Work, Work, and Some More Work

30 Jun

Hola friends!

Are we even consider friends anymore due to the fact I barely update?

Well, I have a good excuse and not because my dog ate my laptop.

For the past two weeks, this was my schedule:

2:30 AM – wake up, shower, get ready, dressed.
3:30 AM – work/cook breakfast
Work
Cook
Work
Cook
Eat a salad
Work
Cook
6:30 PM – head home from work
7:00 PM – work out
10:00 PM – try to fall asleep

I would get like four hours of sleep and I was working non-stop. For two weeks at the chow hall, I was on sustain training (working all shifts while others work normal shifts) for cooking. The second week, I asked about another job within the chow hall and got it! I’m in charge of the funds of the chow hall and the training of the Marines that work at the chow hall. It’s a job/billet with a lot of responsibility. I work from 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM now. I hope to work out before work and after.

I want to get back into running high mileage again and lifting. My body was in great shape when I was lifting and running. Hell. I looked good. I want to look like Hollie

Anyway, I’ve been running slower than normal since I talked to a running coach.

I have been asked to do the Marine Corps Marathon by the Marine Corps Running Team. I agreed to it, but that DOES NOT mean I get to do it. It’s up to my unit and what they want for me. Sucks, but that’s the Marines. I want to do it badly. Training would be difficult because Japan is humid, sticky, hot, and smells like ass. How do you run in the heat?

If I can do it, I would be beyond happy.

Okay. My point is, I have been running on the treadmill at 7:30 pace and under because the coach told me that running at my pace (7:00 or lower) does nothing to help me. I’ve been running about eight miles plus and killing myself on the stair climber. That thing is  brutal!


I plan on doing this lifting routine with cardio:

Monday – Chest and Triceps
Chest
Exercise Sets Reps
Dumbbell Bench Press 4 8, 8, 6, 6
Incline Bench Press 4 8, 8, 6, 6
Cable Crossovers 4 8
Triceps
Exercise Sets Reps
Close Grip Bench Press 3 8
Lying Tricep Extension 3 8
Rope Pulldowns 3 8
Wednesday – Back and Biceps
Back
Exercise Sets Reps
Exercise Sets Reps
Wide Grip Pull Up 4 8 (slow)
Close Grip Pull Down 4 8, 8, 6, 6
Cable Row 4 8
Biceps
Exercise Sets Reps
Barbell Curl 3 8, 8, 6
Incline Bench Dumbbell Curl 3 8
Dumbbell Preacher Curl 3 8
Biceps
Lat pulldown

Friday – Legs and Shoulders
Legs
Exercise Sets Reps
Squat 4 8
Stiff Legged Deadlift 3 8
Leg Curl 3 8, 8, 6
Leg Extension 3 8, 8, 6
Standing Calf Raise 4 15, 12, 10, 8
Shoulders
Exercise Sets Reps
Military Press 4 8, 8, 6, 6
Dumbbell Lateral Raise 3 8
Bent Over Rev Fly 3 8

Sounds good? Then, I’ll be following Chef Katelyn’s clean eating of July program thingie. I bought a blender and everything. I need ideas for smoothies! Something I can make too with my limited supplies. I’m practically living in a college dorm.

I want to get back up to eighty miles a week while lifting. It’s going to be difficult. I just want to lose weight, train well, get my abs back, and look good.

Help me out! Support me. Give me workout ideas. What do you follow? How do you train?

So, with my fours of sleep a night in the past two weeks, working out was tough. I was taking some pre-workout powder before running.

Excuse my language, but this stuff is the shiatsu. I feel like I can go forever!

After I run my measly eight miles and die on the stair climber…

I eat oatmeal or cereal with Greek yogurt and peanut butter galore.

I have been eating pretty well. At work, I eat salads and protein bars. Then, at night I eat more like oatmeal and what not.

Well, things got better once I could work out.

I feel better when I can run although I’m still a fatty.  At least I feel like one.

I can’t wait to work ‘normal’ hours and do my own training program. Hopefully it all goes well. I am so nervous about lifting around guys.

By the way, there is like six girls here for every hundred guys. So the gym is me and fifty dudes lifting a billion pounds. I’m like, “Hey, don’t mind me grabbing this ten pounder.” Not really. I lift more than that, but you get my point.

In other news, I have some random photos of awesomeness



Currently reading:

Enjoy your weekend! 

10 Responses to “Work, Work, and Some More Work”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ June 30, 2012 at 8:09 AM #

    Good heavens you are so freaking busy. I couldn’t imagine running and being that busy. I agree with your coach though-I do all my easy running upwards of 8-9 minute mile pace. It has really allowed me to peak at the appropriate times! 🙂

    Miss your blogs!

  2. AntosDoesLife June 30, 2012 at 8:11 AM #

    I know that we don’t know each other very well but I wanted to give you some encouragement. You

  3. AntosDoesLife June 30, 2012 at 8:16 AM #

    Sorry, my iPad wigged out on me. You are so brave first of all for traveling that far away! It’s an exciting opportunity which you will remember forever!! Also, you are not a fatty! Trust me and all of the bloggers out here on that!

    I have recently been trying to lean out as well. I have a copy of an e book called burn the fat, feed the muscle, which is a program directled at losing body fat verses lean muscle. Basically you eat small meals more often throughout the day and cycle your calories. If this is something you’re interested in, let me know and I will email you a copy! My email is nantoszewski@gmail.com.

    Youre doing great over there and I hope you’re enjoying yourself a little bit!! Hopefully your schedule will normal out here soon!

  4. Tara June 30, 2012 at 8:33 AM #

    Wow you sure are busy – now I feel bad about skipping the gym because my schedule really doesn’t compare. I really would like to get back into routine too (though the running is coming along slowly..) and get my fit body back.

  5. IHeartVegetables June 30, 2012 at 8:42 AM #

    Oh my gosh girl, that’s insane!!! You need some breaks in your life!

  6. Goober Nut's Life June 30, 2012 at 12:21 PM #

    Oh wow! 4 hours of sleep?! I can’t imagine doing 8 miles (I struggle with 7!) AND THEN a stairclimber workout on that little sleep! You’re committed, girl!

    Don’t worry about a thing– you’ll lose whatever you want to lose eventually; just don’t freak out about it! It’s not meant to be impossible, so just as long as you’re treating your body well, it’ll do what you want it to do. 🙂

  7. Alexandra June 30, 2012 at 3:01 PM #

    Dang you’re so busy! 2:30 wake up?!?! Whew I’d be a zombie haha
    I love the looks of that lifting plan, and sweet Vibrams too, those bad boys are the shizzzzz 🙂

  8. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body June 30, 2012 at 5:38 PM #

    That schedule is insane, I am so glad that you got a different position, hopefully you will have a bit more time to do your own thing. You are definitely not a “fatty”, and I hope that you don’t feel that way much longer. That lifting plan looks incredible!

  9. dorseyml June 30, 2012 at 8:36 PM #

    MCM is an awesome race! I sure hope u do it.

  10. Lisa July 2, 2012 at 8:13 AM #

    Hmm, running in japan would be like running here, in NY. Super muggy and really hot lately (90+). So, just remember to stay hydrated and dont’ run as fast, that heat will kill ya. You do get used to it and I like running in the heat now, but only do it once or twice a week. I think I just like the feeling of sweating a lot =) Lifting plan looks great. My advice there is to superset because a. it will make time go by faster and b. you keep your heartrate up the whole time. As for the men in the gym, don’t be intimidated! You know what your’e doing, you’ve done this before. I know the feeling and I do get it sometimes, but they usually just leave me a lone and let me do my thing now. Be confident, I bet they will admire the fact that you’re lifting and you know what you’re doing! Pre-workouts definitely work for energy! I couldn’t workout at 5am without mine!

    Smoothies are great and so easy to make too! Do you use whey at all? There are so many differenty kinds. I mix a scoop with about a cup of almond milk, frozen berries, and spinach. Sounds icky, but it’s good! Keeps you full too.

    Hang in there. Hopefully that schedule gets better for you!

Leave a Reply

