21 Days

25 Jul

Hey friends!

I learned something about myself today…

Well, let me back up a little bit. You know how I said before I will  not be eating any onion rings and fries, etc? I still eat those things in moderation, like everyday. It’s terrible because, hello, it’s fried food!

Except I love fried food. Fried shrimp, cornbread, cauliflower.

I can’t deny foods like fries anymore.

I am afraid if I deny myself onion rings, cookies, or bread, I’ll go back to my eating disorder. That my eating disorder will kick in today and I won’t even eat these foods. I been there, done that. I’m afraid I’ll gain so much self control that when I do let myself eat a fry, I’ll eat three packs. Also, been there and done that. 

I want my self control back though. Only because eating fried foods and sweets is obviously unhealthy. It’s not doing my body any good when I eat ten onion rings with fries.

I’m only doing it because I deny myself the food in my head! In my head, I tell myself how much I need to run again despite my muscle strain or that I’m fat.  I tell myself if I keep denying myself what I want, I won’t be happy. Truth is, I need to tell myself that I need to fuel my body well. I need to put the proper gas in the car.

Fried foods won’t heal my leg any faster. Protein will. Fried foods won’t make me run faster either. I want to run so badly that I want to cry. Weirdo.

But my point is, I eat well most of the time. 

My goal is to not eating any fried foods (maybe a cookie every now and then) for 21 days. 

It takes 21 days to start and end a habit so that is my plan. No fries, greasy food, onion rings, and shiz like that.

In if I make it in the of these 21 days, I will buy myself something…

If I mess up and eat something I shouldn’t, no shoes.

And I’m only denying myself UNHEALTHY foods. I need more protein to fuel my body. I’m starving throughout the day; especially when today I did 67 minutes of cardio and 30 minutes of lifting. Then, in the afternoon I did another 30 minutes of cardio. I’m hungry.

I’m only breaking an unhealthy habit of eating an unhealthy food every day. 

What habit do you want to start or break?

9 Responses to “21 Days”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ July 25, 2012 at 5:37 AM #

    I think I agree with that 21 day thing. I have been running in the am and I’ve been doing it about a month and it just seems so much easier to wake up now. I hope it all goes well for you!

  2. Bianca Dalton July 25, 2012 at 7:50 AM #

    Hello, I been reading your blog for a while and I love it!!
    I was having the same problem but I was on the other end. i was overweight…not terribly like some people but I did lose 35lbs and Im at a healthy weight but not wehre I want to be. I weight 132lbs as of today. Anyways when i started running and eating healthy I had so much self control like you, it lasted for about 6 or 7 months then I started noticing little binges here and there, then it got bad really bad I would eat even if I was full even if my stomach hurt. Then I went to weeks eating out every day because my husband was here on R&R and I decided not to worry. It was like detox from healthy food lol and I started noticing that I didn’t crave much of anything during this 2 weeks ( i did gain 10lbs). Now I’m back on track but I allow myself to have what I crave sometimes or set a day where I know I can eat whatever I want and I look forward to it and I havent had those binges or have not been craving sweets, fries, snicker bars, etc. My point is dont deny yourself from what you want just have self control in the sense of how much you put in your mouth. Pick a day wehre you know you will allow yourself to splurge a little. i know that people say not to reward yourself with food, but in my case if I dont it will have horrible consequences. Thats just my opinion. Im still struggling finding a balance with food and physical activities. I like you run a lot, that is my 1st love but Ima also starting to ride a bike and swim as well because I was getting exhausted form my runs so I decided to do something before I got to unmotivated. i love running to much ann I really need to find a balance, its hard but i will get there and you will too. Good luck!!

  3. Diana July 25, 2012 at 8:31 AM #

    I think a 21 day detox (not like an actual detox, just some time away from fried stuff) is a smart idea if you’re trying to break the habit of eating less healthy stuff. Personally, I have a huge sweet tooth, and when I feel like I’ve been overindulging – my normal tendency is to treat myself once a day to a cookie or something similar – and all my diet consists of is baked goods, I will completely cut out sweetened things for several days. That means no desserts other than berries or fruit, no sweeteners like agave or maple syrup (I don’t eat processed sugar), and just focusing on adding in more of the good stuff as opposed to filling in gaps with non-nutritious foods.

    After the sweet-free period is up, I tend to feel a lot better and actually have far less cravings. I like your idea of having a reward – those are some pretty slick shoes 😉

  4. runservecook July 25, 2012 at 10:13 AM #

    Dont deny all bad things that could start up something bad!

    Do take some rest and heal though i screwed up my whole XC season because i didnt want to admit the pain and show weakness but lost running for months:( stupid it band

  5. Goober Nut's Life July 25, 2012 at 11:56 AM #

    I think that it’s good that you’re limiting your intake of fried foods! I need to work on not eating so many snacky foods when I’m not hungry, too, because they don’t help me with reaching my goals at all! They always make me feel sluggish or heavy during a run/ workout, and I hate struggling against my own body!

    I wish you nothing but luck, and maybe I’ll work on my goals with you! 😀

  6. ifyounevertri July 25, 2012 at 12:40 PM #

    I would steal a fried shrimp from a baby if I could. Not really, but I think that illustrates my love of fried shrimp pretty well. It’s so hard to avoid and will be really difficult avoid when I head home to the Gulf Coast next week. Growing up on the Mississippi Coast, I don’t think I realized you could prepare fish any other way than fried until I went to college in another state. STRUGGLE! On a different note, check out the book Intuitive Eating. It was a life changer for me. Good luck. 🙂

  7. Alexandra July 25, 2012 at 2:21 PM #

    You rock girl! I know you’re gonna tell that old habit who’s boss 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All Motivations Included « lifttorun - July 30, 2012

    […] What’s up with me and the color pink? I must really want those shoes. […]

  2. Another 21 Days « lifttorun - August 1, 2012

    […] whole no fried food challenge is going great. I haven’t had any fried food. August 15th is when I can buy those running shoes I want. […]

Leave a Reply

