Crazy Runner Girl of VA

21 Apr

Happy Saturday!

I haven’t done much today besides run (duh), sleep, and eat (double duh). I am even eating Chinese food with lots of soy sauce as I write this. And what’s even better is that the barracks here have cable. I had no idea. Now I can watch the news and more importantly, Khloe and Lamar.

I’m actually watching Seinfeld. I’m by myself in the female lounge area so it’s okay for me to laugh out loud and take photos of myself.

By the way, I’ve been drinking diet coke a lot. I use to never drink soda, not even diet, but I have been craving the carbonation. I bet diet soda is bad for your running. Maybe that’s why I have been suffering on my runs lately. Any thoughts?

Anyway, after sleeping in this morning due to being out late, I went on a run with some random guy. My name is known here at the detachment. Everyone knows me as this crazy runner so he wanted to run with me so he can improve his three-mile time. We did four miles or so at a 6:43 pace. It was awesome. Then, on my own time, I ran another nine miles so I ran a total of 13.95 miles. Where’s the other .5? I don’t know. I was too dehydrated to continue.

All and all, this week was pretty good. Currently, my class is cooking larger portions of food and ‘serving’ it like we would in the mess hall. I have already been chief cook, which is great. You don’t cook anything and you just make sure everyone is on time with their cooking. Every day we cook breakfast then lunch/dinner. So far I have made bacon, eggs, omelets, ham, soup, cabbage, and vegetables. Yada yada yada. It’s rather awesome.

I ended my week by going out to Applebee’s. I got the lime shrimp, which is around 300 calories. Applebee’s has these weight watcher meals and they are lower than 550 calories. It’s funny because the meal is so small. No reason they are 300 calories. I got dessert there too. I got their chocolate chip cookie sundae and the waitress had to comment that I ate the whole thing. She made like three comments on how much I ate. I despise when people do that! Yeah, I ate a 1500 calorie dessert, but I’m pretty sure I run over 50 miles a week. Her tip went out the window. Yeah, mess with me.

After eating and being insulted for eating a lot, I went to the movies to see American Reunion.

It was hilarious. Of course the first American Pie is the best, but American Reunion was good.

Now moving on past my exciting life…

In my past two running related magazines, they have had interesting articles on some amazing athletes that I believe you should know about.

One athlete is…

Lauren Fleshmen, professional runner and behind the making of Picky Bars. Not only that, she’s from Oregon. Holla girl.

Taken from Running Times Magazine:

“Fleshman has chased athletic dreams from California to Ohio and back again. Success has defined every step of her career–Foot Locker runner-up in high school, three straight NCAA 5,000m championships, and a U.S. 5,000m title–but injury has often followed close behind.

She tries holding the Olympic goal at arm’s length, but she still views her future in terms of Olympiads: 2012 and, probably, 2016 frame the family she wants to start. She’s not holding off on other aspirations, though. I ask how she balances everything. “I don’t do it well all the time, to be honest. There’s time when I have to drop everything except for running just to reestablish that as the primary objective,” she says. “I disappear. I don’t know that that’s the healthiest way to do things, but that’s the only way I can do it sometimes.” She’s already planning to vanish for the final week of June. The day of the Olympic trials 5,000m final, Fleshman won’t wake up in her own bed. She’s moving out of the house, away from her businesses and her writing.”

I personally just love how down to earth Lauren seems. She reminds me a lot of myself actually, which may sound somewhat conceited. I’m one to just disappear and I get down in the dumps at times too. Running helps me deal with that. 

However, she is one to look for. She has her head on straight when it comes to running. That’s what I love about her. 

Well, I mention another amazing athlete tomorrow. As of now, I got some honorable eats. 

“You also need to look back, not just at the people who are running behind you but especially at those who don’t run and never will… those who run but don’t race…those who started training for a race but didn’t carry through…those who got to the starting line but didn’t in the finish line…those who once raced better than you but no longer run at all. You’re still here. Take pride in wherever you finish. Look at all the people you’ve outlasted.”
Joe Henderson

4 Responses to “Crazy Runner Girl of VA”

  1. Tara April 21, 2012 at 6:20 PM #

    Oh my gosh I used to watch Khloe and Lamar while working out, haha. I love it. I’m not sure if diet soda really has an impact on running… if it did I guess I’d give it up, but I kind of love it and it’s fake sweet goodness.

  2. dorseyml April 21, 2012 at 6:24 PM #

    Nice blog! I am a runner too, and just started a running blog on wordpress. Check it out, if you are ever bored. 🙂

  3. Alexandra April 22, 2012 at 5:15 AM #

    Sounds like you’ve been nonstop busy! I hate it when waitors do that too, or if they start getting super personal with you. I just want to eat not hear their life story hahaha
    And man that no bake cookie thing looks awesome 😀
    Hope you have a great rest of your weekend!

  4. HollieisFueledByLOLZ April 22, 2012 at 3:30 PM #

    I love diet soda. I am a mountain dew addict. Give it up? OH hell no. Anyways, I hate when waiters comment on what I eat (or anyone in general) it’s actually my biggest pet pet peeve ever.

Leave a Reply

