Hair Talk

24 Jul

I don’t think I ever showed you what I look like after only running 17 miles at 5:30 AM in the morning outside here in Japan…

 

This was a while back, but you get the point about how humid it is here?! How can I possibly run in this?

I actually want to run outside (if my quad would stop being a bitch), but I don’t know how to deal with this heat and humidity. I love running too much to run on a damn treadmill. Now about my quad…

I’m icing it and I sleep with a heading pad. It’s feeling better although in the morning it feels the worst. I haven’t ran on it at all in a few weeks. I only do the stair climber, which doesn’t hurt.

I also have had a sudden motivation to weight lift. I have been doing full body workouts. If you got any good ones, hit me up.

 

Of course I would rather run ten miles, but I’ll take weight lifting too. I want some abs of steel. Please and thank you, ab god. If there is such a thing. I don’t know.

Well, let me talk about my weekend!

As you all know, I went out on Friday to a hookah bar (so overrated) and hung out until midnight. On Saturday night, I went out with the one guy I really, really, really like.

 

We saw Spiderman. Oh my gosh!

 

It was super good. A little long, but overall it was a good movie. Cute Spiderman too. Can’t lie.

Then, on Sunday and I went grocery shopping and got my hair cut. I haven’t cut my hair this short since the third grade. No joke.

Ever since my eating disorder began, my hair thinned out completely. I use to have super thick hair.

 

It was long and gorgeous.

Then, I stopped eating and ignoring nutrients that my body – as well as my hair – needed. I worked out too much, didn’t eat well, and my hair would come out in clumps. I didn’t think anything of it because, well, the scale was under 100 pounds. I loved my hair and I ruined it by wanting my rib cage to show.

 

As you can tell, my hair is thin at the end. Frankly, it was dead and dry. I trimmed my hair still, but it was so thin still at the end that it didn’t grow properly anymore.

Finally, I had enough of my thin hair. It did not look that pretty so I cut it. It’s like medium length now. I’ll get a picture up later.

Now I eat better and take biotin.

But it goes to show you, eat! Get the proper nutrients your body needs. I didn’t eat and I lost all my beautiful locks. You may be your ‘goal‘ weight, but how pretty are you when your hair is thinner than thread?

Worried about your hair not growing out to it’s potential? Eat these foods for healthy hair:

1. Salmon – the omega 3’s help your scalp
2. Green vegetables – vitamins A and C
3. Beans – protein, zinc, biotin
4. Nuts – zinc (prevent hair shedding)
5. Poultry – iron, protein
6. Eggs – Biotin and B-12
7. Whole Grains – vitamin filled!
8. Oysters – Zinc
9. Low fat dairy products – Calcium, which improves hair growth
10. Carrots – vitamin A

Good stuff, right?

 

4 Responses to “Hair Talk”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ July 24, 2012 at 5:20 AM #

    This is a great post. I had no idea about calcium and hair. I am actually trying to grow mine out but it grows sooo slowly.

    I’m glad your weekend rocked and that your quad is slowly getting better. To me, it sounds like a ripped/torn muscle but as bad as those sound-they heal pretty quickly.

  2. Lisa July 24, 2012 at 8:38 AM #

    Wow, gorgeous hair! I’m sure it looks great now too! yes, calcium for hair and nails- get preggo and your hair and nails will be beautiful =) Okay, don’t, just sayin. Glad you’re feeling better.

  3. allieksmith July 24, 2012 at 9:26 AM #

    Cool post! My mom takes biotin for her har, skin & nails. I eat salmon a few times a week too 😀 can’t wait to see your hair!

  4. Goober Nut's Life July 25, 2012 at 11:24 AM #

    I had no idea that zinc prevents hair shedding! I have a problem with that for some reason.. My brush is gross because of it! >.<

    I can't wait to see the pictures of your new hair! 😀

Leave a Reply

