Trail Factor Half Marathon

31 May

Oh my gosh. 

Hey, hey!

The worst blogger award goes to yours truly…

Me.

What’s up, guys?

I owe you a recap of my half marathon. Let me say that I haven’t done hills like that in so long and my ass hurts badly.

Well, on May 28th I did the Trail Factor Half Marathon. If you haven’t figured it out by the name already, it was a trail race, which are my favorite.

The elevation was crazy amazing. I’m a sucker for hills and climbing up dirt trails. 

Those squiggly lines mean steep incline.

Anyway, the race started at 8 AM and I was there at 7 AM because my mom is a spaz like that. We showed up, I sat around, and listened to Miley Cyrus Rob Zombie.

I am almost positive that I was the youngest person there. It’s no surprise. I don’t know many 19 year old’s who love running fifteen miles on their free time instead of going to the movies. It’s okay. I have accepted the fact that I’m a weirdo.

Example A:

I have a fake tattoo of bullet holes on my leg. So cool.

Moving on. I obviously peed a few times before everyone starts moving to the starting point. (There is a 50k going on at the same time too.)

And boom! The race started with a, “Go!”

The incredible thing about trail races is that you get to be by yourself on the trail for the majority of the time. I made sure I made my way to the front and I stayed there the remainder of the time. That gives me time to think about whatever, sing out loud, and cuss every time I hit another switch back. 

So, for the next 13.1 miles (probably more), I ran and ran and ran…

Is that Bigfoot?

I think my running stance for my hands is just a permanent thumbs up. Seriously.

After the half way point, I passed one dude. He was pissed too. I caught up with him and then his shoe kept coming untied so he stopped to tie. I was like… really? I have ran two cross-country races with untied shoes. I told him, “Just let it be, man. Keep going.” Such a hippie thing to say.

I passed him and then with, like, a half of a mile to go, I passed another guy.

I crossed the finish line in 1:37. I was 8th place, 1st female, and 1st in my age group. 

It’s funny because the so-called master female runner didn’t finish until twenty minutes after me.

All and all, it was a good race. I love racing. I’m a very competitive person so racing for me is almost natural. I guess that’s the word I’m looking for.

I did win a jacket for being the first female at the half way point. Hurray.

Also, I found out I was adopted that day…

Just kidding. I’m just the only photogenic person in my family.

My family loves me.

Well, that’s my race recap.

Race on, fellas, race on.

8 Responses to “Trail Factor Half Marathon”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ June 1, 2012 at 4:30 AM #

    Great job. That sounds exactly like an upstate NY race! You just get lost in the race and they are almost always started with a ready, set, go! I always peace sign race shots-no other way! 😉

  2. Alexandra June 1, 2012 at 5:30 AM #

    Woohoo great job!! You look awesome too, I’m jealous of your ability to be running like a boss and giving thumbs up simultaneously haha 😉

  3. allieksmith June 1, 2012 at 6:40 AM #

    Great job, you killed it!! I love all of the pictures 🙂

  4. Goober Nut's Life June 1, 2012 at 8:10 AM #

    Great job on the race!! Sounds like you killed it, and those guys had no idea what hit ’em! 😉 I love it when that happens, haha!

    Also, don’t think about how much you haven’t been blogging.. Don’t feel like you owe it to us to write posts all the time! We understand that you’re human and you’re busy, so just write whenever you have something to say or you feel like it, because you made this blog for you, right? 🙂

    Nobody’s gonna stop reading your blog if you stop posting as regularly– we just want to know and see that you’re having fun with your life! We all care about you and that’s why we like to come back on your blog and read it all the time! 😀

    Love from your neighboring state in Washington! 😉

  5. Hundewanderer June 1, 2012 at 6:33 PM #

    Congratulations on a trail race well done! 😀

    Oh, and the guy that was pissed off… don’t worry about him, he’s just jealous a little blond girl passed him. He probably blogged about it somewhere 😉

  6. hippierunner June 2, 2012 at 9:47 AM #

    Congrats! Looks like it was fun, esp in that setting with such a beautiful forest!

  7. runariran June 9, 2012 at 7:55 PM #

    Great job! I love trails! You have inspired me to enter into a trail race!

Leave a Reply

