The Future Freaks Me Out

11 May

Hello!

I have twelve more days in Virginia then I am home in Portland for a while before I head to…

Okinawa, Japan!

No joke. I am going to Japan for, like, two years for my first tour of the Marine Corps.

I’m excited actually. Of course I have some remorse about leaving home and being so far away from home, but I think it will be a great experience.

I know I haven’t updated in a while so let me give a quick little recap of what’s been going on…

I have been reading a lot.


My mom sends me a book or a magazine practically every day.

Currently I am reading…

And…

This book is so amazing! Yeah, it’s a graphic, out-there book, but I cannot put it down. It’s really good.  Check it out.

March 30th – May 6th

I ran every day I believe except for Wednesday since that is our cleaning day and Ihave no liberty. I ran a total of 56.60 miles in that week.

This week, however, I did not run Tuesday due to some pain/tenderness in my lower back and left side of my ass. It hurts enough where I was limping so I just didn’t run. It still hurts, but not like it was in the beginning of the week. I ran nine miles yesterday and I just take a lot of pain killers just in case. I know, it’s wrong and I should just rest or do something else, but I don’t have a nice gym like I do at home. I don’t have an option of spin class or a lot of free weights. There’s only so much I can do.

Luckily, I’m home in twelve days! I feel so refreshed knowing I am going home.

I cannot wait to tan again, see friends, see my old coworkers, and go to my gym. My doggies and kitties probably miss me so much, if they remember be. I have been gone since February.

It bothers me when I read on Facebook that my friends have to wake up at eight for classes. Boo hoo.

Here is my schedule:

0445 AM: Wake up to be outside by 5 AM
0530 AM: Do a lame, easy, boring workout
0620: Shower
0650: Head to chow
0745: Classes/cooking
1100: Lunch
1300: Classes/cooking
1500: Hopefully done with classes
1630: Liberty starts
1700: Run/work out for about two hours or less
1900: Order Chinese
2030: Liberty secured
2200: Bed, if I can fall asleep

I get close to seven hours of sleep if I am fortunate and can actually sleep. I have a difficult time falling asleep because I just ate and worked out. I’m so wound up that I can’t sleep.

My day is nonstop. I go nonstop. I have been getting out of class at three or later so I can take a nap, but it’s tough.

On top of that, I struggle with the gosh darn eating disorder. I’m hungry every hour and I just don’t want to eat. Then, I eat and I feel terrible. I hate myself for it.

But here is what I have been eating…


I’m hoping that when I get to Japan, things will get better and that I’ll have some more freedom. I don’t know what to expect.

The future freaks me out.

Well, enjoy your weekend. I’m heading to Busch Gardens tomorrow. Woo.

14 Responses to “The Future Freaks Me Out”

  1. lucywass May 12, 2012 at 3:44 AM #

    What do the marines do in Japan? I don’t know anything about the American marines

    • lifttorun May 12, 2012 at 4:13 AM #

      They do everything. It’s a main base. I’m going there to cook.

  2. feeedingbb May 12, 2012 at 4:50 AM #

    The future scares me too…a lot! That must be exciting to go to Japan, but also a bit scary having to move from somewhere you are familiar with! That sure is a lot of miles for one week, and a crazy busy schedule!! 🙂

  3. Alexandra May 12, 2012 at 5:34 AM #

    Dude that’s so exciting you get to go home for a bit before your jet setting adventure to Japan! I can’t believe you’re going so far!! I bet you’ll have some more freedom with foods there too, maybe youll get to try some exotic stuff 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  4. Erin May 12, 2012 at 8:03 AM #

    Oh my gosh! Japan is so cool 🙂 Well, I guess I’ve never been to Okinawa, but I’ve visited 8 other cities/towns there and loved every single one of them. Best of luck!

    And… random, but I totally have that Brooks “Run Happy” shirt!

  5. Tara May 12, 2012 at 2:28 PM #

    I’m completely freaked out by the future too. I mean I’m not going as far or doing anything as difficult as you have done, but big changes are terrifying. There is so much unknown, but in a way that can be exciting too. Japan will definitely be an interesting experience and you will probably grow and change in so many ways.

  6. HollieisFueledByLOLZ May 13, 2012 at 6:18 AM #

    Um. I don’t put this on the blog at all, but I lived in Okinawa (on Camp Courtney) for two years. The future freaks me out as well. I’m glad you get to go back to Portland for a few days beforehand though. You will experience great things in Japan (like a long ass flight series of flights to get there ;))

    • lifttorun May 13, 2012 at 7:38 AM #

      Did you like it there?

    • lizzyj1305 May 20, 2012 at 4:49 PM #

      Hollie was are SO twins…I lived in Okinawa (4-5yrs) my Dad was in the Air Force!!

  7. allieksmith May 13, 2012 at 6:10 PM #

    Wow, Japan! How cool! I’m glad you get to spend some time back in Portland for a bit 🙂

  8. HW May 15, 2012 at 7:12 PM #

    You are very fortunate to have the opportunity to visit Japan. Enjoy every moment, take a lot of photos, journal your feelings. Be smart and be brave, don’t let fear hold you back. Happy travels.

  9. Kailey May 16, 2012 at 4:18 PM #

    If that is shrimp lo mein then you and me are two of a kind 🙂
    Love Love Love that stuff!!

    Safe Travels girl!

  10. lizzyj1305 May 20, 2012 at 4:48 PM #

    my little sis was born in Okinawa!! My Dad was a Pilot in the Air Force, and got his Medical degree schooling paid for while in active duty!
    I was only 4-5yrs old when we lived there, but I remember it and my parents LOVED living there. I think you will reallllly like it!
    I hope you’ve been having a great weekend…celebrate you’re coming home soon!!!
    xoxo!

  11. ko0ty May 23, 2012 at 12:05 PM #

    Just found your blog and I love it! That’s pretty cool that you are in the Marine Corps!

Leave a Reply

