want to lift weights more; however, I’m too intimated. I don’t know why. I use to lift weights at my old gym all the time. Here, I’m intimated and embarrassed that I lift like 20 and 30 pounders while the guys lift 80’s.

Back to running…

On base we have The Battlefield. It’s actually a little tourist section with amazing running trails. Every time I run in the trails, I see deer and horses. It’s beautiful. It reminds me of home actually.

Well, this week I ran basically every day on my own time except for Wednesday. Wednesday’s here are considered ‘field day’ where we clean our rooms for an inspection. That means no liberty so I can’t run. Nonetheless, we do have PT every morning with our class. PT here is a joke. Yeah, it gets you moving, but we run for like twenty minutes at, like, a 12 minute mile pace. I swear I can walk it. PT here is for body maintenance, which is funny because a lot of people here are chunky. Not all, but there are quite a few. I blame the vending machines with donuts, Poptarts, and potato chips.

As I was saying, I ran basically every day this week. My stats look like this:

Monday: 8.39 miles @ 7:11 pace
Tuesday: 12 minute run (two miles at least) with a staff sergeant under a seven minute mile pace + weights + 50 minutes on the elliptical
Wednesday: PT run in the morning
Thursday: 8.51 miles @ 7:12 pace
Friday: 8.62 miles @ 7:04 pace
Saturday: 11.17 miles @ 7:10 pace
Sunday: 10.54 miles @ 6:58 pace

Total mileage: 49.23 miles

Of course that is not even close to what I want to be running!

Of course not everyone can be like Miley either…

I bet she’s better than Kara Goucher.

I kid, I kid.

Anyway, you can add a few miles that I run for PT in the morning with my class, but I can’t even count those because they are so darn slow.

As you see, I run like eight miles daily. Doing a bit over eight miles takes me an hour and that’s all I can do when I have a buddy running with me. It’s only fair to them. I know not everyone is a crazy runner like me. That’s why I am a weekend warrior with my eleven miles. Hah! I wish I was doing seventeen.

I hope this week to ramp up the mileage even though on Saturday I will be at an amusement park all day. I’ll just run on the treadmill at 10 PM. I don’t care. I just want to run.

My running face

And I absolutely love my running shoes. My mom sent me these:

They are like six ounces or something. Whatever they are, they are incredible. They go great with my unshaven legs.

Well, I hope I have a better week of running. I have a few posts up my sleeve about what I’m eating, reading, ‘dieting’ and more running. Obviously.

Enjoy the rest of your Easter!

I got some honorable eats for you. I couldn’t forget…

“Believe that you can run farther or faster. Believe that you’re young enough, old enough, strong enough, and so on to accomplish everything you want to do. Don’t let worn-out beliefs stop you from moving beyond yourself.”
-John Bingham

10 Responses to “Easter + Ramblings”

  1. sarah April 8, 2012 at 4:41 PM #

    SO happy you’re able to blog again- I always enjoy reading:).

    That breakfast looks delicious, but I would be so sad without greek yogurt too.
    And it looks like a successful week of runs to me- I’d actually kill for that mileage since I’m just getting off crutches having broken my leg 11 weeks ago( not recommended BTW!). Well actually I was never near as fast as you anyway:p.

    Looking forward to your upcoming post, and YAY for the honourable eats, iv miiiiissed them!
    Xxx

    • lifttorun April 8, 2012 at 5:22 PM #

      How the hell did you break your leg?

      • sarah April 8, 2012 at 6:04 PM #

        Umm, take this as a warning(just in case:).
        I overtrained. Continued running through pain in my shins, which I thought were just shin splints, but were actually fractures. My tibia consequently completely broke-NOT FUN.
        It was a result of years of overtraining and being underweight:/.

  2. Tara April 8, 2012 at 4:58 PM #

    I second Sarah’s comment! It’s so good to hear from you.

    Gosh I wish I could get back to running like you! Even if you think you’re not in the best shape or anything, you’re still my running idol! Can I just say I’m a big fan of your running face? I feel the same way. Actually I think running at night is quite nice!

  3. Alexandra April 8, 2012 at 6:35 PM #

    It’s so great to see your posts again, I missed them and your hilarious celebs pics! 🙂 Your love of running is so inspirational too, you truly have a gift my friend. Hope you had a great Easter and hope you have a great week ahead!

  4. IHeartVegetables April 8, 2012 at 7:46 PM #

    Ohhh my gosh! You ran that far and THEN did an elliptical workout?! Haha that’s crazy!

  5. HollieisFueledByLOLZ April 9, 2012 at 3:16 PM #

    I’m really glad to see you going to be able to ramp up those miles. I am preying I get to see you in May and we get to run together! You are awesome and don’t let anyone or anything tell you otherwise. I don’t know ANY other gorgeous kickass runners in the marines…yeah just saying.

  6. nutritionforarunner April 9, 2012 at 7:08 PM #

    I love hearing from you again! Your so strong and inspire me every single day.

  7. Hundewanderer April 13, 2012 at 12:50 PM #

    I’m fairly new here. I wanted to say “hi” and let you know you are truly an inspiration for me. I’m 40-something and a lot of healthy blogs posted by young people are not interesting to me, I can’t relate. You are bright, eat well, and you’re running your butt off! I’m not a runner, I feel like a hippopotamus when I jog, LOL. I do love to hike and one day will begin trail running. Keep up the hard work, and take care of you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Homepage - April 25, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: lifttorun.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/easter-ramblings/ […]…

Leave a Reply

