So Sore

7 Jul

How you guys doing?

Don’t care because I’m SORE AS H-E-DOUBLE-HOCKEY-STICK.

I woke up and could barely move.

On Friday, a few of us from the chow hall had a field meet against other jobs like Motor T or administration. Our team came in 6th… out of seven teams. No biggie. At least I was the only girl there and I could kick ass. 

The first event we did was like cross fit almost. We first had to flip a tire, hit it with a sledge hammer fifteen times, carry water jugs, carry ammo cans, lift them over our head, lift a barrel over our head fifteen times, carry a dummy, and do box jumps. THEN, go back and do it again. Good training. 

Next we did tire flips as a team and log carries as a team. 

Then there was more ammo can lifts, pullups, a 400 dash with a 40 pound sandbag, and the famous Marine Oak Course.

I was so burnt out. This whole field meet took about three hours.

After it was done, I was tired as hell (excuse my language) and hungry. Luckily there was a BBQ, but I obviously couldn’t eat anything. It was all meat so all I ate was an orange, some lettuce, few tortilla chips, and two cookies (so delicious). I brought a Luna bar too because I knew that would happen.

After all that work, I still went to the gym in the evening. I only did an hour on the stair climber and about 20 minutes of leg/ab work.

That’s just jelly on my shirt. No biggie. I lost my bib. 

So sore. I basically died and didn’t tell anyone.

Moving on to what I ate that day besides the amazing meaty BBQ that made me sick to my stomach and two slices of pizza at 11 PM because I was so hungry…

Breakfast of a champion:

Second lunch:

Dinner:

I really want to start doing more cross fit. There is cross fit at the gym here on base. It’s called “Warrior Training”. HAH. Makes me laugh.

Anyway, if cross fit is anything like Friday’s field meet, sign me up. I love being sore.

Despite my soreness and me being a drama queen, I still went to the gym Saturday morning.

I ran for an hour on the treadmill, seven minutes on the regular stair climber, and 30 minutes on the elliptical. Bing bam boom.

I came back to my room to eat food and take a nap.

As for my date, we made it later tonight for the movies. I seriously thought I was stood up. I went to the bowling alley at four and waited for like thirty minutes eating a protein bar and drinking coffee.

I legit was about to freak out and start cursing at myself for even asking the dude out. I was like, “I should have known better. Never ask a guy out. You aren’t ________ or _____ or even _____.” I felt awful about myself.

Then he texted me asking if we could make it later and I said let’s just go to the movies at 9. I should have just cancelled. I have ZERO self confidence. I never had a boyfriend, let alone go with a guy so can you blame me? Who else is nineteen and have this problem? It’s ridiculous. All of my life (okay, my teenage years), I picked on myself. I am a perfectionist. I always want to be the best and look my best. Never do I think, “Wow, Christy, you look great today.” No. I always pick out my flaws and use it against myself. I use it against myself in the way that no one could ever like me. I will always be ‘one of the guys’ because I like to make immature jokes and take part in belching competitions. I know, a billion and one girls have had this problem (or assume they do), so it’s not like it’s the end of the world and I won’t find someone. I am only nineteen. I have a while, but you have to see it from my point of view.

Well, anyway, on to more running related topics that actually matter. (Instead of ending up a crazy cat lady with no husband, I’ll end up a crazy running lady with cats.)

Out of all  these shorts, which one do you like the best?

There is orange/grey, black/pink, black/green, and blue/pink.

I can’t decide which ones so I’ll take a tally of which pair you like.

By the way, I’ll be going to the grocery store tomorrow and picking up a few Japanese foods for Hollie. If anyone else wants some stuff to do a foodie swap, let me know! 

That’s all folks. Have a wonderful weekend!

8 Responses to “So Sore”

  1. Hannah July 7, 2012 at 3:32 AM #

    Hey! I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and I’d love to do a food swap with you. I’m in the UK, would that be okay? Thanks 🙂

    Hannah

  2. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body July 7, 2012 at 5:13 AM #

    Self confidence is always hard to have, don’t worry I didn’t have my first real relationship until I was 21!

  3. Tara July 7, 2012 at 9:52 AM #

    I was pretty late to get involved with guys too (I’m gonna be 19 in a month) and I wouldn’t worry about it – it’s actually not that uncommon. Plus I’d rather enjoy being single now than later. That cross fit type workout sounds freaking painful. I can’t even imagine how your body feels now!

    As for the shorts, my vote is black and green, or either of the pink ones.

  4. KatsHealthCorner July 7, 2012 at 11:24 AM #

    An hour on the stairclimber?! Gosh girl — you are STRONG! 🙂

  5. Goober Nut's Life July 7, 2012 at 12:59 PM #

    I personally like the black/green shorts.. They look awesome. 😀
    Also, I’ll be contacting you soon! I wanna send you a package too! 🙂

  6. HollieisFueledByLOLZ July 7, 2012 at 1:32 PM #

    That does sound super painful! Oh my stars. Anyways about that coffee you have pictured in your breakfast. My dad is literally obsessed with it-so obsessed that he has someone mail it/bring it back on the ship everytime they are in Japan. We have about 10 cases in our garage…so yes it is of champions! 😉

  7. Megan July 11, 2012 at 5:34 AM #

    That’s exactly what CrossFit is like!! You would love it… it’s by far one of the hardest things I’ve ever done but that’s why I’m addicted and keep going back for more!!

Leave a Reply

