4th of July Recap

6 Jul

Hey, everyone!

I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July full of everything American.

Despite being a Marine, I didn’t really celebrate 4th of July. It’s not like Japan celebrates it so I just went shopping and spent more money I don’t need to spend on silly running clothes.  

Who am I kidding? I always need running clothes. I spend more money on running gear than beauty products or stuff that matters… like beauty products. I don’t know.

I did go to Red Lobster.

Let me tell you, everything that is American food wise is hundred times better in Japan. I swear. The Baskin Robbin’s, Pizza Hut, Starbucks, fro yo, and Red Lobster tastes so good. The Red Lobster here had items on the menu the normal one in American wouldn’t.

I got the shrimp pizza and fried calamari.

It was insanely good.

Earlier in the day I ate:

Breakfast: pre-workout drink, banana, and

Lunch: Greek yogurt, cereal, orange, soy milk, peanut butter

Snack: coffee, cinnamon bread

Dinner: Red Lobster
Late night snack: 

I think I ran for an hour on the treadmill plus seven minutes on the elliptical and 30 minutes of lifting. 

Thursday…

NO WORK!

I woke up and worked out. What’s new? Did you know the Pope is Catholic?

First, however, I had a smoothie.

In the mix is Muscle Milk, dash of soy milk, banana, coffee, and spinach. So good!

Then I did an 1:37 minutes of cardio. Duh.

Well, I wish my 4th of July could have been better.

It makes me sad. I missed my mom’s birthday. I didn’t forget it, but you know what I mean. I’m here in Japan and she’s in Oregon. I did buy here some $80 earrings and a candle.

Surprisingly, I have not been that homesick here in Japan I miss Oregon a lot. Believe me. I miss my dogs, cats, my family, and my freedom. I really miss my mom. She’s my best friend.

I suppose I have to accept this is my new home for now. 


I do have a ‘date’ tomorrow. I don’t know if I can call it a date. I’m so awkward and self conscious. I bet I’ll cancel at the last minute, yet I was the one to ask him out. That’s not like me.

I have never had a boyfriend and never been on a date so I’m nervous as hell.

Ahhhhh.

7 Responses to “4th of July Recap”

  1. allieksmith July 6, 2012 at 7:30 AM #

    Aww, how nice of you to send your mom b-day presents!! Good luck on the date 🙂

  2. KatsHealthCorner July 6, 2012 at 7:55 AM #

    Hehe. Have fun on your date! And don’t worry so much about it. Try thinking about it as getting to know him better — as friends just hanging out. That might make it less awkward. 🙂

  3. hippierunner July 6, 2012 at 8:18 AM #

    Have fun on your date! I bet your date will since you are funny as heck. 😉

  4. Goober Nut's Life July 6, 2012 at 9:46 AM #

    Yuummmmm!!! Sounds like some delicious eats lately! I’ve never been to a Red Lobster– I need to find someone to take me. 😉
    I seriously wish I could run as much and as often as you! You have the best legs ever for it! 🙂
    Oh, and good luck on your date!!! I don’t have any advice, because I’ve never actually been on one, but just try to have a great time! 😀 That’s all that matters, so don’t let any of the small details stress you out. 🙂

  5. HollieisFueledByLOLZ July 6, 2012 at 3:30 PM #

    I love Red Lobster and I do agree about the everything being better in Japan. There used to be a restaurant right outside of camp Courtney called Shakeys Pizza and I’ve literally never had anything better in my life.

  6. gabby.runs July 6, 2012 at 6:01 PM #

    That sounds like a good day full of good food and hey! who can’t use more running clothes. Best thing to splurge on. 😉 Glad to hear that you’re enjoying Japan, must be a lot different from Oregon! I’m from western Washington and sometimes journey down to Portland for the day. Love it there! Best of luck on your date! Can’t wait to hear how it goes. 😉 Until then … take care! 🙂

  7. IHeartVegetables July 6, 2012 at 7:51 PM #

    I’m sure it’s nice to get familiar-tasting food when you’re in a new place!!

    Running clothes are so motivating 😉

Leave a Reply

