Whadya Say?

1 Jul

What’s up, buddies?

Hi.

Hello. Let’s get started.

I hope everyone’s weekend is going well. I see you all have that food pen pal. Jealous! I know I’m in Japan and all, but if anyone wants to just send me a care package (because you obviously care about me), I would glady return the favor with some Japan food or anything you want. The shipping to Japan is the same rate as the U.S., by the way.

Just sayin’.

Okay, moving on.

I hope you guys all caught what I said in the last post about the Marine Corps Marathon. Before I left MOS school is Fort Lee,  VA., I got a meeting with the Captain of the Marine Corps running team. I am on the team and will be invited to race for them when they want me to. If it all works out, I will race the marathon in October. I want to. Training will be brutal. So far I have only ran on the treadmill here and my base is, like, not big at all. I would have to do practically twenty loops around the perimeter for some heavy mileage. The heat is insane too. Any tips for training in hot weather? 

In addition, in no way do I want to make this a weight loss blog. However, I do want to post my progress on losing weight (photos, scale numbers, and such). This isn’t my past eating disorder talking. I will be doing this the healthy way. No junk food, sweets, and barely any diet soda/energy drinks.

I’m going to being my lifting tomorrow and mix up some stuff on the treadmill. 

Today, I ran eightish miles. I ran four miles in my new shoes…

and four random hill miles in my Vibrams.

I lifted for like fifteen minutes. The gym became packed with males lifting and I felt super embarrassed.

After I did my 60 minutes on the treadmill, 17 minutes on the stair climber, and 20 minutes of lifting, I came back to my room to eat. Duh.

Cereal + peanut butter + applesauce + Greek yogurt + soy milk

Yes,  that is how I dry my hair. It’s cute. I know. Don’t need to tell me. 

So, as I was saying, I would like to post my progress on here. Unfortunately, people get so sensitive about weight loss; especially when a past eating disorder is present. While, yes, it is true that my past eating disorder thoughts take over, yet I can let them go easily.

I hope it is okay that I begin to post weight loss related topics. I just want to get back in shape, lose some pounds, and be in love with myself again. Not in love. Come on now. I’m no Justin Bieber.

Kidding.

I just want to like myself again. I just want to feel pretty.

Any thoughts/opinions, let me know.

9 Responses to “Whadya Say?”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ July 1, 2012 at 5:12 AM #

    The problem that I have found with posting weight loss topics is the ever so common, “you are already so small, don’t lose weight…blah blah blah blah…”. I mean photos can show a completely different image, I gained a lot of weight last year during my stress fracture and I don’t think you could tell in photos that I posted on the blog, but you could tell in real life. I enjoy reading your blog and enjoy how honest it is. I think you should do posts about it-especially if it’s going on in your life!

  2. Sean Breslin July 1, 2012 at 6:55 AM #

    Agreed…it’s your blog, post what you want!

  3. adria biasi July 1, 2012 at 7:45 AM #

    I am in the same position with wanting to get back to being healthier with losing weight. I am over my issues but I can feel that Ivan not eating the right way for being a runner who like to lift as well. Good luck and please keep posting, its nice to hear I’m not alone

  4. Goober Nut's Life July 1, 2012 at 9:34 AM #

    I feel like you should post about your weight-loss efforts– it’s YOUR blog! 🙂
    It’ll help keep you accountable, anyway, and I understand where you’re coming from.. Just because you’ve had issues in the past with an eating disorder, that doesn’t mean that you should never be allowed to try to lose weight ever again.. Especially if the extra weight makes you feel bad about yourself.

    Anyway, I hope things go well so that you can run the marathon in October!! Is it your first? I’m sure you’ll kick butt, like you did during your last half! 😀 The “big boys” probably won’t know what hit them! 😉

  5. Tara July 1, 2012 at 10:56 AM #

    It is YOUR blog. You do whatever the heck you want on here. If people don’t want to see it, I don’t know why they waste their time giving bloggers crap.. just don’t read! I am actually in the same position as you are needing to lose weight and all and like Hollie said it’s easier to tell in real life than it is in pictures. In about a month I can give you tips for training in the heat when I move to Miami… but for now I’m just as clueless as you are. You’re gonna rock the marathon no matter what!

  6. Goober Nut's Life July 1, 2012 at 11:45 AM #

    Hey! I found this article on training in the heat… Hope it’s some help! 🙂
    http://shine.yahoo.com/healthy-living/beat-summer-heat-still-214000041.html

  7. Lauren July 1, 2012 at 12:57 PM #

    I’m so glad you are doing better! Good luck training and please keep posting.

  8. Lisa July 2, 2012 at 8:18 AM #

    Oh- one more thing about running in the heat- try to do it at off times like early in the morning or later at night when the sun has gone down. Makes for much more comfortable running! =)

    And I agree with everyone else, your blog, your business. Do what you want!

  9. lizzyj1305 July 3, 2012 at 8:06 AM #

    I know you will get back to the shape you want to be!! it’s important to do so in a healthy way so that you don’t return to being unhappy or yo-yo-ing…and because it’s your awesome blog you definitely should post about your feelings!!
    thank u for the sweet comment, I would love to be your training-partner!! I have my eyes set on the Portland Marathon in the near future! 🙂 maybe I’ll send you a foodie/training-partner package to kick-off our train-train fun! hehe!!
    I hope your week is going great!
    xoxo!

Leave a Reply

